Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Does HBOGO work well for those with DirecTV?


  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,881 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 04 July 2013 - 11:00 AM

3 of them. I have rooms in my house that will never see coax as I'm not drilling holes through the front of my house or running it along the ceiling of my family room.

You don't really need to understand my reasons why. I have my personal situation and you have yours. Your failure to comprehend why I want what I want doesn't change the fact the fact that I still want it.

And there's actually a 6th Roku that I take with me when I travel.

I have no use for, nor desire to own anything from Apple. I bought my way out of their product range, and I'm not going back.

I wasn't trying to change your mind. I was trying to understand. Your stated position is foreign to me. I don't think I'd ever have a TV without coax, for example. So it doesn't occur to me. Thanks for explaining.

You do have to agree you are an outlier. That's a lot of Rokus and a lot of tvs with only Internet access even for 2013.

Edited by tonyd79, 04 July 2013 - 11:03 AM.

LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,883 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 04 July 2013 - 04:16 PM

I started to wonder: Are there differences in the delivery pipelines to individuals depending on with which provider they're subscribed?  I doubt it, but.....

You doubted right! Your log in is just verification that you are a paying subscriber to HBO. Provider has no effect on the function..  That's what amusing about this thread.  You are Viewing HBO content off HBOs site , not Directv fios or anyone else.

 

If OP had issues with Fios HBOGO maybe he should have called his internet provider.


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#28 OFFLINE   sangs

sangs

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 434 posts
  • LocationNE New Jersey
Joined: Apr 02, 2008

Posted 04 July 2013 - 05:11 PM

You doubted right! Your log in is just verification that you are a paying subscriber to HBO. Provider has no effect on the function..  That's what amusing about this thread.  You are Viewing HBO content off HBOs site , not Directv fios or anyone else.
 
If OP had issues with Fios HBOGO maybe he should have called his internet provider.


How about re-reading the entire post from the OP before getting all high and mighty? Maybe then you'll see that he'd contacted both his provider - FiOS - and HBO and that each side blames the other. It was a simple question. That the thread became contentious over other issues was certainly not my intention.
  • sigma1914 likes this

#29 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,883 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 04 July 2013 - 05:38 PM

How about re-reading the entire post from the OP before getting all high and mighty? Maybe then you'll see that he'd contacted both his provider - FiOS - and HBO and that each side blames the other. It was a simple question. That the thread became contentious over other issues was certainly not my intention.

Yea HBO Blamed your Fios internet, Not your Fios HBO subscription.

Of course HBO is going to blame your internet provider. Directv doesn't provide internet service so as for your Question goes , it was a pointless one since Directv has nothing to do with how HBO Go is delivered.


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#30 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,574 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 04 July 2013 - 05:50 PM

The OP's problem is with logging in and activation, not with viewing the content and not which products they can or cannot access it on for whatever reason. He contacted them and both HBO and Verizon are blaming eachother.

The provider has a large role in this process, the page you login is hosted by your provider (dtvce.com for DirecTV, verizon.com for FiOS) and it's their servers being accessed to verify if you subscribe to HBO. While the content all comes from HBO, the actual verification process that goes on in the background is different for each provider.
  • sangs likes this

#31 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,881 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 04 July 2013 - 05:52 PM

Yea HBO Blamed your Fios internet, Not your Fios HBO subscription.
Of course HBO is going to blame your internet provider. Directv doesn't provide internet service so as for your Question goes , it was a pointless one since Directv has nothing to do with how HBO Go is delivered.


From my use of hbo go, all authentication is handled via a port to the tv provider. I've used it for both fios and directv. The login is from the tv provider not hbo. On at least one platform (I can't remember which), it actually brought up a small window view into the tv providers web page.

Directv and fios don't send usernames and passwords to hbo. Hbo just links you off to your provider. The problem was one of authentication

LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#32 OFFLINE   sangs

sangs

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 434 posts
  • LocationNE New Jersey
Joined: Apr 02, 2008

Posted 04 July 2013 - 05:56 PM

Good to know a few of you understood. I actually didn't think it was that challenging a question.



