Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Extending Remote Antenna for Hopper w/Sling


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Matt Beachy

Matt Beachy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 04 July 2013 - 09:30 AM

I upgraded to the Hopper w/Sling today.  I had the hopper installed in my basement storage room (where my 722 was) because I use it to feed my living room TV (via a long HDMI) and I mirror it in a spare bedroom/excercise room (via component).  With the 722 I was able to use my regular coax runs to extend the remote control antenna on the back of the receiver and locate it closer to where I was watching TV.  Unfortunately, the Hopper uses a different connector, M10 I believe.  My remote only partially works in the living room without the extension and it's very frustrating.

 

I did some searching on here but couldn't come up with a definitive solution.  Is there a way to use my existing coax runs to extend the remote?  Is there a place I can get these M10 connectors?  I've seen mention of an extension kit, part number 169178, but I don't know where to get this either.  Can anyone help me out here?



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 July 2013 - 10:54 AM

call CSR for obtain the kit

 

I recall the question about M10 connector ... try to use Search (I don't remember URL to a place where you could buy it)



#3 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,419 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 04 July 2013 - 11:48 AM

As a quick fix, you might try baring the center conductor and poking it in (as long as the wire diameter isn't too large).


Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#4 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 04 July 2013 - 06:25 PM

I used a slip on coax connector after enlarging the opening slightly. Then a coupling connector to a longer cable which feeds the locale, in my case upstairs. I've never be able to find the fabled M10 connector, if someone has a source please share the information.


Thank you and
Best of luck

#5 OFFLINE   Matt Beachy

Matt Beachy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 05 July 2013 - 07:47 AM

As a quick fix, you might try baring the center conductor and poking it in (as long as the wire diameter isn't too large).

 

I had considered that but the installer said he had tried doing this before and it hadn't worked.



#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 July 2013 - 09:37 AM

btw, new remotes [2G] working on same freqs as WiFi, so check if you hve AP near/inbetween of you locations of H and the remote



#7 OFFLINE   Matt Beachy

Matt Beachy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 05 July 2013 - 10:29 AM

call CSR for obtain the kit

 

Dish is sending me a Hopper Remote Antenna Extender for $10.  I'll update with more details after I receive it and give it a try.



#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 July 2013 - 11:30 AM

Is it this one ? http://www.mydish.co...ntenna-extender

 

check also the thread http://www.dbstalk.c...r-system/page-2



#9 OFFLINE   Matt Beachy

Matt Beachy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 05 July 2013 - 12:41 PM

I'm not certain what they are sending me, but it's likely that is what they are sending.  I'll confirm or clarify when it arrives.  I'm just curious if what they send me will actually have the correct M10 connectors or if it will have the standard F connectors on it.  My confidence level in it having the M10 connectors isn't very high.  Hopefully they prove me wrong.

 

I had read through that thread briefly before.  Assuming the uhf antenna extender cable comes with the M10 connectors, has anyone on here had success with cutting the extension cable in half, adding f connectors, and then using RG6 to allow for a longer extension run?



#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 July 2013 - 01:51 PM

I think you cannot "cut" it, because there is no cable inside per se;

the antenna itself has soldered to the F[M10] connector; that's it



#11 OFFLINE   Matt Beachy

Matt Beachy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 05 July 2013 - 02:05 PM

I think you cannot "cut" it, because there is no cable inside per se;

the antenna itself has soldered to the F[M10] connector; that's it

I was referring to cutting the coax pigtail as shown in the link you posted earlier.

http://www.mydish.co...ntenna-extender



#12 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,502 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 06 July 2013 - 01:45 PM

My money is that they send you an RG-59 coax and a female-female barrel connector.


Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#13 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 July 2013 - 05:14 PM

that would be OK if all connectors/threads will be M10



#14 OFFLINE   Grandude

Grandude

    RichardParker II

  • Registered
  • 882 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2004

Posted 07 July 2013 - 02:06 PM

that would be OK if all connectors/threads will be M10

Nice if it happens but I wouldn't hold my breath.  I would bet it will be the standard coax connecters.


Brian...reporting from the left coast
 2 Hoppers,1 Joey, 1 VIP211K active receivers
 I still believe in magic
!


#15 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,502 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 08 July 2013 - 11:08 AM

They're probably sending you a $10.00 extender that works on the 722 series.  One that can be bought for $5 at Wal-mart or Rat Shack.

 

I do not see ANY so-called M10 connectors anywhere on the internet, probably proprietary.


Edited by Jim5506, 08 July 2013 - 11:09 AM.

Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#16 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 July 2013 - 12:57 PM

They're probably sending you a $10.00 extender that works on the 722 series.  One that can be bought for $5 at Wal-mart or Rat Shack.

 

I do not see ANY so-called M10 connectors anywhere on the internet, probably proprietary.

I would expect find M10 in Europe and other countries in a World (where is metric sizes)



#17 OFFLINE   some guy

some guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 413 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2012

Posted 08 July 2013 - 03:09 PM

Just buy them off of E-bay or Amazon.



#18 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 901 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 08 July 2013 - 04:52 PM

Just buy them off of E-bay or Amazon.

and you search for what? I did a "M10 coax cable connector" came up empty, and there is not a antenna extender for Hopper that I see, just the prior units.


Edited by 356B, 08 July 2013 - 04:56 PM.

Thank you and
Best of luck

#19 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 July 2013 - 05:16 PM

check with that seller who has a cable on an auction#310690472123



#20 OFFLINE   Matt Beachy

Matt Beachy

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2006

Posted 09 July 2013 - 12:14 PM

Well, the Hopper Remote Antenna Extender arrived today.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that it had the correct M10 (or whatever they are) connectors on the ends of the cable.  It had a male connector on one end and a female connector on the other.  The package was labeled with P/N 169178.  

 

The only problem for me now is that the cable isn't long enough to extend to where I need it to go.  I'm considering cutting the cable and putting standard F connectors on so that I can extend the "extender" cable using my existing rg6 coax runs.  The concern I have with that is I have read that rg6 is 75 ohm cable and I believe the RF signal calls for 50 ohm cable.  Is this correct?  I am not sure what type of cable the Hopper Remote Antenna Extender uses.  The only label on it says "E233577 Holland Electronics".  It looks similar to rg6, but I'm not an expert on this stuff.

 

pn169178.jpg

 

cable.jpg

 

 






Protected By... spam firewall...And...