Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DVR's not showing up on Geniego or iPad app.

genie geniego app iPad

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   alexcohen

alexcohen

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 18 July 2013 - 03:56 PM

On my iPad both the Directv app. & Genie Go are only showing one of my 3 DVR's, a new HR-44. I'm on with Directv now but they don't seem to understand my problem. All DVR's show up on the DVR's playlist, the only problem is with the apps.



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 18 July 2013 - 06:17 PM

Alex, have you re-set all the items? If that doesn't work, go through the Network settings on the two DVRs that don't work. Don't change anything, but OK through it. It will congratulate you and hopefully all will be well. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#3 OFFLINE   alexcohen

alexcohen

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 18 July 2013 - 07:15 PM

Thanks Laxdude but we tried all that, Directv is stumped as well, There sending some techy guy over.



#4 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,784 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 18 July 2013 - 07:52 PM

On the Whole Home Menu, are all three options set to ALLOW?

 

What are all the IP addresses for each DVR?

 

How is your home network set up?

Is the HR44 the network bridge?

Is there a CCK or WCCK?

Are any of the DVRs or your router connected with Wireless Access Points or Repeaters?



#5 OFFLINE   KCWolfPck

KCWolfPck

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2006

Posted 19 July 2013 - 08:33 AM

Do you use the Cinema Conection Kit to access the internet via your wireless home network?  I do, and I get this problem often.  It seems that the CCK has a problem staying connected to my wireless router?  DirecTV sent a technician, but it hasn't solved the issue.  It's rather frustrating at times.



#6 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 July 2013 - 08:51 AM

Do you use the Cinema Conection Kit to access the internet via your wireless home network?  I do, and I get this problem often.  It seems that the CCK has a problem staying connected to my wireless router?  DirecTV sent a technician, but it hasn't solved the issue.  It's rather frustrating at times.

KC- 

 

Can you flesh out what your setup is and the exact nature of the issue? 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#7 OFFLINE   KCWolfPck

KCWolfPck

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2006

Posted 19 July 2013 - 10:23 AM

KC- 

 

Can you flesh out what your setup is and the exact nature of the issue? 

 

Laxguy,

 

I have 3 HD DVRs in my home and am using DirecTV's "whole home" network.  On one of my DVRs, there is a Cinema Connection Kit (CCK) attached.  The internet connection for my DVRs is received via the CCK accessing my wireless home network.  Often times (especially when I use or start downloading content to my GenieGo), the CCK will lose the internet connection.  It will normally restore itself after a period of time.



#8 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 July 2013 - 10:47 AM

OK< I see you've started a new thread on just this. I've replied there, and you'll see I strongly advise against using wireless unless you just have to. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#9 OFFLINE   alexcohen

alexcohen

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 19 July 2013 - 11:12 AM

OK< I see you've started a new thread on just this. I've replied there, and you'll see I strongly advise against using wireless unless you just have to. 

Yes actually this is a different problem. Here's what I have:

1 HR-44 that is connected to my WiFi, there's really no other way to connect.

HR24-500 that is connected to the internet but doesn't show up on either the Directv iPad app or the GenieGo app.

​1 HR24-200 that won't connect to the internet (it did up until yesterday) & doesn't show up on either app.

1 Linksys EA4500 wireless router connected to a TWC internet through a Cisco 2100 cable modem.

​Actually (for now) the GenieGo works great if I'm transferring from the Genie, it's everything else that's a problem. The HR24-200 has always been a bit buggy, I'm thinking of asking Directv to just swap it out for a Genie client. I think I can live with just 7 tuners instead of 9.

Thanks! 



#10 OFFLINE   alexcohen

alexcohen

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 19 July 2013 - 11:14 AM

If you add the HR24-500's IP address to the Directv app it will work but just temporarily. 



#11 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,007 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 July 2013 - 12:25 PM

Not sure I can help here, Alex. I've gone away from static IPs to all DHCP, and have only the occasional network problem.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#12 OFFLINE   alexcohen

alexcohen

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 19 July 2013 - 03:33 PM

A higher level tech is coming Sunday, stay tuned!



#13 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,195 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 July 2013 - 03:48 PM

A higher level tech is coming Sunday, stay tuned!

There is no such thing... lol


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#14 OFFLINE   alexcohen

alexcohen

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 19 July 2013 - 04:39 PM

There is no such thing... lol

So then this will be the second time Directv has lied to me about this problem. First time was when the CSR said there was no specialized GenieGo tech. support.



#15 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,195 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 19 July 2013 - 04:48 PM

There "might" be GenieGo specialist, however all DirecTV covers in the GenieGo training is how to connect the GenieGo to the customer's router.  This is NOT to say that there are no techs that networking experience.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#16 OFFLINE   alexcohen

alexcohen

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 22 July 2013 - 09:04 AM

So now all of my DVR's are online & showing up on the iPad app but only the HR-44 shows up on the GenieGo app. A higher level tech. came by yesterday, yes Sunday, but I just told him that this is good enough. I was afraid if he started rooting around things might get worse, he didn't disagree. Thanks for all your help, now it's time to go back to a "normal" life!



