Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

GenieGo for iOS v2.2.x - Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,284 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 11 August 2013 - 07:10 PM

Issue: Low Space Warning Inaccurate / Completed Downloads Missing
I'm not sure how the app determines if you have enough free space, but it is not accurate. I was in the process of downloading about 20 episodes, to include 6 episodes of Copper. I then decided to add in 8 episodes of Ripper Street. When I selected the first episode of Ripper Street, I got a pop-up that stated I did not have enough free space. I removed some music and tried again and the 8 episodes were added to my Download Queue. This morning, I checked my queue and after moving downstairs near my router, it showed that it was downloading and I even got the little banners that my shows had downloaded. However, when I got to where I was traveling and I pulled up my GenieGo client playlist, I had only 5 episodes of Copper and none of Ripper Street. In checking my free space, I found I only have 1.5 GB of space left. So, even though it said it was downloading and was successful, it really wasn't.

Now, I could get by without Ripper Street, however, with Copper the one episode I am missing is, of course, the first one!


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,304 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 14 August 2013 - 02:14 PM

ISSUE:    geniego app on laptop, iPhone and iPad can not see the HR24 in my network.   They can all see and playback recordings on the HR21 and the HR44 just fine.  The HR24 is available in playlist on the Directv for iPad application.

 

Reset of the geniego will bring the HR24 playlist visible for about 3 minutes.   Attempts to play anything during this time just stay at initial screen.



#53 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,284 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 18 August 2013 - 05:44 PM

Just wanted to point out that the GenieGo app worked flawlessly on my iPad this past week. I used it completely off-line and along with the app loading quickly, playback of all shows was flawless. The only issue is that using the TimeBar to FF is almost impossible. It skips forward or backwards in incremements of 1 minute and 3 seconds and trying to sometimes pick the start point can be a little difficult. I found myself having to use the TimeBar to skip ahead or backwards again after I took my finger off of it since I guess I fat-fingered it and it jumped to the next minute.

 

Feature Request: TrickPlay Functions / Progressive TimeBar

I would again like to ask for true TrickPlay functionality be added to the TrickPlay functions. This would include the ability to Skip Ahead 30 seconds and Skip Back 6 seconds. Also, it would be nice to be able to use the TImeBar to perform a progressive FF or RW, where if you drag left/right near the TimeBar it would skip time at a high rate of speed, whereas, if you moved your finger lower on the screen and then left/right, the speed of the FF/RW would be slower. I believe the built-in iOS video player has this ability.

 

- Merg


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#54 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,304 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 19 August 2013 - 12:44 PM

Attempted to access geniego from multiple wifi hot spots never loaded playlist after many minutes of loading content message, performed same task on 4G and playlist loaded fast  So it appears OOH access is correctly configured however dont understand why wifi hotspot could never get access



#55 OFFLINE   tbolt

tbolt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2009

Posted 19 August 2013 - 01:45 PM

Attempted to access geniego from multiple wifi hot spots never loaded playlist after many minutes of loading content message, performed same task on 4G and playlist loaded fast  So it appears OOH access is correctly configured however dont understand why wifi hotspot could never get access

It depends on which wifi hotspot you are trying to use.

 

Here is my experience testing OOH:

 

When I first tried OOH from a local McDonalds, the video wouldn't start playing even after waiting several minutes

probably too slow of a connection speed.

 

Next day, I went to a Starbucks, it worked very well - as if I was streaming from inside my home network.



#56 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,304 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 19 August 2013 - 04:02 PM

Interesting thing happened today.i reset the geniego about an hour later access it from iPad and the hr24 playlist was visible. I started playing something just fine so ended it. Came back later and playlist is gone.

#57 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,342 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 19 August 2013 - 04:05 PM

In addition to speedtests, you can use telnet to see if you're getting through back to your home network. . .

 

Before you leave home, check your external IP by www.whatismyip.com  and write that down . . . or if you have a dynamic dns setting you can use that.

 

Away from home, use telnet in DOS or something like iTelnet on the iPad and

 

in DOS:

 

telnet <external IP> 8082   (or 8083) and you should get a 'connected'   -- it will eventually time out.  If you get connected on both ports and the speed is sufficient, GG OOH should work.


Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#58 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,304 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 20 August 2013 - 01:30 PM

well from OOH I can refresh playlist just fine on 4G network so I know some port is open to query that.    Just seems that on wifi it never shows the playlist.   I have now tried at about 4 different wifi locations at various restaurants etc that provide wifi access.



#59 OFFLINE   tbolt

tbolt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2009

Posted 20 August 2013 - 03:26 PM

well from OOH I can refresh playlist just fine on 4G network so I know some port is open to query that.    Just seems that on wifi it never shows the playlist.   I have now tried at about 4 different wifi locations at various restaurants etc that provide wifi access

Spidey,

 

No error messages to report?

 

Important:    Have you tried exiting the app completely (using red - Minus sign) and then restarting it from scratch? -This worked for me.

-do this once you are OOH at restaurant.

 

Try the app using the above method, if that doesn't work try the method a second or third time from the same location.

The second time was the charm for me on the initial OOH access.

 

Have you checked these..

 

Access your DVR playlist

To access your HD DVR playlist from your computer or mobile application, you must enable

Whole-Home playlist sharing and external device access on your HD DVR.

• Share your playlist:

- Go to Menu > Parental, Fav’s & Setup > System Setup > Whole-Home > Share Playlist.

- Set Share Playlist to “Yes.”

• Allow access from an external device:

.- Go to Menu > Parental, Fav’s & Setup > System Setup > Whole-Home > External Device.

- Change External Access from “Block” to “Allow.”

- Change Recordings from “Block” to “Allow.”

