Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DVR's not showing up on Geniego or iPad app.

genie geniego app iPad

  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,944 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 July 2013 - 09:24 PM

Setting static IP addresses can sometimes "mask" issues that would otherwise be "visible" with DHCP
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   knoxbh

knoxbh

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: May 01, 2002

Posted 30 July 2013 - 10:11 AM

Don't see an answer to my problem.  Have following equipment:

 

       HR44 (Great Room 1)

       HR 24-100 (Florida Room} - Connected to internet with Cinema Kit

       HR 24-100 (Great Room 2)

       HR 24-100 (Kitchen)

       HR 24-500 (Master Bedroom)

 

My problem:  On whole-home, none of the other receivers see the Florida Room; all of the other receivers see each other.  The Florida Room sees only itself.  We have rebooted the Florida Room receiver, several times, using both disconnecting the receiver from electrical source, and using RBR.  (By the way, it used to work and stopped working 2 days ago).  We have also rebooted all the other receivers and they continue to work fine except not seeing the Florida room.  The iPAD Geniego sees all receivers except the Florida Room.  Also, using the Directv app on the IPAD has the same results.

 

HELP!!!


Finally made 86 - looking forward to 87!!

#28 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,340 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 30 July 2013 - 10:17 AM

I would run Network Setup, go through Advanced settings, but don't change anything unless it looks wrong. OK through it till you get the "congratulations" bit. HTH!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#29 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,944 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 July 2013 - 09:35 PM

YOu say the Florida room has the CCK, which one? the HR24 is not supposed to have any ethernet cable connected
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#30 OFFLINE   knoxbh

knoxbh

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: May 01, 2002

Posted 31 July 2013 - 06:37 AM

The Florida Room (HR24) has the CCK connected to it, wirelessly.  it had worked for a long time until a couple of days ago.  The instructions with the CCK said if hooked up wirelessly to use an ethernet connecting cable.  Are they wrong?  By the way, the CCK is only about 89 ft from the router.


Finally made 86 - looking forward to 87!!

#31 OFFLINE   mfeinstein

mfeinstein

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 325 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2007

Posted 31 July 2013 - 07:00 AM

Setting static IP addresses can sometimes "mask" issues that would otherwise be "visible" with DHCP

I can say after using this for a couple of days that this has been the case for me.  Now that I reserver the IP address for the GenieGo box on my router, things are much more stable and the DVRs show up consistently.



#32 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 31 July 2013 - 11:39 AM

The HR44 also provides a wireless connection to your network. It looks like you have two devices providing wireless to you network. This is unless you disabled the wireless Wi-Fi in the HR44. Think this is possible, but don't know as I do not have a HR44.

Edited by Lawood, 31 July 2013 - 11:40 AM.


#33 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,340 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 31 July 2013 - 01:09 PM

The HR44 also provides a wireless connection to your network. It looks like you have two devices providing wireless to you network. This is unless you disabled the wireless Wi-Fi in the HR44. Think this is possible, but don't know as I do not have a HR44.

In any case, there shouldn't be two internet connections on whole home service. The HR44 can provide wireless internet to the whole system, but wired is the better solution, and only one of those! 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#34 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,944 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 31 July 2013 - 04:36 PM

The HR44 also provides a wireless connection to your network. It looks like you have two devices providing wireless to you network. This is unless you disabled the wireless Wi-Fi in the HR44. Think this is possible, but don't know as I do not have a HR44.


Good catch. to the TS, remove the CCK-W from the HR24 and do a red button reset
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#35 OFFLINE   knoxbh

knoxbh

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: May 01, 2002

Posted 01 August 2013 - 07:31 AM

Thanks to all that replied.  i did remove the ethernet cable from the CCK on the HR24 and now everything sees everything alll the time!!  Life is good again!!.  Again, many thanks.


Finally made 86 - looking forward to 87!!

#36 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,340 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 01 August 2013 - 08:28 AM

Terrific. Now may your favorite teams enjoy a win streak.....  :)


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#37 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,944 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 August 2013 - 09:14 AM

Awesome. Thanks for the update
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#38 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 01 August 2013 - 02:46 PM

Good to hear Life is good again.

#39 OFFLINE   knoxbh

knoxbh

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: May 01, 2002

Posted 04 August 2013 - 09:09 AM

This may have been answered before - not sure - but i have an HR44 plus 4 HDDVRs and 3 Hs with a CCK attached to one of the HDDVRs.  Should i disconnect the CCK from the HDDVR or leave it attached?  Everything seems to be working o.k. right now.  By the way, the CCK was connected before i got the HR44.

 

Thanks


Finally made 86 - looking forward to 87!!

#40 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,340 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 04 August 2013 - 11:59 AM

You could do either- leave well enough alone, or put an ethernet wire directly into the '44 and disconnect the CCK. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#41 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,944 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 04 August 2013 - 08:20 PM

This may have been answered before - not sure - but i have an HR44 plus 4 HDDVRs and 3 Hs with a CCK attached to one of the HDDVRs. Should i disconnect the CCK from the HDDVR or leave it attached? Everything seems to be working o.k. right now. By the way, the CCK was connected before i got the HR44.

Thanks

Which CCK are you using? if wireless, you should disconnected and use the HR44 built in WiFi
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#42 OFFLINE   knoxbh

knoxbh

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: May 01, 2002

Posted 05 August 2013 - 08:33 AM

Yes, it is wireless.  Will give it a try today.

 

Thanks for the info.


Finally made 86 - looking forward to 87!!

#43 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,301 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 06 August 2013 - 03:39 PM

I can say after using this for a couple of days that this has been the case for me.  Now that I reserver the IP address for the GenieGo box on my router, things are much more stable and the DVRs show up consistently.

what router do ya have and how did ya reserve the IP address for the geniego box?



#44 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,340 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 06 August 2013 - 04:18 PM

More important, spidey, is the router you have! Nomenclature can vary widely, so someone with your box, or at least brand, can tell you what they call reserved IP's, and how to initiate that reservation. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#45 OFFLINE   spidey

spidey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,301 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 06 August 2013 - 04:47 PM

I have a 2wire att uverse router. I tried to tell it to use a fixed IP address I know is free and it gives me a very cryptic erro message





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: genie, geniego, app, iPad

Protected By... spam firewall...And...