Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Direct tv HD DVR Gennie 34 Keeps Recording Repeats ?


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,788 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 05 July 2013 - 02:25 PM

The first time you set it to record modern family and castle and such it will record one episode even if it is a repeats for each new series you set up. It won't record any repeats after the first one. Do nothing you are good.

It does that because it will always record the episode you selected to create the series recording in the first place no matter if it was a repeat or not

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,788 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 05 July 2013 - 02:26 PM

For the sports shows on espn I would do as other suggest and set a keep at most of five for them. Not for series like glee just for sports shows on espn.

#23 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 05 July 2013 - 02:32 PM

Curtis0620 what should is the settings for No Repeats   and I saw this First, when you schedule a series it will always record the episode you selected to start the series recording, even if that is a repeat, but subsequent episodes will follow the "first run only" rule.

#24 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,443 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 05 July 2013 - 02:53 PM

Curtis0620 what should is the settings for No Repeats   and I saw this First, when you schedule a series it will always record the episode you selected to start the series recording, even if that is a repeat, but subsequent episodes will follow the "first run only" rule.

I think these where only recorded because you set them up from a re-run.  Look at your to-do list and see what is scheduled to record in the future.

 

Also, the ESPN stuff will always be an issue.  Use the other suggestions to limit the number of recordings to 5 for those.


HR34-700
HR24-200
HR24-200

#25 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 05 July 2013 - 03:02 PM

Curtis0620 what should is the set up look like for for Defaults with  No Repeats  

 

 

I did this The first time you set it to record modern family and castle and such it will record one episode even if it is a repeats for each new series you set up. It won't record any repeats after the first one. Do nothing you are good.

It does that because it will always record the episode you selected to create the series recording in the first place no matter if it was a repeat or not

 

I had repeats record where is the fix



#26 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,845 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 05 July 2013 - 03:20 PM

:bang


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#27 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 05 July 2013 - 07:37 PM

Curtis0620 what should is the set up look like for for Defaults with  No Repeats  

 

 

I did this The first time you set it to record modern family and castle and such it will record one episode even if it is a repeats for each new series you set up. It won't record any repeats after the first one. Do nothing you are good.

It does that because it will always record the episode you selected to create the series recording in the first place no matter if it was a repeat or not

 

I had repeats record where is the fix



#28 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,645 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 05 July 2013 - 10:10 PM

Just find my posts to your questions, and then, just do it!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#29 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 06 July 2013 - 11:25 AM

I did this The first time you set it to record  it will record one episode even if it is a repeats for each new series you set up. It won't record any repeats after the first one. Do nothing you are good. it worked for networks not Cable series



#30 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 20 July 2013 - 10:03 PM

Do you have any friends that may be able to help you?  YOu don't seem to be understanding or following the advice that keeps being repeated to you.  Like for instance if a 2 hour show takes about 1% of free space, then about 200 hours would take 100% of the space...that is simple math..but you werent grasping that very well in one of your other posts.  Please find a friend that can help you.


  • sigma1914 likes this

#31 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,645 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 July 2013 - 10:08 PM

Excellent idea. One who might sit with you, and go through the key commands with you, getting feedback from the monitor in real time. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#32 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,728 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 24 July 2013 - 07:16 AM

sportman13, all of your HR34/Genie posts should be in the "DirecTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion" area, not the TiVo area.

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...ver-discussion/


THIS SPACE FOR RENT




spam firewall