Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish: Please DROP KAIT Ch 8 in Jonesboro


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Lifesaver2000

Lifesaver2000

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2012

Posted 02 July 2013 - 09:28 AM

Just saw an ad on this station asking us to call Dish to get them to keep the station in the Dish lineup.  Posting this here in hopes a DIRT member will see it and pass it along.

 

As far as I am concerned, if they want more money, DROP THEM!!!

 

First of all, I watch very little on that channel.  It was only by accident that the TV was on it this morning.

 

Second, I and almost everone else in the Jonesboro, AR DMA can get this station over the air with an indoor antenna, or in the really fringe areas maybe a modest outdoor antenna.  I have lived in the some of the most distant parts of the KAIT coverage area for the last 40 years, and have frequently used nothing but a folded dipole, and often even an indoor twinlead folded dipole.

 

Finally, and the big one to me, is that KAIT is the only local station that is provided in my DMA that does not have an HD signal being carried on the sats.  I have looked this up, and the three Memphis stations and the statewide PBS network are all carried in HD on the same satellites I receive, but because KAIT is not, I am not allowed to get CBS, NBC or FOX in HD (I get PBS OTA in HD, but the other networks have no stations close enough for OTA).  So, if dropping KAIT will get me the other networks in HD, I definately say DROP THEM!

 

So, just to summarize, in case it is not clear.  If KAIT Channel 8 in Jonesboro wants any more money, instead of paying them, I ask that Dish DROP THEM!!

 

Of course, this is only my opinion, and there may be others in this region who disagree.  But I see only Cons to giving in to any rate increase they want, and absolutely no Pros.



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   ronsanjim

ronsanjim

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
  • LocationCherokee Village, AR
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 02 July 2013 - 11:49 AM

KEEP KAIT8. We don't live in Jonesboro, and cannot receive it OTA.

#3 OFFLINE   Lifesaver2000

Lifesaver2000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2012

Posted 02 July 2013 - 12:17 PM

Well, I don't live in Jonesboro either.  I see you are in Cherokee Village.  I grew up about 10 miles west of CV (farther from Jonesboro than you are) and we were always able to receive Ch 8 just on rabbit ears.  I know digital is a little more difficult, but as I was just watching ch 8 a few weeks ago with a twinlead dipole in a window, I don't think it is that much harder.

 

I just hate to see Dish give in every time a station wants more money.  I really have never understood why locals need to get any money from cable or sat companies.  Seems to me that more viewers=better ratings=better ad revenue.  My whole reason for going to Dish was to save money.  I realize that an increase in what they pay to my local won't specifically raise my rates, but the more Dish has to pay out the more they eventually have to raise rates.  Considering the number of "cord cutters" I keep hearing about, it looks like the local stations would get the idea that they aren't gaining anything by causing carriers to raise prices to the point that customers look to other sources.

 

A good example is the local cable company where I live.  They had a big price increase last year, and I would say that I know of at least 25% of their customers here dropped them, so many that in some areas they were taking down trunk cables to save money on utility pole charges.

 

The ONLY way that Dish should pay more for KAIT is if it gets KAIT on the satellite in HD, so that we can get all of the networks in HD.  A better solution would be if those of us in the western part of the DMA could get locals from Little Rock (getting them from Memphis is just ridiculous) but that is subject for a different post.



#4 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 301 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 02 July 2013 - 01:11 PM

We do value all of our customer’s feedback when it comes to channels and programming they want and do not want in their package. I will forward your thoughts and thanks for being a DISH customer!



#5 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 5,824 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 03 July 2013 - 04:20 AM

Drop 'em.  Drop any station that tries to get an increase.  Raycom is now running the same 'poor-poor-pitiful-us' begging scrawl.  Recently they were running one against Mediacom cable, but not I see one against Dish.

 

Drop 'em.  They'll be the ones losing viewers.  I still don't understand why locals are getting paid anything for carriage, they should be paying since they're getting so many more viewers.


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#6 OFFLINE   gor88

gor88

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 576 posts
Joined: May 09, 2003

Posted 03 July 2013 - 06:21 PM

I fully agree.  I just saw where WLBT, our NBC Raycom affiliate AND WJTV, our CBS Media General affiliate In Jackson, MS are BOTH "negotiating" with Dish and issuing the threats.  Nothing more than extortion. My opinion is that if an OTA station wants to get paid, SURRENDER the OTA spectrum completely FIRST!



