Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Out of home access won't work with GenieGo, and in home streaming pauses every two seconds!


  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,285 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 02 August 2013 - 08:38 PM

And welcome to DBSTalk!

 

- Merg


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   killerdc

killerdc

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Oct 30, 2006

Posted 07 August 2013 - 03:01 PM

Ok, so after more than a full month of back and forth on the phone with advanced customer support, it was told to me that the Android app is not capable of doing out of home access yet.  I brought my laptop home from work and set it up in home first, and took it back to work today and all worked great with that, so what it comes down too is that my android phone and tablet are not able to do out of home access yet.  GEEEEEEZZZZ, really?  It took them an entire month to let me know that?  I literally spent over 20 hours on the phone with probably a dozen different techs trying to figure out why it was not working and was told some of the most outrageous things I have ever heard.  I am a chiropractor and I can guarantee I know more than half the people that I spoke too.   I had one guy tell me that the notes indicated that client education was needed, because the Geniego was not capable of streaming DVR content outside the home.  I asked him if he was serious, as I was laughing and he clearly was serious.  I legitimately seemed shocked that you COULD stream recorded shows from outside the home.  Nonetheless, if you have an android you are trying to connect outside the home, and it works, please let me know how, otherwise, it looks like the Android app is not up to par yet.    Not sure if this helps or if it's all just bs from Directv, guess you guys can tell me.

 

If it is really the case, I can guarantee I will be calling DirecTv and getting something back in return for all the wasted hours of my life I cannot get back.  HAHA.



#53 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,110 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 07 August 2013 - 05:51 PM

Well, you might have reached the conclusion you did in a lot less time here. But there's no new service we can give you for free.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#54 OFFLINE   ttown

ttown

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2013

Posted 12 August 2013 - 04:45 PM

Well, looks like I might have long night ahead of me but hopefully not. I had the Genie HR44 and Genie Go installed today. This was the first Genie Go tech had tried to install. I am able to play recorded items on my computer and smartphone while on network. During setup I passed every connectivity test. I could not set up Out of Home. I did go in manually and set up Single Port Forwarding to 8082 and 8083. I did notice that Port Range Forwarding was automatically added. Not sure if I should uncheck enable boxes for Port Range Forwarding . I also called my ISP. Problem there is I do not  use the Uverse Modem/Router they gave me. I simply use my Linksys WRT610N router. ATT tech was kind enough to go in and make sure 8082 and 8083 port were setup and not blocked.

Will do some searching tonight and try to figure out setup for OOH.



#55 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,110 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 12 August 2013 - 05:00 PM

Take your time! There have been a couple of gotcha's recently on GenieGo, and there maybe a time lag before GenieGo is all ready to go on a new network. Meantime, enjoy your receivers, and check out a couple of threads. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#56 OFFLINE   ttown

ttown

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2013

Posted 12 August 2013 - 05:38 PM

Take your time! There have been a couple of gotcha's recently on GenieGo, and there maybe a time lag before GenieGo is all ready to go on a new network. Meantime, enjoy your receivers, and check out a couple of threads. 

I agree. Talked to someone with Slingbox today. He said that when he got his he had to call to activate it. They remotely accessed his desktop and set  up Port Forwarding, etc for him. I will spend some time with Directv tech support tonight. I just happened to get someone who had never installed a GenieGo yet. Thankfully this forum is filled with so much info and resources to help.



#57 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,285 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 13 August 2013 - 09:09 AM

If Port Range Forwarding is set up, you don't need the single port forwarding. Just make sure that the IP address listed is that for your GenieGo.

As for the AT&T modem, if that has a setting for port forwarding, be sure that it is set up in there too..


- Merg

Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#58 OFFLINE   ttown

ttown

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2013

Posted 13 August 2013 - 09:33 AM

If Port Range Forwarding is set up, you don't need the single port forwarding. Just make sure that the IP address listed is that for your GenieGo.

As for the AT&T modem, if that has a setting for port forwarding, be sure that it is set up in there too..