#17 OFFLINE   Diana C

Diana C

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,102 posts
  • LocationNew Jersey
Joined: Mar 30, 2007

Posted 22 July 2013 - 09:13 AM

If you restart the GenieGo (disconnect power, count to 10 and plug it back in) it will likely come back up and see all the DVRs (as long as the iPad is seeing them).


Dish Network Customer from 9/1998-11/2001
DirecTV Customer 10/2001 - 7/2014

FiOS TV/TiVo Customer since 6/2014
Moderator, DBSDish.com 1999-2000
Co-Founder and Administrator, DBSForums.com 2000-2006

Current setup:
DirecTV: HR34-700 (1TB) / HR24-100 (1TB) / HR24-500 (1TB) / HR21-700 (320GB) / HR21-100 (1TB) / 2 H25s / C41-500 / SWiM16 / Nomad / CCK

FiOS: 2 Tivo Roamio Pros (6 TB total) / 5 Tivo Minis attached via MOCA


#18 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 23 July 2013 - 10:06 PM

This is probably a crazy question to ask. Do they show up in the Manage Playlist under settings? If so are they enabled.

#19 OFFLINE   alexcohen

alexcohen

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 112 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 24 July 2013 - 09:45 AM

Diana C: Thanks for your help, I tried that, but no it didn't help.

Lawood: No they don't show up there, I even downloaded GenieGo to my Mac to see if I could see or add them there, but no you can't. 

 

Thank you everyone for your help & advice!



#20 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 24 July 2013 - 05:00 PM

Just in case you didn't know. Whole Home does not require an Ethernet connection. However Ethernet can have an adverse effect on Whole Home if not correctly setup. Also you can access your receivers with Ipads/android even if your receivers Whole Home share list set to NO. That is my setup. Have no interest what my wife records and she doesn't care about my recording. With my android geniego I still have access to both receivers. Also the directv app that shows Currently Watching/Whats Hot/Live TV Steaming I can select either receiver. The only thing is when I select Playlist this is a no go as it requires Whole Home set to allowed.
I don't have a SWM16 and like to know if it is displayed in the Menu/Settings &Help/Settings/Info & Test/more system info. (once there scroll down).

Edited by Lawood, 24 July 2013 - 05:02 PM.


#21 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,195 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:25 PM

I don't have a SWM16 and like to know if it is displayed in the Menu/Settings &Help/Settings/Info & Test/more system info. (once there scroll down).

No, a switch does not show up under the "more system info" screen


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#22 OFFLINE   mfeinstein

mfeinstein

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 325 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2007

Posted 28 July 2013 - 08:18 PM

I am having the same problem, intermittently.  Everything in my house is connected to hardwire Ethernet, and all the DVRs have static IP addresses.  The GenieGo sees content from all the DVRs, but then all the content disappears.  I have to reboot everything, and usually comes back.  Sometimes I have to reboot the GenieGo more than once.  Very frustrating, and not useful at all.

 

All of the DVRs are set up properly to share content, and they can all stream content to each other.



#23 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,195 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 July 2013 - 08:23 PM

I am having the same problem, intermittently. Everything in my house is connected to hardwire Ethernet, and all the DVRs have static IP addresses. The GenieGo sees content from all the DVRs, but then all the content disappears. I have to reboot everything, and usually comes back. Sometimes I have to reboot the GenieGo more than once. Very frustrating, and not useful at all.

All of the DVRs are set up properly to share content, and they can all stream content to each other.


I would start by having the DVRs get DHCP addresses, that just me tho....
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#24 OFFLINE   mfeinstein

mfeinstein

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 325 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2007

Posted 29 July 2013 - 10:18 AM

I would start by having the DVRs get DHCP addresses, that just me tho....

I don't see why that would matter.  The IP addresses are all legit on my network, and I find that streaming between DVRs and Network Services all work better with static IPs.  And, this wouldn't explain the intermittent nature of my problem.  For example, this morning I was able to see the DVR content on the GenieGo iPad app and was able to prepare and download several shows.  Then, all of a sudden, the app reports that the GenieGo can no longer see any DVR content.  No IP addresses changed during this time period.



#25 OFFLINE   mfeinstein

mfeinstein

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 325 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2007

Posted 29 July 2013 - 08:03 PM

I didn't set up reserved addresses via DHCP for my DVRs, but I did do so for the GenieGo box as I have also been having problems with Out of Home Access.  It seems to be working more consistently so far, but we'll see what happens over time.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: genie, geniego, app, iPad

Protected By... spam firewall...And...