#7 OFFLINE   Donna E

Donna E

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationPocahontas,Arkansas
Joined: Jul 30, 2013

Posted 30 July 2013 - 10:18 AM

If you drop our local KAIT Jonesboro station we will drop you, we will be going with Sudden Link,we should be able to watch our local news and weather, we tried before with a digital antenna and it did not work, we live in Pocahontas..



#8 OFFLINE   CheriT @ DISH Network

CheriT @ DISH Network

    AllStar

  • DISH Representative
  • 56 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 30 July 2013 - 10:45 AM

If you drop our local KAIT Jonesboro station we will drop you, we will be going with Sudden Link,we should be able to watch our local news and weather, we tried before with a digital antenna and it did not work, we live in Pocahontas..

We can certainly understand your frustration and we do not want to lose any of our customers. We hope to reach a fair agreement as soon as possible! Thank you for your feedback.


Cheri Torres
Social Media Representative
Cheri.Torres@Dish.com

#9 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,302 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 30 July 2013 - 01:38 PM

If you drop our local KAIT Jonesboro station we will drop you, we will be going with Sudden Link,we should be able to watch our local news and weather, we tried before with a digital antenna and it did not work, we live in Pocahontas..

The worst thing you can do is switch tv providers every time one of your local channels is having trouble negotiating a contract with one of the providers (cable, Dish, Directv). It just encourages the local channel to use that tactic every time they're looking for more money and if it works it just means your tv bill goes up even more. It's a pretty safe bet that next year or the year after this same channel will be having the same problem with the local cable company and will be telling you to switch to satellite and the year after that with Directv and so on. And they're counting on people just like you to jump from tv provider to tv provider every time so they can use it as leverage in negotiations against the providers to get more and more money and meanwhile you'll probably then turn around and call your tv provider and demand to know why your bill keeps going up.




"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#10 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 5,824 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 31 July 2013 - 04:51 AM

Dish should drop any and all networks that try to extort higher fees.  Let the networks do with less viewers and suffer the financial loss for a while.

  RayCom media is running the same big-meanie-Dish-poor-poor-pitiful-us crybaby crawls.

 

Dump'em

 

Bet the Dirts won't respond to that though.


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#11 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,291 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 31 July 2013 - 11:59 AM

And in the NYC market there is a dispute between CBS and TW cable. It happens everywhere with every provider, cable or Satellite. Jump every time and You'll always be jumping sooner or later. In my case I have basic cable (optimum) and Satellite.

http://www.northjers...ores__WCBS.html

 

Ultimately, the two agreed to a new cutoff of 5 p.m. Friday to reach an accord about how much Time Warner Cable should pay CBS to carry its stations' signals in markets such as New York, Los Angeles and Dallas.

I wouldn't care except is annoying to have these bid crawls telling me about it, I'm on satellite not TW cable.

 

As I see it these disputes are the new normal.

 

Cheers

TB


Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#12 OFFLINE   Lifesaver2000

Lifesaver2000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2012

Posted 31 July 2013 - 10:36 PM

Donna E:  Don't know if you are watching this thread, but wanted to say that unless you live in a canyon, you should be able to get KAIT with a pretty simple antenna.  Pocahontas is less than 30 miles from the transmitter, and I don't think there are any big hills in between.  You will have the added advantage of getting it in HD, and getting the local weather on KAIT-2.

 

I just wish there was the possibility of getting CBS, NBC and FOX OTA where I live, so I could get them in HD also.

 

Maybe a DIRT member could answer this:  If the loss of KAIT does become permanent,  since all the other locals I receive are actually in HD on the satellites I am pointed at, could we start getting them in HD in this LATA?  I say this because I have checked and found that WMC, WREG and WHBQ are all listed as available in HD in the Memphis LATA on one of the sats I am using (can't remember which one, but I double checked it at the time), and also the Arkansas PBS system, AETN, is in HD for the Little Rock LATA.  Only other local we get in the Jonesboro LATA is KVTJ which is not in HD at all.

 

So, KAIT is the only holdup for the "everything or nothing must be HD as far as locals" rule, so with KAIT gone can we get the rest in HD, since they are already there anyway????