#33 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,883 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 04 July 2013 - 06:03 PM

. While the content all comes from HBO, the actual verification process that goes on in the background is different for each provider.

Yea the VERIFICATION, That's it! 

Stop trying to make it sound like HBO GO with Directv is any different then HBO go with Dish , Blue Ridge cable or Fios because its NOT. 

 

HBO go is not Streamed in any way shape or form through Directv.

 

HBO GO works just the same if I log into my Friends Dish Account, My Blue Ridge Cable account, or my Directv account.  I have Blue ridge Cable internet no matter what I long in under.

 

Please we don't need anymore , Directv is the Hero threads over HBO go now.  Its only a Verification nothing more.


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#34 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,881 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 04 July 2013 - 08:03 PM

Yea the VERIFICATION, That's it!
Stop trying to make it sound like HBO GO with Directv is any different then HBO go with Dish , Blue Ridge cable or Fios because its NOT.

HBO go is not Streamed in any way shape or form through Directv.

HBO GO works just the same if I log into my Friends Dish Account, My Blue Ridge Cable account, or my Directv account. I have Blue ridge Cable internet no matter what I long in under.

Please we don't need anymore , Directv is the Hero threads over HBO go now. Its only a Verification nothing more.


The PROBLEM the OP has is with VERIFICATION. That is all we are talking about.

There is no heroism here. Except that some fios customers are having trouble with VERIFICATION. fios recently redid all their web pages. It did not go well. The verification problem is probably related.

And, no, it does NOT work the same if VERIFICATION is not working well for a provider.

That is all.

  • sangs likes this
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#35 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 05 July 2013 - 07:10 AM

I'm referring to my 2 Roku , why does there have to be something else?

 

I don't think its right I pay for HBO just like everyone else.  But that's not good enough Directv needs me to pay them $12 per month more to put Receivers in my 2 locations I use my Rokus. 

 

Because you had said it didn't work on "anything" you wanted to use it on.  Which implies more than one type of device to me.  So I was curious -- aside from Roku -- which devices you were referring to.  But I guess you just meant more than 1 Roku.

 

I agree it's annoying that DirecTV isn't authenticating via Roku at this time.  Perhaps they will now that they've thawed the ice with Apple TV.


HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#36 OFFLINE   pablo

pablo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 908 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 26 July 2013 - 11:24 AM

Is there any reason HBO GO via DirecTV doesn't work with Roku? I use HBO GO on my iPad and love it, but just got a Roku and was sad to learn I couldn't use it. Any timeframe for when support for it might be added? Also, on the same topic, will any other similar apps be made available (Max Go, Showtime Anytime, Starz...)?



#37 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 26 July 2013 - 11:43 AM

Is there any reason HBO GO via DirecTV doesn't work with Roku? I use HBO GO on my iPad and love it, but just got a Roku and was sad to learn I couldn't use it. Any timeframe for when support for it might be added? Also, on the same topic, will any other similar apps be made available (Max Go, Showtime Anytime, Starz...)?

 

DirecTV hasn't agreed to verify HBO subscriptions via Roku.  As to "why" there is only speculation.

 

No timeline for it to be added.  May never be added. 

 

As to other premium apps -- haven't read anything about Roku support.  Perhaps someone else has.


HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#38 OFFLINE   REDSKINSFAN47

REDSKINSFAN47

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 203 posts
  • LocationWoodbine,MD
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 26 July 2013 - 12:04 PM

I have directv and use hbo go and max go via iPhone 4S with a 3G connection it works pretty good,also works for AirPlay unlike showtime,starz/encore.its good for watching tv at night at pt job I have no wifi at home so I don't use it there.

Edited by REDSKINSFAN47, 26 July 2013 - 12:07 PM.

hr20,hdmi to living room,componant mirred to office,h20kit hdmi,bedroom mine r15,bedroom daughters h20,other d10,slimline dish mounted on back of house,18 in.round (spare),on 3ft pipe in ground watered by dog daily.ota on roof.

