Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Existing DirecTV subscriber, how much would it be to upgrade to Genie?


  • Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 July 2013 - 09:36 AM

I am not close to saying anything of the kind.


It sure sounded something very close to it... !rolling
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,986 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 26 July 2013 - 09:59 AM

 

neither are required.

According to the latest customer agreement dated 24 June 2013 it is.  It goes so far as to say you might need separate accounts for more than one TV unless they're all connected to a phone line.
 

(f) Phone Connections. For optimal performance of your Receiving Equipment, including ordering with your remote control or receiving certain Services, your equipment must be directly connected to the same land-based telephone line or internet connection. If you add Service on additional TVs, you may purchase a separate subscription for each additional TV, or, if all your equipment is continuously connected to the same land-based telephone line, we can “mirror” programming to your additional TVs and charge you only the fee amount described in Section 2. You agree to provide true and accurate information about the location of your equipment. If we detect that any equipment is not regularly connected to a land-based telephone line or internet connection, we may investigate and, if it is determined that the equipment is not at the location identified on your account, we may disconnect the equipment or charge you the full programming subscription price for the equipment


http://www.directv.c...tomer_agreement

It's not usually enforced but it is a requirement.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#53 OFFLINE   Tyrate

Tyrate

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2005

Posted 26 July 2013 - 12:02 PM

I was so excited after I got off the phone with my DTV rep that I had to tell someone about the AWESOME deal that they hooked me up with so I ran to the board to let the world know. 

 

Here's the run down, I'd originally called to cancel a box I was no longer using after it busted and it was in a spare bedroom that no one ever went into or used. Mrs *** the rep started off the experience by given me a $20 discount off my current bill, then I'd asked her about the GENIE boxes I was seeing on these DTV TV commercials and she immediately ordered me 1 cinema box, 1 genie, and 2 additional expansion genies with a free box move to my son's room which is normally an additional charge all for free but she wasn't done yet. She then preceded to give me an additional $50 off my bill for a yr, another $15 off for 15 months and free DVR service for a year. Which lowered my bill from $115 a month to $50 and change a month for a YEAR, Wow!! I would of been perfectly happy with that but since she was feeling so generous I'd figured what the hell let's see what she says about the NFL package and sure enough she gave me 1 yr of the NFL package for free and to put the cherry on top she threw in all the premium channels for 2 months for free as well. Needless to say the rep made my year and has erase any ill feelings I previously had about DTV right away.

 

All that without a single yell or complaint from me, all I did was start the conversation off in a pleasant tone. 

 

It should be noted that I've been with DTV for over ten years and I haven't called about any free upgrades in over an year, so I guess they were feeling overly generous with me. Though I thought DTV was losing its grip on its customer service ratings over the past few years they have once again reminded me why they are #1 in customer and TV services! You should also note when speaking on the automated line be sure to say "cancel" when it ask "what are you calling for", it should get you directly to the retention team for help and that's where all the magic happens.

 

Thanks again DTV for making my year! 


Edited by Tyrate, 26 July 2013 - 12:38 PM.


#54 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 July 2013 - 04:20 PM

Yes, Mike we know is has been "required" since the early days but I have yet to see anybody being deny service because the lack either or both
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#55 OFFLINE   Prea

Prea

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2013

Posted 28 July 2013 - 12:54 PM

Well, you already "paid" for the HD receiver, not reason why to give it away.  IIRC, you will pay the $3.00 a month WHDVR service fee regardless as the tech has to set you up for it if your get the Genie, at the very least to share the internet connection.  you can disable playlist sharing if you really want

Yea my dad just called about upgrading to genie, and they're telling us we would have to pay the additional $3/month for whole home and that it's required for the genie. I don't see why it would be though.


Edited by Prea, 28 July 2013 - 12:56 PM.


#56 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 July 2013 - 04:46 PM

Yea my dad just called about upgrading to genie, and they're telling us we would have to pay the additional $3/month for whole home and that it's required for the genie. I don't see why it would be though.


well all I can say is DirecTV policy.
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#57 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,170 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 28 July 2013 - 05:17 PM

Yes, Mike we know is has been "required" since the early days but I have yet to see anybody being deny service because the lack either or both

 

Though I think installers have to meet a certain metric and have a certain percentage connected either to phone or Internet. I wouldn't think that the required level would be so high though that it would be difficult to meet.



