Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Existing DirecTV subscriber, how much would it be to upgrade to Genie?


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Nguyenning

Nguyenning

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2013

Posted 07 July 2013 - 04:43 PM

I just paid $99.00 with a six month $10.00 credit bringing it down to $39.99. But they may have to put in a new multiswitch & that's a $49.00 service call fee. When I first ordered it they said I needed one but when I finally ordered it they said I didn't. Well it just arrived & surprise, surprise, I need one, but since they messed up they're waving the service call fee.

 

Just called... they said to add genie to my account, it'd be $299 for them to ship it out to me. Wtf?



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,493 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 07 July 2013 - 04:45 PM

Not everyone gets the same deal. Depends on account and CSR.



#28 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,143 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 July 2013 - 04:59 PM

Just called... they said to add genie to my account, it'd be $299 for them to ship it out to me. Wtf?

Not being under a contract can help tremendously 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#29 OFFLINE   Nguyenning

Nguyenning

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2013

Posted 08 July 2013 - 03:21 PM

Not being under a contract can help tremendously 

 

Yeah... think I'll wait this one out at that price. I guess I can endure the Kardashians and Real Housewives on my DVR for $300+



#30 OFFLINE   roadrnnr

roadrnnr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2004

Posted 21 July 2013 - 09:14 PM

Still trying to understand Genie. I have 4 HD DVRS presently with whole home DVR. Would getting Genie eliminate the other three HD-DVR's and their montlhy fee's?

 

The HR22's I think I have suck, they are so slow.

 

Seems like a good deal to replace them with Genie if I am understanding how it works right.

 

Also what is the Geni Mini it says is required in each room? How can they say you don't need a box in every room but then make you get that?



#31 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,284 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 21 July 2013 - 11:57 PM

Still trying to understand Genie. I have 4 HD DVRS presently with whole home DVR. Would getting Genie eliminate the other three HD-DVR's and their montlhy fee's?

The HR22's I think I have suck, they are so slow.

Seems like a good deal to replace them with Genie if I am understanding how it works right.

Also what is the Geni Mini it says is required in each room? How can they say you don't need a box in every room but then make you get that?


The Genie is a 5-tuner DVR. It can work alongside or without your other DVRs. You could replace one DVR and remove one DVR and you would have one more tuner than you currently have now. That would reduce your bill by $6 by removing a receiver.

The Genie minis are clients for the Genie itself. They use a tuner from the Genie itself and give you full access to the Genie as if you were using the Genie directly. The minis are not required in order to use the Genie. As for not having a box in every room, if you have an RVU-enabled TV, the TV can act as a client for the Genie and you don't need a box. Just be aware that the Minis or a RVU-enabled TV still entail the $6/month fee.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#32 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,143 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 03:04 PM

Still trying to understand Genie. I have 4 HD DVRS presently with whole home DVR. Would getting Genie eliminate the other three HD-DVR's and their montlhy fee's?

 

 

Also what is the Geni Mini it says is required in each room? How can they say you don't need a box in every room but then make you get that?

IMHO, DirecTV will never make a product that would eliminate the monthly fee. This is their bread and butter.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#33 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,507 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 03:26 PM

Just called... they said to add genie to my account, it'd be $299 for them to ship it out to me. Wtf?

 

Sounds like you didn't talk to Retention.  How long has it been since your last receiver was activated?  When is your current commitment up?  Do you pay on time every time?  Those things have a baring on the deals you are able to get.


Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-100 Owned, HR20-700 Owned (Not Active), R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


#34 OFFLINE   roadrnnr

roadrnnr

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2004

Posted 23 July 2013 - 07:22 AM

The Genie is a 5-tuner DVR. It can work alongside or without your other DVRs. You could replace one DVR and remove one DVR and you would have one more tuner than you currently have now. That would reduce your bill by $6 by removing a receiver.




- Merg

Ok so If I got a Genie rec would they charge me  a fee for 5 tuners at $6 month each.



#35 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 23 July 2013 - 08:13 AM

No, it's per receiver, not tuner. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#36 OFFLINE   Prea

Prea

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2013

Posted 23 July 2013 - 02:52 PM

Ok guys maybe you can help me out. I am also looking at upgrading to a genie, because I just got a letter telling me that I can do so for free. 

 

I don't have to get the whole home service if I get a genie, correct? I don't currently have it, and don't need/want it either. Assuming I don't, the monthly fees changing from an HD-DVR to a Genie will be the same, right? (I have no intention on getting any genie minis)

 

 

I currently have 1 HD-DVR receiver, 1 HD receiver, and 1 standard definition receiver. If I replaced it to be the following: 1 Genie, 1 HD-DVR (get rid of the normal HD one), and 1 standard - would my monthly bill stay the same? I realize the two DVRs would not be connected in anyway (without whole home service), but I'm fine with that. Would I have to pay extra per month to have 2 separate DVRs (rather than just 1)? 

 

EDIT: hm, I think right now I'm paying $10 for HD and $10 for DVR. If I upgrade to a genie, will they force me to pay $25 instead for the "advanced receiver service," even if I don't want the whole home service? 


Edited by Prea, 23 July 2013 - 03:07 PM.


#37 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,045 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 23 July 2013 - 03:20 PM

Not sure if they'd push you to the other fee format or not. I do not believe they would but not sure.  They never have me, but I haven't added a genie to my system after they changed their fees formats.

 

You may or may not need some other equipment changes, that depends on how your system is set up now.  But that is likely included as well.  And Id get rid of the sd receiver and put the hd box on the other tv, not the other way around.  Zero reason to not do that.

 

Unless they force you to jump to the new fee, or get MRV then no, your bill will NOT change.

 

With two dvrs, you may find yourself using MRV if you end up with it.



