Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

RC 71 Remote Programming


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   DolphinGirl

DolphinGirl

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 06 July 2013 - 12:53 PM

After a minor glitch with installation of my new HR44, I went to program the Remote to my TV, HR44 and Denon AV302 A/V Receiver. Only the HR44 works via RF, the other two work via Infrared.

 

The set-up menu accepted all the codes and everything passed, except I cannot turn the Denon On or Off.

 

Any suggestions? Do I need to do something different to set up Infrared even though it said everything worked?

 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,004 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 06 July 2013 - 01:01 PM

The RC71 doesn't power on/off AV Receivers.   Yet another reason the remote is crappy.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#3 OFFLINE   DolphinGirl

DolphinGirl

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Jun 10, 2006

Posted 06 July 2013 - 01:13 PM

The RC71 doesn't power on/off AV Receivers.   Yet another reason the remote is crappy.

But it does it during the set-up process. Why would it have the Denon AVR3802 code and work during the set-up if it doesn't work?



#4 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,004 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 06 July 2013 - 02:48 PM

But it does it during the set-up process. Why would it have the Denon AVR3802 code and work during the set-up if it doesn't work?

 

Because power off/on of the AVR is not in the "off"  or "on" sequences for the RC71.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,916 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 06 July 2013 - 07:56 PM

But it does it during the set-up process. Why would it have the Denon AVR3802 code and work during the set-up if it doesn't work?

Right, unlike its predecessor that has a switch that you can set for the device.  The RC71 does not have one, and as such, the ON and OFF commands (macro) only apply for the DirecTV receiver and TV


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...