- Merg

Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

Thanks. I will try that. It set up range but since it did not work I followed Directv directions on their website for my router. It said to set up Single Port Forwarding specifically for 8082 and 8083. I have tried both configurations and OOH has not worked yet. I do not have ATT modem plugged in. Not sure if I even access that since not in use. I did call ATT and had them manually set up Port Forwarding for 8082 and 8083 just in case.

I simply followed directions for my Linksys router and did put in IP address listed for GenieGo. Tech support last night was no help. She could not even find anything in her notes regarding Ouf of Home access set up. I will call back later today and try with someone else. Little bit at a loss right now but will work through options. Even tried by turning off security temporarily just in case firewall was issue. That did not solve either.


Edited by ttown, 13 August 2013 - 09:49 AM.


#59 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,110 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 13 August 2013 - 09:56 AM

You're more likely to get it solved here than frustrating time on the phone. There are a number of experts on this sort of thing here; Merg is one of them. 

 

I am unclear if you have reserved an IP address for your GenieGo.... on the router that's in use. So, is U-verse your ISP? If so, it's nice to know one can use a third party modem and router. Surprised, pleasantly.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#60 OFFLINE   ttown

ttown

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2013

Posted 13 August 2013 - 11:45 PM

You're more likely to get it solved here than frustrating time on the phone. There are a number of experts on this sort of thing here; Merg is one of them. 

 

I am unclear if you have reserved an IP address for your GenieGo.... on the router that's in use. So, is U-verse your ISP? If so, it's nice to know one can use a third party modem and router. Surprised, pleasantly.

Thanks for input. Yes, Merg has been tremendous help. I did reserve IP address for GenieGo with Linksys router and did port forwarding correct within Linksys router.

U-verse is my ISP. I had my house wired from phone box outside with ethernet to one of my jacks in house. The ATT install tech simply plugged ethernet directly into my Linksys and said I did not have to use 2Wire.

Update - I am not using the 2Wire modem (in storage) and have GenieGo wired to Linksys router. I decided to try to change my router during setup to 2Wire (even though that is not in use) and setup was successful. I have to test after download is finished with wireless turned off on phone to make sure works but made major step forward tonight.


Edited by ttown, 14 August 2013 - 06:39 AM.


#61 OFFLINE   kentybishop

kentybishop

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
  • Locationpa.
Joined: Aug 20, 2013

Posted 20 August 2013 - 03:55 PM

What worked for me after talking to Direct TV and getting nothing...

was that I had to move my Genie Go   192.168.2.237 outsi via the the DMZ   

I verified that this opened the ports 8088 8089 by using the open port check tool on the internet..

 

 I set up the virtual router

and the

port forwarding, but the ports to the outside world did not work

 

till I move the Genie Go out the DMZ

 

good luck!



#62 OFFLINE   shockdoggy

shockdoggy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2007

Posted 11 September 2013 - 06:28 AM

so I need some help getting ooh to work......geniego is connected to the same belkin router as my computer and two hd dvr's.....internet comes from a Comcast modem to a d-link router which is then connected to the belkin......I am confused about how to properly set up both modems and port forwarding to make the ooh work...



#63 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,442 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 11 September 2013 - 08:05 AM

so I need some help getting ooh to work......geniego is connected to the same belkin router as my computer and two hd dvr's.....internet comes from a Comcast modem to a d-link router which is then connected to the belkin......I am confused about how to properly set up both modems and port forwarding to make the ooh work...

So you have a D-Link and Belking router? are both routers running DHCP? usually is a bad idea to run two routers in the same network


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#64 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,285 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 11 September 2013 - 08:45 AM

So you have a D-Link and Belking router? are both routers running DHCP? usually is a bad idea to run two routers in the same network


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk


Yup. As long as DHCP is turned off in the Belkin, port forwarding should only need to be set up in the D-Link.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#65 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,370 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 11 September 2013 - 08:57 AM

Not good unless the Belkin is connected via LAN port and Wan is disabled.  Just curious, why are you running two routers?