#38 OFFLINE   Prea

Prea

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2013

Posted 23 July 2013 - 03:47 PM

Not sure if they'd push you to the other fee format or not. I do not believe they would but not sure.  They never have me, but I haven't added a genie to my system after they changed their fees formats.

 

You may or may not need some other equipment changes, that depends on how your system is set up now.  But that is likely included as well.  And Id get rid of the sd receiver and put the hd box on the other tv, not the other way around.  Zero reason to not do that.

 

Unless they force you to jump to the new fee, or get MRV then no, your bill will NOT change.

 

With two dvrs, you may find yourself using MRV if you end up with it.

Thanks for the help/info. 

 

The standard receiver is on a standard tv, a hd receiver wouldn't do anything for it lol. 

 

And my parents watch the HD-DVR downstairs, and I have a HD upstairs. No reason for us to have a whole home dvr service between them since we watch different things.


Edited by Prea, 23 July 2013 - 03:49 PM.


#39 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,143 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 July 2013 - 06:17 PM

Well, you already "paid" for the HD receiver, not reason why to give it away.  IIRC, you will pay the $3.00 a month WHDVR service fee regardless as the tech has to set you up for it if your get the Genie, at the very least to share the internet connection.  you can disable playlist sharing if you really want


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#40 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,045 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 23 July 2013 - 09:26 PM

Thanks for the help/info. 

 

The standard receiver is on a standard tv, a hd receiver wouldn't do anything for it lol. 

 

And my parents watch the HD-DVR downstairs, and I have a HD upstairs. No reason for us to have a whole home dvr service between them since we watch different things.

 

Oh, I beg to differ.  I think hd channels look a lot better in sd format than the sd feed most the time.  Plus you'd be set if your tv dies and you have to upgrade,or if you ever decide to turn on mrv, you'd want an hd receiver there, there are no sd ones that will do mrv  Since the pricing is the same, there's no way Id toss an hd in favor of a sd unit.



#41 OFFLINE   Prea

Prea

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2013

Posted 24 July 2013 - 07:46 AM

Well, you already "paid" for the HD receiver, not reason why to give it away.  IIRC, you will pay the $3.00 a month WHDVR service fee regardless as the tech has to set you up for it if your get the Genie, at the very least to share the internet connection.  you can disable playlist sharing if you really want

 

What do you mean to share the internet connection? I don't follow. The genie doesn't need to be connected to the internet as far as I know, I don't know what the sharing you are referring to is, and I don't think whole home service has anything to do with internet. But I could be wrong. 

 

I do have a wired internet connection plugged into the hd-dvr right now (and what will be the genie) if that makes any difference. 

 

 

Oh, I beg to differ.  I think hd channels look a lot better in sd format than the sd feed most the time.  Plus you'd be set if your tv dies and you have to upgrade,or if you ever decide to turn on mrv, you'd want an hd receiver there, there are no sd ones that will do mrv  Since the pricing is the same, there's no way Id toss an hd in favor of a sd unit.

Ah yea very good points. I think I'll do that then. 


  • inkahauts likes this

#42 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 24 July 2013 - 09:15 AM

What do you mean to share the internet connection? I don't follow. The genie doesn't need to be connected to the internet as far as I know, I don't know what the sharing you are referring to is, and I don't think whole home service has anything to do with internet. But I could be wrong. 

 

I do have a wired internet connection plugged into the hd-dvr right now (and what will be the genie) if that makes any difference. 

 

You can have whole home with or without internet. Once it's set up, though, you'll have internet at each location.... very nice. You can disable or limit sharing as you wish. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#43 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,143 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:06 PM

What do you mean to share the internet connection? I don't follow. The genie doesn't need to be connected to the internet as far as I know, I don't know what the sharing you are referring to is, and I don't think whole home service has anything to do with internet. But I could be wrong. 

 

I do have a wired internet connection plugged into the hd-dvr right now (and what will be the genie) if that makes any difference. 

 

 

 

Ah yea very good points. I think I'll do that then. 

As I said on my prior post. The tech is supposed to set your system for WHDVR, this means installing a CCK or using the Genie as a bridge for the Internet  connection.  once this connection is made, all receivers will be able to "pick up" this connection via the SWM/DECA network 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#44 OFFLINE   paulman182

paulman182

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,838 posts
Joined: Aug 04, 2006

Posted 25 July 2013 - 08:49 AM

Quick question (don't mean to hijack) but what if there is no internet connection in the home? Will they still install a Genie system?

 

My internet comes from AT&T 3G.


Equipment includes a buncha stuff that I no longer have interest in detailing


#45 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 25 July 2013 - 09:21 AM

They should. Whole home will work without it just fine, but I do not know the specifics of what the installer "should" insist on.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#46 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,994 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 25 July 2013 - 09:43 AM

Quick question (don't mean to hijack) but what if there is no internet connection in the home? Will they still install a Genie system?

 

My internet comes from AT&T 3G.

 

They should but may require a phone connection. 

 

Mike


µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#47 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,143 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 25 July 2013 - 01:58 PM

neither are required.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#48 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 25 July 2013 - 02:28 PM

OK, just be sure his installer knows that!! :)


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#49 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,143 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 25 July 2013 - 09:58 PM

OK, just be sure his installer knows that!! :)

so you are saying if customers does not have phone or internet, they cannot have DirecTV?

 

As much as I hate it, there are many new installs like that, specially mover's connect and new home buyers 


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#50 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 25 July 2013 - 11:00 PM

so you are saying if customers does not have phone or internet, they cannot have DirecTV?

 

As much as I hate it, there are many new installs like that, specially mover's connect and new home buyers 

 I am not close to saying anything of the kind. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...