#13 OFFLINE   Donna E

Donna E

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationPocahontas,Arkansas
Joined: Jul 30, 2013

Posted 01 August 2013 - 06:05 AM

Donna E:  Don't know if you are watching this thread, but wanted to say that unless you live in a canyon, you should be able to get KAIT with a pretty simple antenna.  Pocahontas is less than 30 miles from the transmitter, and I don't think there are any big hills in between.  You will have the added advantage of getting it in HD, and getting the local weather on KAIT-2.

 

I just wish there was the possibility of getting CBS, NBC and FOX OTA where I live, so I could get them in HD also.

 

Maybe a DIRT member could answer this:  If the loss of KAIT does become permanent,  since all the other locals I receive are actually in HD on the satellites I am pointed at, could we start getting them in HD in this LATA?  I say this because I have checked and found that WMC, WREG and WHBQ are all listed as available in HD in the Memphis LATA on one of the sats I am using (can't remember which one, but I double checked it at the time), and also the Arkansas PBS system, AETN, is in HD for the Little Rock LATA.  Only other local we get in the Jonesboro LATA is KVTJ which is not in HD at all.

 

So, KAIT is the only holdup for the "everything or nothing must be HD as far as locals" rule, so with KAIT gone can we get the rest in HD, since they are already there anyway????

We were getting KAIT in full HD and the local weather with our dish sattelite, we should not be required to buy a converter box and antenna to get the local channels, we tried with an indoor antenna before and got nothing. Dish network has breached the contract, we signed with them because they offered KAIT in full HD. 

 

Donna E:  Don't know if you are watching this thread, but wanted to say that unless you live in a canyon, you should be able to get KAIT with a pretty simple antenna.  Pocahontas is less than 30 miles from the transmitter, and I don't think there are any big hills in between.  You will have the added advantage of getting it in HD, and getting the local weather on KAIT-2.

 

I just wish there was the possibility of getting CBS, NBC and FOX OTA where I live, so I could get them in HD also.

 

Maybe a DIRT member could answer this:  If the loss of KAIT does become permanent,  since all the other locals I receive are actually in HD on the satellites I am pointed at, could we start getting them in HD in this LATA?  I say this because I have checked and found that WMC, WREG and WHBQ are all listed as available in HD in the Memphis LATA on one of the sats I am using (can't remember which one, but I double checked it at the time), and also the Arkansas PBS system, AETN, is in HD for the Little Rock LATA.  Only other local we get in the Jonesboro LATA is KVTJ which is not in HD at all.

 

So, KAIT is the only holdup for the "everything or nothing must be HD as far as locals" rule, so with KAIT gone can we get the rest in HD, since they are already there anyway????



#14 OFFLINE   Donna E

Donna E

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationPocahontas,Arkansas
Joined: Jul 30, 2013

Posted 01 August 2013 - 06:11 AM

We can certainly understand your frustration and we do not want to lose any of our customers. We hope to reach a fair agreement as soon as possible! Thank you for your feedback.

I called dish network about 2 weeks ago, I was told that an agreement had been reached and we would continue to receive KAIT as we always had. I do not appreciate being lied to..



#15 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

  • Registered
  • 3,141 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 01 August 2013 - 07:23 AM

We were getting KAIT in full HD and the local weather with our dish sattelite, we should not be required to buy a converter box and antenna to get the local channels, we tried with an indoor antenna before and got nothing. Dish network has breached the contract, we signed with them because they offered KAIT in full HD. 

 

You don't need a converter box, just plug an antenna into your Dish receiver. 


"Belligerent and numerous."

SlingTV, Tablo and Plex to Roku 3s and Chromecasts on a Vizio 42" in the living room and a Toshiba 32" in my bedroom. Xbox 360 client on a Westinghouse 42" in the game room. Tablets EVERYWHERE!

 

I used to update the Dish Network FAQ but not anymore.


#16 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,302 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 01 August 2013 - 07:41 AM

We were getting KAIT in full HD and the local weather with our dish sattelite, we should not be required to buy a converter box and antenna to get the local channels, we tried with an indoor antenna before and got nothing. Dish network has breached the contract, we signed with them because they offered KAIT in full HD. 

