Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Direct tv HD DVR Gennie 34 OR the 44 ?


  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 15 July 2013 - 03:42 PM

Curtis0620  

I am waiting for Direct tv to set up my Reciever

like I said I am a disabled person hope you will let me ask you questions on setting up my Reciever after it is installed get back to me please

 

   

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,473 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 16 July 2013 - 06:26 AM

Curtis0620

I am waiting for Direct tv to set up my Reciever

like I said I am a disabled person hope you will let me ask you questions on setting up my Reciever after it is installed get back to me please

 

   

 

Of course you can


HR34-700
HR24-200
HR24-200

#53 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,382 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 16 July 2013 - 06:33 AM

Dose anyone have issues with an HR34 or dose everyone like theirs ?

I love mine. Its a much better machine then it was a year ago. It never needs rebooting it never freezes menu speed is not sluggish.

 And I've yet to hear this so called fan noise. :sure:


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#54 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,382 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 16 July 2013 - 06:35 AM

I have a HR34-700 that replaced a HR24-500. Do I have a issue with it? Yes, TV Apps comes and goes but I've had issues with TV Apps with previous receivers. Do I like my HR34-700? Yes. It's speed and Genie features make it the best HD DVR I've had.

I have the opposite issue with TV apps.  My Hr34 always works and my new HR 24 barely does.  It always says Unavailable 5


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#55 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,382 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 16 July 2013 - 06:39 AM

Did anyone Else notice this topic is in the Directv TIVO forum?
Do Hr 34's and 44s have Tivo now? :shrug:


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#56 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 16 July 2013 - 10:58 AM

my old  34 it was not working Direct tv replaced it before I install the NEW 34 Genie I recorded on the old 34dvrhd  in HD First run only all in hd 21 shows at hour and a half hour shows meter showed 89% free space on the meter when it gets to the end of the meter dose it   mean no hard drive space left it is it eating space up   if I record in  hd  without watching any episodes from Sept. to May will it fill up before May want it eat up space fast at this rate like it seems it is ?

#57 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,442 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 16 July 2013 - 11:29 AM

my old  34 it was not working Direct tv replaced it before I install the NEW 34 Genie I recorded on the old 34dvrhd  in HD First run only all in hd 21 shows at hour and a half hour shows meter showed 89% free space on the meter when it gets to the end of the meter dose it   mean no hard drive space left it is it eating space up   if I record in  hd  without watching any episodes from Sept. to May will it fill up before May want it eat up space fast at this rate like it seems it is ?

You've asked this MULTIPLE times and it's been answered MULTIPLE times.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#58 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 16 July 2013 - 11:58 AM

Everyone sorry In the playlist with 21 shows it said 89% free space on the meter where is the meter to show the 200 hrs in hd you can record 



#59 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,123 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 16 July 2013 - 12:09 PM

There's no such "meter". You need simple arithmetic to estimate how much space is left. 

 

You really need to just play with/work with the unit and not speculate so much 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#60 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 16 July 2013 - 12:30 PM

What is in playlist free space on the meter ?



#61 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,382 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 16 July 2013 - 02:00 PM

89% free means you used 11% of the 1 TB hard drive.  not really sure what you are asking?

Hr 34 and 44 both have a 200 hd 800 sd hours of recording capacity.


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#62 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 16 July 2013 - 02:46 PM

damondlt

Where dose it show the  200 hd 800 sd hours of recording capacity ?



#63 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,442 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 16 July 2013 - 02:50 PM

damondlt

Where dose it show the  200 hd 800 sd hours of recording capacity ?

 

It doesn't and the math has been explained to you multiple times.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#64 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,382 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 16 July 2013 - 03:08 PM

damondlt

Where dose it show the  200 hd 800 sd hours of recording capacity ?

 

On just about every spec sheet about the HR 34 and 44.

 

http://hr20.dbstalk.... First Look.pdf

 

http://www.solidsign...(hr34)&more=yes

 

http://gdgt.com/directv/genie/specs/

 

 

specs

  • Type High def DVR
  • HD recording capacity 200 hours
  • SD recording capacity 800 hours
  • Video outputs Component (1 outputs), HDMI...
  • Service type Satellite
  • Dimensions 3.25 x 15.75 x 11.85 in

I believe it was released January 2012,

someone might want to fix that on the Gdgt website.. LOL!