#58 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 July 2013 - 07:00 PM

Though I think installers have to meet a certain metric and have a certain percentage connected either to phone or Internet. I wouldn't think that the required level would be so high though that it would be difficult to meet.


Yes, we the installers have to meet a certain percentage of "responding" boxes. But this should not impact the customer in any way. According to you, installers could deny a prospective customer service if they don't have neither. I am pretty sure DirecTV would balk at this as they would like to collect from the customer
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#59 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,170 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 28 July 2013 - 07:06 PM

Directv probably would have an issue with it, but I wouldn't rule it out. I've had an installer drive off in the middle of a job.

#60 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 July 2013 - 07:10 PM

Directv probably would have an issue with it, but I wouldn't rule it out. I've had an installer drive off in the middle of a job.


Because they did not have a responding method? perhaps there was another reason and this was his excuse. calling DirecTV will get you another tech in a heart beat
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#61 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 July 2013 - 07:11 PM

Directv probably would have an issue with it, but I wouldn't rule it out. I've had an installer drive off in the middle of a job.

I have install many, many, many customers with no internet or phone so far they are enjoying their service
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#62 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,170 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 28 July 2013 - 07:21 PM

Because they did not have a responding method? perhaps there was another reason and this was his excuse. calling DirecTV will get you another tech in a heart beat


That was the install that took four different techs and install windows to get my DVR connected to the Internet when I switched to whole home and SWM. They all claimed they didn't have the needed equipment, that it was at the warehouse.

#63 OFFLINE   bobbymartinez

bobbymartinez

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 05, 2013

Posted 05 August 2013 - 10:22 AM

I have an HD-DVR and 3 standard dvr's. Will I be saving money by switching to the genie and genie mini's?



#64 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,447 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 05 August 2013 - 10:44 AM

I have an HD-DVR and 3 standard dvr's. Will I be saving money by switching to the genie and genie mini's?

 

Not in my opinion.  You have 8 tuners now and will only have 5 if you upgrade and send everything back.  Now you could keep the HD DVR and have 7 tuners and use 1 less mini but that is up to you.  Unless you lower your receiver count, the per receiver fee will stay the same.  You will be hit with the $3 whole home fee though so I dont see it saving money.  Its more about what you want.  Do you need more tuners or space?  Would you like to use the mini's to watch what is on the Genie in other rooms?  If so, go for it.  If not, probably don't as I dont see this lowering your bill unless you lower the receiver count.


Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-100 Owned, HR20-700 Owned (Not Active), R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


#65 OFFLINE   dshank522

dshank522

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Sep 13, 2009

Posted 07 August 2013 - 06:11 PM

I would like to get a Genie. I only have one HD-DVR. Forgive me for my ignorance but I have 2 wires coming from the Sat to the DVR. Will the Genie require more than the 2 cables that I currently have. I will not be hooking up any other tv's...only one.



#66 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 August 2013 - 08:27 PM

I would like to get a Genie. I only have one HD-DVR. Forgive me for my ignorance but I have 2 wires coming from the Sat to the DVR. Will the Genie require more than the 2 cables that I currently have. I will not be hooking up any other tv's...only one.

No, since the Genie uses SWM, only one RG6 coax cable is required
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#67 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 August 2013 - 08:28 PM

I have an HD-DVR and 3 standard dvr's. Will I be saving money by switching to the genie and genie mini's?

not with the hardware itself, but DirecTV might give you some discounts along with the Genie. only way to find out is by calling....
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#68 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,170 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 07 August 2013 - 08:33 PM

I would like to get a Genie. I only have one HD-DVR. Forgive me for my ignorance but I have 2 wires coming from the Sat to the DVR. Will the Genie require more than the 2 cables that I currently have. I will not be hooking up any other tv's...only one.

 

The installer will replace your LNB on your dish to upgrade you to SWM.



#69 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Registered
  • 3,183 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 09 August 2013 - 01:41 PM

I just ordered my free Genie Upgrade today (I have the protection plan). Since I already have everything in place they are just going to overnight my Genie and Genie mini. When they arrive tomorrow all I need to do is hook them up and call to activate. I'm keeping my HR24.

 

Obviously I am now back under contract but I don't mind at all since I am very happy with DirecTV.


Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
C41-400
XBoxOne
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...