Actually if you read the contract you'll see that Dish doesn't promise you any particular channels and that they're allowed to drop or add any channels at anytime. By the way Dish would like nothing more than to continue to bring you KAIT, they made the offer to the owner of that station to keep the station on the air while they continued negotiating but they refused and pulled the rights from Dish to rebroadcast it. Your best bet is to contact the station, of course they'll try to tell you Dish isn't offering them a fair deal but the truth of the matter just comes down to the fact that Raycom wants more money and that's why your local channel is off the air.




"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#17 OFFLINE   Lifesaver2000

Lifesaver2000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2012

Posted 01 August 2013 - 08:30 AM

Ditto to what tsmacro said.  The "blame" here is not with Dish, it is with the TV stations wanting something they don't deserve.

 

Also Donna, some other stuff you said doesn't make sense.  How were you getting KAIT in "Full HD" from dish, when according to the channel listings I saw KAIT is not carried on the satellites in HD?  Also, is Pocahontas not in the Jonesboro LATA?  If so, then you should not be getting any locals in HD.  And finally, if you were seeing this in HD, then you don't need a converter.  You may not have an OTA tuner in your dish receiver (I spent the extra $35 for one a long time ago) but if you have an HDTV then you could just plug an antenna into the TV directly without any kind of converter.  I have put together antennas for KAIT for strong signal areas like yours for as little as a couple of dollars in the past, so not a big expense.

 

Of more concern for me now is the loss of WMC in Memphis, which is the NBC local, but sense there is only one NBC show I have watched in the past year on, and I can get it online the next day, that isn't too big a concern either.  From where I am at, getting locals other than KAIT and AETN OTA is just not possible without a super big antenna and tower (I have checked with TVfool, and would need about a 200 foot tower.  Not worth it).

 

Aereo, when are you coming to Arkansas?



#18 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 5,824 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 01 August 2013 - 08:56 AM

Dish network has breached the contract,

Wrong.


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#19 OFFLINE   Donna E

Donna E

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationPocahontas,Arkansas
Joined: Jul 30, 2013

Posted 01 August 2013 - 01:47 PM

Ditto to what tsmacro said.  The "blame" here is not with Dish, it is with the TV stations wanting something they don't deserve.

 

Also Donna, some other stuff you said doesn't make sense.  How were you getting KAIT in "Full HD" from dish, when according to the channel listings I saw KAIT is not carried on the satellites in HD?  Also, is Pocahontas not in the Jonesboro LATA?  If so, then you should not be getting any locals in HD.  And finally, if you were seeing this in HD, then you don't need a converter.  You may not have an OTA tuner in your dish receiver (I spent the extra $35 for one a long time ago) but if you have an HDTV then you could just plug an antenna into the TV directly without any kind of converter.  I have put together antennas for KAIT for strong signal areas like yours for as little as a couple of dollars in the past, so not a big expense.

 

Of more concern for me now is the loss of WMC in Memphis, which is the NBC local, but sense there is only one NBC show I have watched in the past year on, and I can get it online the next day, that isn't too big a concern either.  From where I am at, getting locals other than KAIT and AETN OTA is just not possible without a super big antenna and tower (I have checked with TVfool, and would need about a 200 foot tower.  Not worth it).

 

Aereo, when are you coming to Arkansas?

When we went to Dish NetWork we were given an HD satellite, we have always gotten KAIT in full 1080 HD, and yes, KAIT is carried in full HD on satellite..



#20 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,302 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 01 August 2013 - 02:35 PM

When we went to Dish NetWork we were given an HD satellite, we have always gotten KAIT in full 1080 HD, and yes, KAIT is carried in full HD on satellite..

 

  Hmmmm.....this is curious because all the research I do says that Dish doesn't deliver HD locals to the Jonesboro, AR DMA. I mean I suppose it's possible the info on Dish's website is incorrect as well as James Long's local list isn't up to date. Makes me wonder things like if there is an antenna hooked up to get an HD picture. I hope it isn't a case where a tech just stretched or zoomed the picture and said "there you go HD". On the other hand I do see where half the channels in this DMA are SV from Memphis so I can understand why KAIT would have above average loyalty as it is one of the actual channels local to Jonesboro. None the less pay tv customers still don't do themselves any favors regarding their bill when they change providers when a channel is having a dispute with one of the tv providers.