#39 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,881 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 26 July 2013 - 05:31 PM

Back to the original question. I have some things via fios. Recently, I had authentication issues out the wazoo for espn3 and epix on line. It was all timeout issues with fios as it took forever to authenticate. Seems okay now.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#40 OFFLINE   pablo

pablo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 908 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2007

Posted 29 July 2013 - 12:09 PM

I just don't understand the reasoning behind the fact that I can authenticate HBO GO with my iPad and my PC browser, but not the Roku...



#41 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,366 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 July 2013 - 12:30 PM

I just don't understand the reasoning behind the fact that I can authenticate HBO GO with my iPad and my PC browser, but not the Roku...

 

Nor do I know the reason(s), but it is the way it is. Not a fine answer, sorry, but that's all there is for now. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#42 OFFLINE   Tubaman-Z

Tubaman-Z

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 511 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 30 July 2013 - 11:21 AM

For the D* subscriber and Roku user who wants to view HBOGO, I can suggest PlayOn (www.playon.tv).  It's a media server that will act as an intermediary between HBOGGO (and Hulu and others) and stream it to your Roku (PlayOn will show up as a Roku channel).  While I don't subscribe to HBO and thus can't speak to HBOGO specifically, I do have a Roku HD and a Roku 3 and can state from 1st hand experience that PlayOn streaming Hulu and other sources works well.  HBOGO is stated as supported by PlayOn.

 

Regarding the other discussion re: number of TVs with internet-only vs. D* device attached - we have 4 TVs, 2 are currently Roku only, soon to be 3.  We will keep 1 DirecTV DVR solely for live sports.  This is purely a cost decision, we are otherwise happy with the D* service.

 

I have no interest in PlayOn other than I am a satisfied user.


Edited by Tubaman-Z, 04 August 2013 - 09:00 PM.

Kevin

My top 5 wishlist: 1) Free MRV HR to HR 2) Fix Channels I Receive so that it is accurate 3) > 50 SeriesLink 4) Usage of both internal and external drives concurrently 5) Support for other video providers as DoD (i.e. Hulu, CBS)   

DirecTV HR21-200, 2008 (DirecTV anniversary gift)
DirecTV HR20-100 (2TB eSATA), 2007
DirecTV since 1995

<><


#43 OFFLINE   davidatl14

davidatl14

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 549 posts
Joined: Mar 24, 2006

Posted 10 December 2013 - 01:35 PM

Does anyone know if HBOGo is authorized on ChromeCast for DirecTV subs? I know it's not available for Roku users sadly.

 

Any info is greatly appreciated


Edited by davidatl14, 10 December 2013 - 01:36 PM.

May The Best of Your Past be the Worst of Your Future!

#44 ONLINE   gpg

gpg

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,790 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 10 December 2013 - 02:16 PM

Does anyone know if HBOGo is authorized on ChromeCast for DirecTV subs? I know it's not available for Roku users sadly.
 
Any info is greatly appreciated


Yes, and it works well.
  • SPACEMAKER likes this
HR24-200,HR23-700,HR21-200, HR21-100, HR34-700,
Sony KDS-R50XBR1,HDMI, LG 37LH40,HDMI Vizio 390-A1,HDMI,Sony KDL-40NX711, HDMI, Vizio VO320E, HDMI, SWM16 with DECA,
Sony STR-DG1000 AV Receiver optical cable connection for HR24-200, GenieGo

#45 OFFLINE   davidatl14

davidatl14

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 549 posts
Joined: Mar 24, 2006

Posted 10 December 2013 - 02:23 PM

Yes, and it works well.

Thanks for the quick reply.

 

Just ordered one for bedroom tv..

 

Looking forward to seeing how it works.


May The Best of Your Past be the Worst of Your Future!

#46 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Registered
  • 3,182 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 11 December 2013 - 07:48 PM

HBOGO + Chromecast = Awesome Sent from my Galaxy Note 3 via DBSTalk mobile app




Protected By... spam firewall...And...