Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Problem After HR44 Installed


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   DolphinGirl

DolphinGirl

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 06 July 2013 - 07:55 AM

I had a new HR44 installed. It is now connected whole home with an HR-23 and HR-22. All work fine except the screen on the HR44 says the following:

 

"Problem communicating with dish. Press SELECT on More Info. (776). I select More Info & get: A satellite dish hardware upgrade is required. Please call Customer Service and choose 776.

 

The installer put in a SWM8 rather than a SWM16. Is that the cause of the error message even though I am not using all the tuners at once?



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,477 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:01 AM

The installer put in the Swim 8?   Are you the installer? :rotfl:


Blue Ridge Communticatons

HD Basic Plus, HBO, Cinemax,Starz /Encore

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus analog Bedroom 5 and 6

G15 Internet

 

 

 


#3 OFFLINE   Starrbuck

Starrbuck

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
  • LocationDFW, TX
Joined: Jun 25, 2004

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:02 AM

It could be that.  If my count is correct, you have 9 tuners.  The SWM8, of course, can only serve 8.


*** DirecTV customer since 2004 ***

 

HR44-700 (2TB) + AM-21 -> Panasonic TC-PST60 Series 60" Plasma

HR24-500 (2TB) -> Samsung 6000 Series 55" LED

C41-700 & C41-500

 


#4 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,484 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:02 AM

He should have installed the SWM16, have no idea why he didn't. It doesn't matter if you are using them or not. Temporarily you can put your HR22 or 23 in single tuner mode, but I wouldn't use that as the permanent fix, just until they come out to fix it.



#5 OFFLINE   DolphinGirl

DolphinGirl

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:18 AM

He said he didn't have a SWM16 and it wouldn't matter as long as we weren't using all 9 at once.



#6 OFFLINE   DolphinGirl

DolphinGirl

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:28 AM

He should have installed the SWM16, have no idea why he didn't. It doesn't matter if you are using them or not. Temporarily you can put your HR22 or 23 in single tuner mode, but I wouldn't use that as the permanent fix, just until they come out to fix it.

How do I put the HR22 or 23 in single tuner Mode?



#7 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:29 AM

He said he didn't have a SWM16 and it wouldn't matter as long as we weren't using all 9 at once.

 

You got a bad installer that didn't know what they are talking about. The installer should have replaced your LNB with a legacy one and run four wires down to a SWM16.

 

- Merg


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#8 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:31 AM

How do I put the HR22 or 23 in single tuner Mode?

 

Go through Satellite Setup. It should prompt you, if I remember correctly.

 

You do need to contact DirecTV to get this resolved though. Just by ordering the Genie, it should have added the SWM16 to your work order and the installer should have had one then.

 

- Merg


  • damondlt likes this

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#9 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,477 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:31 AM

He said he didn't have a SWM16 and it wouldn't matter as long as we weren't using all 9 at once.

Um, He is an idiot!  They are all live tuners active at all times unless the receiver is unplugged.

 

I think you have to go into Settings and redo the satellite setup process.


Blue Ridge Communticatons

HD Basic Plus, HBO, Cinemax,Starz /Encore

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Livingroom Samsung 6030,55 inch

Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2

Tivo Mini Bedroom 3

Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4

Basic Plus analog Bedroom 5 and 6

G15 Internet

 

 

 


#10 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,484 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:37 AM

The other option is to reboot the Genie, it will take 4 tuners. This is very temporary though, if you have a power blip or anything, and the Genie doesn't come up last, it will take 5 tuners. Better to put one in single tuner mode however.



#11 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 06 July 2013 - 08:51 AM

The other option is to reboot the Genie, it will take 4 tuners. This is very temporary though, if you have a power blip or anything, and the Genie doesn't come up last, it will take 5 tuners. Better to put one in single tuner mode however.

 

+1

 

- Merg


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#12 OFFLINE   kaminar

kaminar

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 206 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2012

Posted 06 July 2013 - 12:10 PM

The installer put in a SWM8 rather than a SWM16. Is that the cause of the error message even though I am not using all the tuners at once?

 

Someone's either lazy or a thief :D

 

-=K=-



#13 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,277 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 06 July 2013 - 12:50 PM

Or ignorant, or hungover, or forgetful......

 

DG: Did the message go away after eliminating one tuner via menu items? You may need to reboot if not. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...