We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#66 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,928 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 11 September 2013 - 09:02 AM

so I need some help getting ooh to work......geniego is connected to the same belkin router as my computer and two hd dvr's.....internet comes from a Comcast modem to a d-link router which is then connected to the belkin......I am confused about how to properly set up both modems and port forwarding to make the ooh work...

Though if for whatever reasons you need DHCP turned on for both routers, see tbolt's post here for help with the setup procedure;

http://www.dbstalk.c...ming/?p=3176537

 

You can ignore the traceroute instructions at the beginning of the post since you obviously know two routers are involved here, and just concentrate on the later part while ignoring any router brand names of course. Mentions of the "2nd router" in the post is the one closest to the internet and the "1st router" the one with the GenieGo connected to it.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#67 OFFLINE   shockdoggy

shockdoggy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 12:50 PM

I rent a studio.  the belkin router is my router, the d-link router is the landlords router who provides internet to the studio that I rent and 2 other rooms rented by other tenants.  so, cat5 cable comes from the d-link to my belkin, which is then hard wire connected to my pc, 2 hdr receivers and the genie go.  I also use the belkin for wifi on tablet and cell phones.

 

so if I understand the setup procedure linked above.... I am supposed to delete all the settings on the belkin that the geniogo initially set up, and then manually set up the d-link router...which I have tried to do, but......instructions say use the belkin wan address instead of the geniego wan address......the belkin wan is 192.168.0.102.....when I try to use that address when setting up the d-link, I get an error message that the 4th set of numbers must be an integer....???



#68 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,370 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:26 PM

Two routers in series (double NAT) is always potential problems.  Leave the forwards  in your Belkin and you'll need to get your landlord to forward to your WAN address the same ports.  And lots of Good Luck.


We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#69 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,285 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:31 PM

Two routers in series (double NAT) is always potential problems. Leave the forwards in your Belkin and you'll need to get your landlord to forward to your WAN address the same ports. And lots of Good Luck.


Exactly. When you connect with OOH, it will first connect to the D-Link so it needs to know to pass on data through certain ports. The D-Link will pass it on to the Belkin. Once at the Belkin, you use port forwarding there to continue to allow data to go on to the GenieGo.


- Merg

Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#70 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,285 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:32 PM

Two routers in series (double NAT) is always potential problems. Leave the forwards in your Belkin and you'll need to get your landlord to forward to your WAN address the same ports. And lots of Good Luck.


Exactly. When you connect with OOH, it will first connect to the D-Link so it needs to know to pass on data through certain ports. The D-Link will pass it on to the Belkin. Once at the Belkin, you use port forwarding there to continue to allow data to go on to the GenieGo.


- Merg

Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#71 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,370 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:34 PM

Exactly. When you connect with OOH, it will first connect to the D-Link so it needs to know to pass on data through certain ports. The D-Link will pass it on to the Belkin. Once at the Belkin, you use port forwarding there to continue to allow data to go on to the GenieGo.


- Merg

Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

On paper that's the way it should work, but . . .


We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#72 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,285 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:36 PM

On paper that's the way it should work, but . . .

 

LOL!

 

- Merg


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#73 OFFLINE   shockdoggy

shockdoggy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Aug 30, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 02:12 PM

so merg, are you saying let the geniego set up the d-link, which according to the link above is the 2nd router, and then manually set up the belkin which again according to the link is the 1st router?



#74 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,442 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 14 September 2013 - 08:25 PM

so merg, are you saying let the geniego set up the d-link, which according to the link above is the 2nd router, and then manually set up the belkin which again according to the link is the 1st router?

COrrect


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#75 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,285 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 10:51 PM

so merg, are you saying let the geniego set up the d-link, which according to the link above is the 2nd router, and then manually set up the belkin which again according to the link is the 1st router?


COrrect


Actually, the opposite. After the Belkin is set up via the GenieGo app, the D-Link will need to be manually set up. On the D-Link, you need to forward the same ports as being forwarded on the Belkin, The IP address that they are being forwarded to will be the same as the IP address that the D-Link has assigned to the Belkin.

If the Belkin is not creating its own network (the D-Link is assigning IP addresses to every device on the network), then you should only need to set up the D-Link


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





Protected By... spam firewall...And...