Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

What is the best/convenient method of streaming slingbox to HDTV?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   unr1

unr1

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2005

Posted 19 July 2013 - 12:45 AM

I want to setup an HDTV and stream slingbox over it

I only have about 3-4 mbps bandwidth upload from the source

 

So I know I'm not gonna get perfect HD but I want something easy to navigate with a remote. Kinda like how good the regular dish dvr remote is.

What are some good options? Built into a TV? Peripheral device? Laptop?

 

I appreciate your feedback.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,468 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 19 July 2013 - 10:55 AM

Let me see if I understand your question.

 

You have a TV at location A and a slingbox at location B and want to stream the Slingbox output to that TV.

 

I would connect the TV to a laptop or other PC with an HDMI output.

 

The 3 or 4 MB upload should give you a pretty good HD picture.


Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#3 OFFLINE   unr1

unr1

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2005

Posted 20 July 2013 - 01:40 AM

here's my speed test

 

2848349062.png

 

Jim, that's exaclty what I want to do. Thanks for the tip.

 

btw, I tested this and I got 1.25 MBPS on the slingplayer web app. What's the best way to use it on mac/windows? Wasn't there a standalone, I can't seem to find that. With the remote control on screen.



#4 OFFLINE   unr1

unr1

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2005

Posted 20 July 2013 - 01:42 AM

btw... MBPS, mbps, and Mb/s

are all the same right? :)


Edited by unr1, 20 July 2013 - 01:43 AM.


#5 OFFLINE   unr1

unr1

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2005

Posted 20 July 2013 - 01:44 AM

I'm actually upgrading my cable in a few days. I should eb getting a solid 2-3 MBPS up. I'll find out later.

But this upload sucks for what I pay for ($55/month).



#6 OFFLINE   unr1

unr1

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2005

Posted 20 July 2013 - 02:26 AM

It's really confusing because I have the slingadapter. I use to have the slingbox pro I think it's called. But anyway, dishonline is alright but I miss slingplayer features. I'm not sure how to access slingplayer using a slingadapter connected to a 722



#7 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,164 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 20 July 2013 - 09:18 AM

I don't believe you can connect the two.



#8 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,468 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 20 July 2013 - 04:06 PM

Slingbox has its own separate software/ incompatible with Sling Adapter.

Slingbox - you log into www.slingbox.com, sling Adapter you log into www.dish.com.

For a short time there was an interval where the Slngbox software worked on the sling adapter, but no longer - and I agree, the Slingbox software is highly superior to the Sling Adapter crap.

Dish should unite the two into the same software package and not the one they use on the sling adapter!
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#9 OFFLINE   unr1

unr1

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2005

Posted 22 July 2013 - 02:17 AM

sigh, that's so lame.

Well, my dish contract is up in a year and a half. Hope they shape up by then.



#10 OFFLINE   tampa8

tampa8

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 1,812 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 22 July 2013 - 07:59 PM

Or? 

To have the new built in APP in streaming devices for the Slingbox that just recently came out, Dish changed the way the Sling adaptor and Slingbox work. 






Protected By... spam firewall...And...