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#65 OFFLINE   dishinitout

dishinitout

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 258 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 04, 2013

Posted 16 July 2013 - 03:18 PM

damondlt
Where dose it show the 200 hd 800 sd hours of recording capacity ?


You won't see a meter showing you have "X" amount of HD space available or "X" amount of SD space because people don't typically record just HD or just SD programs. So the % is just what is says the % of the hard drive available. It would only confuse people to have a meter that says " you can record 200hrs more of HD or 800 hrs more of SD". HD recordings use a lot more space on the hard drive compared to SD and the exact amount someone gets out of the system varies based on what they record...

SL5, SWM16, 1 HR44, 1 HR34, 2 HR24, 2 C31, 1 C41W

 


#66 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 16 July 2013 - 07:30 PM

I apologize I am not technical I have a new 34 Direct tv replaced today  questions the guy set up DEFAULT FIRST run ONLY all episodes keep til what I do not get  is First run only Example my local news is on at 11 pm new and repeat at 1 30 should it  not repeat the 1 30 it dose and shows like ESPN first take and sports nation do to is their away to tell shows in first run only which should not repeat in first run only ?



#67 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,123 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 17 July 2013 - 08:02 AM

Keep a maximum of five.

 

Don't worry. Just watch and learn.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#68 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 17 July 2013 - 11:05 AM

Setting up my replacement dvrhd34 will tell you my set up



#69 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,325 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 July 2013 - 04:53 PM

I apologize I am not technical I have a new 34 Direct tv replaced today  questions the guy set up DEFAULT FIRST run ONLY all episodes keep til what I do not get  is First run only Example my local news is on at 11 pm new and repeat at 1 30 should it  not repeat the 1 30 it dose and shows like ESPN first take and sports nation do to is their away to tell shows in first run only which should not repeat in first run only ?

 

Your late news shows all episodes as new in the guide, even when the latter one is a repeat.  Thats just the way it is with some shows.  Most regular series like Castle, etc, will NOT have this issue.



#70 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 17 July 2013 - 05:22 PM

  inkahauts thanks I started a remote thread which one works on the dvrhd34 Genie
   


 

DIRECTV TiVo Remote for THR22 or HR2X DVRs - or DIRECTV Universal Remote RC71

 

#71 OFFLINE   sbl

sbl

    Icon

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 863 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 17 July 2013 - 05:37 PM

The RC71 will not work with the HR34 - it says that on the page you linked to.

 

 RF only compatible with HR44, C41, and C41W.

Steve

My Setup


#72 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,123 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 17 July 2013 - 05:47 PM

To be certain, it won't work in RF with other units, but IR should be all right. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#73 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,382 posts
  • LocationNewfoundland, Pa
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 17 July 2013 - 05:47 PM

The RC71 will not work with the HR34 - it says that on the page you linked to.

It does in IR mode!


Blue Ridge Communticatons

Digital HD Basic Plus, Cinemax,Showtime/TMC,Starz /Encore
Tivo T6 (Roamio Plus) Master Bedroom,Samsung 5300 40 Inch

Tivo Mini Livingroom Vizio M602i-B3 60 Inch

Tivo Mini Bedroom 2  LG 26LE5300 26 Inch
Tivo Mini Bedroom 3  Element ELEFW328 32 Inch
Cisco HD ,Bedroom office 4  Magnavox 32 inch

Arris Touchstone DG1660

Dream 60 Mbps down 3 Mbps up.

 


#74 OFFLINE   sportman13

sportman13

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 323 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2005

Posted 17 July 2013 - 06:50 PM

Both of theses do work DIRECTV TiVo Remote for THR22 or HR2X DVRs - or DIRECTV Universal Remote RC71 with the DVRhD 34 Genie your saying ?



#75 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,123 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 17 July 2013 - 06:54 PM

Get the RC65 remote if you don't have one already. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...