"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#21 OFFLINE   Lifesaver2000

Lifesaver2000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2012

Posted 01 August 2013 - 02:39 PM

Donna, where do you get your information on what is on the Satellites?  The list on this page:

 

http://uplink.jamesl.../locallist.html

 

clearly shows that all locals in the Jonesboro DMA are in SD, and shows KAIT as SD on Sat 129.  KAIT is not listed as being carried in any DMA outside of Jonesboro.

 

Also, although you have an HD receiver, that does not mean everything you watch is in HD.  The signal from the receiver to the TV may be 1080, but that is not the same as the KAIT signal being HD on the satellite downlink.  I know for a fact (because I can receive it OTA directly to my HDTV) that KAIT only transmits a 720p signal, but even that is not carried on Dish (unless it was VERY recently changed and James' list hasn't been updated).


Edited by Lifesaver2000, 01 August 2013 - 02:42 PM.


#22 OFFLINE   Lifesaver2000

Lifesaver2000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2012

Posted 01 August 2013 - 02:40 PM

I just realized, I have been saying LATA where I should say DMA.  Sorry, too much going on.

 

Edit: once again tsmacro said what I was going to say.


Edited by Lifesaver2000, 01 August 2013 - 02:41 PM.


#23 OFFLINE   Lifesaver2000

Lifesaver2000

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2012

Posted 01 August 2013 - 02:51 PM

tsmacro:  the stretch thing does go on a lot.  My inlaws have a small HDTV (about 37") and they keep it on zoom all the time, so the SD locals don't look much different than the actual HD channels.  It is quite obvious though on a bigger tv.

 

I will also mention that I know of at least four local dish users besides me, and they all have locals in SD.  I also know a bunch of people who use an address outside this DMA so they can get the Little Rock locals, and don't mind a bit that they don't have KAIT since all there locals actually are HD.

 

And on a final note. When I signed up for Dish, the plan I got clearly said that locals were a free bonus.  So, I don't see they owe me any kind of rebate, no matter what the TV stations want to say.



#24 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,302 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 01 August 2013 - 04:03 PM

tsmacro:  the stretch thing does go on a lot.  My inlaws have a small HDTV (about 37") and they keep it on zoom all the time, so the SD locals don't look much different than the actual HD channels.  It is quite obvious though on a bigger tv.

 

I will also mention that I know of at least four local dish users besides me, and they all have locals in SD.  I also know a bunch of people who use an address outside this DMA so they can get the Little Rock locals, and don't mind a bit that they don't have KAIT since all there locals actually are HD.

 

And on a final note. When I signed up for Dish, the plan I got clearly said that locals were a free bonus.  So, I don't see they owe me any kind of rebate, no matter what the TV stations want to say.

Actually streching the picture ruined HD for me in the early days of HD tv's. I was over someones house oh something like 12 years ago, never had seen an HD tv before and behold he had this big ol widescreen projection HD tv that took up a big chunk of real estate in his living room. He was bragging on his HD picture and I was looking at it because to me the picture didn't really look all that clear, sure it was big but the people looked "funny" kinda plump and "wide". I mentioned this and was told by Mr. Ohsoproudofhistv that the reason it looked that way to me was because that's what the people "actually looked like in real life" and it was just because I was used to seeing people "squished and grainy" on an "old fashioned tv" and thats why the people looked "funny" to me. So after leaving there i thought why the heck would i ever I want to spend all that money on an HD tv when the picture looked like that? Of course later on i realized what I had witnessed that day was a person who had an SD picture stretched on their HD tv and didn't have a clue. Funny how many people will still do that just to "fill up" their tv screen and think they're watching HD.




"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#25 OFFLINE   Willh

Willh

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 146 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 01 August 2013 - 04:12 PM

to me, most of these disputes over local stations are being caused by sports greed, which is where sports get greedy with fees to broadcast a sporting a event on a network and the network in turns does the same to get back some lost money by asking their non-owned and operated affiliates to ask for an increase in their carriage fees on the new  contract after the old one expires. same with the network's owned and operated stations, they want that increase in fees too. so blame sports for most of the local channels disputes as sporting events get more and more expensive for their rights. and you wonder why ESPN is so expensive. 


Dish Network Customer since Jan 2007, upgraded to HD on September 2, 2010.

DVRs/Box Sets: Dish VIP DVR 722K (2 of them).

long time Pro-Wrestling and NASCAR fan.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...