 

Resetting the GenieGO™

On the front panel behind the cap is a red reset button. This button has two types of resets

that are initiated by pressing and holding the button.

• Press for 3 seconds: restart the GenieGO (cycles power off and on)

• Press for 30 seconds and release: remove user-configurable options (all user settings set back

to default and content is kept)

 

- I recall there is also a 2-minute reset but that resets everything back to factory defaults and

you will lose ALL of your content

 

Got a Starbucks nearby? That connection worked very well here for me.


Edited by tbolt, 21 August 2013 - 11:18 AM.


#60 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,304 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 21 August 2013 - 11:43 AM

Just tested to make sure ports are open using open port test tool on internet.  I dont see a red minus sign on the iPhone app.   Interesting thing is even if I run port config on my iPad if I do a test out of home access I get test failed.



#61 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,304 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 21 August 2013 - 12:00 PM

unistalled application on iPad reinstalled and now saying OOH is ok.    So far all I have tested for OOH is my iPhone not the iPad.    I am going to see if I can borrow my neighbors wifi to test OOH easier



#62 OFFLINE   tbolt

tbolt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2009

Posted 21 August 2013 - 02:39 PM

photo.PNG

unistalled application on iPad reinstalled and now saying OOH is ok.    So far all I have tested for OOH is my iPhone not the iPad.    I am going to see if I can borrow my neighbors wifi to test OOH easier

 

By uninstalling and re-installing the app you basically performed the procedure below the hard way.

 

 

 

To completely kill or stop an App from running in the background on an iOS device - follow these steps:

 

1. Push the home (round) button on your device twice (like a double-click on a mouse)

2. You will now see an area at the bottom of the screen - this area shows which Apps are still running in the background.

3. Press down on any of the icons in this area and hold for a few seconds

4. All of the icons in this area should now wiggle or vibrate and have a Red Circle with a Minus sign in the upper Left corner of the icon.

5. Touch each red minus sign and that App's icon will now disappear - you have stopped the App from running.

6. Press the home button once to get back to normal operating mode.

7. Restart the GenieGo App

 

 

*Remember - You should perform this procedure once you are OOH.

 

Here is a screen shot of the red minus sign on an iPhone (works the same way on an iPad)

 

 

 

 

 



#63 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,141 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 August 2013 - 02:44 PM

attachicon.gifphoto.PNG

 

By uninstalling and re-installing the app you basically performed the procedure below the hard way.

 

 

Not necessarily.  all this does is remove the app from the RAM.  uninstalling the app removes all traces of the app and data if the user so chooses.  This sometimes is necessary to remove corrupted apps 

 

You will notice that sometimes DEVs recommend and uninstall of the app instead of an "upgrade"

 

this will become more of a "headache" once Apple allows delta upgrades if DEVs do not do the right coding 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#64 OFFLINE   tbolt

tbolt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2009

Posted 21 August 2013 - 03:18 PM

Not necessarily.  all this does is remove the app from the RAM.  uninstalling the app removes all traces of the app and data if the user so chooses.  This sometimes is necessary to remove corrupted apps 

 

You will notice that sometimes DEVs recommend and uninstall of the app instead of an "upgrade"

 

this will become more of a "headache" once Apple allows delta upgrades if DEVs do not do the right coding 

 

Yes. You are right about that.

Un-installing an App will remove all traces of the App (and data - if the user chooses).

and there are some situations where you would want to uninstall and then reinstall the App.

 

 

Perhaps I should have said "to restart the App" perform the following.



#65 OFFLINE   stsrep

stsrep

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2007

Posted 22 August 2013 - 03:55 PM

Long time no post here at DBS but the GenieGo kind of changes that for me.

DTV gave me the unit and a genie HR 44 upgrade etc., so after a two week run I tried the OOH on my IPAD 2 and it actually worked!!

I watched/streamed an episode recorded on Monday to one of my DVR's and it shocked me that this thing actually worked as it is supposed to, I guess.

Anyway I'm going to continue to use this and see how the whole thing works out travel wise.

I look forward to the OOH on my Galaxy III when they turn it on for Android just to check it out.

DTV has been pretty good to me and I have been with them for 16 years.



#66 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,304 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 22 August 2013 - 04:29 PM

Finally today I am seeing the HR24 on the geniego application. I also was able to stream a program within the house. Next step is to try OOH on both iPad and iPhone.

#67 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,304 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 23 August 2013 - 07:59 AM

Ok so I got OOH working and was actually able to stream one SD show.   Howver other attempts I would get that the HD DVR was busy so could not stream.  The HD DCVRs are all off  and not recording shows.   I have also found that when I move from OOH back to home I must red minus the application to get it to show the playlist.

 

I also ended the application and now tried streaming to my Mac in the home and getting geniego is still streaming messages for a few minutes before I can watch.  BTW the shows I tried to stream to the iPad that got DVR busy messages didnt get those



#68 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,342 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 26 August 2013 - 03:26 PM

OOH generally works pretty good for me, but sometimes it takes 3 or so retrys to find GG. . . and the same in returning home.

 

Killing the multi-task is sometimes a quicker way.


Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#69 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,284 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 13 September 2013 - 05:28 PM

iOS Client v2.2.117

Issue: Shows Missing From Ready To Download
This is an interesting one. I pulled up the GenieGo app on my iPad and iPhone and selected the Filter for Ready To Download. I found that the shows listed on my iPhone were different than what listed on my iPad. Specifically, the iPhone shows that there are 10 episodes of Copper and 8 episodes of Ripper Street. My iPad shows 5 episodes of Copper and 7 episodes of Ripper Street. I tried forcing closed that app and relaunching, but had the same result.

I've attached some screen shots from my iPhone and iPad.

iPhone
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg

iPad
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg

- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





Protected By... spam firewall...And...