Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Taking the HR34 to the Internet


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,324 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 21 July 2013 - 12:00 PM

Certainly simpler to use a dedicated switch.

 

And, I believe you have "got it"! 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   VaJim

VaJim

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 652 posts
  • LocationVirginia beach va
Joined: Jul 26, 2006

Posted 21 July 2013 - 12:07 PM

Certainly simpler to use a dedicated switch.

 

And, I believe you have "got it"! 

Thanks again.....I appreciate everyone pitching in to help me understands the mechanics of this.  I think what I'll do to free up one of the ports from the router is take one that support my weather direct (lacrosse) and since it looks like I won't be needing my gaming adapters, well there ya go.

 

...now if i can get pass the dish/lnb replacment I may be home free.  Calling ms utility tomorrow and the 2nd installer is due PM on July 25th



#28 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 21 July 2013 - 12:10 PM

Thanks...I think I'm getting it now.  It sounds like the CCK (wired version) pulls the Intenet connection into the Directv line.  That way you have both right there, no need for wireless....?...I will have to get a router spliter...for my 4 ports are being used.  I do have a old netgear router...I wonder if I could use...?  Probably not for it might cause interference for my current router.

 

Yup. The CCK is just the bridge from the coax network to your router (home network). The CCK can be connected to your router (or a switch on your network) via a direct Ethernet connection or if you have the wireless CCK, it can connect back to your router via Wifi. Most techs now only have the wired CCK so the wifi option would not even be there.

 

As for the ports on your router being used, you can either purchase a switch that has additional ports for you or you can possibly set up the old Netgear router to act as a switch. Basically, you would turn off the DHCP server on it. Also, unless there is a setting to turn the WAN port on the Netgear into a LAN port, you would just not use the WAN port at all.

 

- Merg


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#29 OFFLINE   dall08fan

dall08fan

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2008

Posted 21 July 2013 - 12:15 PM

If i am reading everything correctly, i could connect a ethernet cable directly to my Genie HR44(without a deca), installer told me not to do it that way or i would not get internet. Would then my HR21 also get internet connection through the coax cable? Right now the HR21 has a deca connected to it.



#30 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,069 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 21 July 2013 - 03:27 PM

Yes you can connect direct to the genie and you will get Internet to the hr21.

#31 OFFLINE   dall08fan

dall08fan

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2008

Posted 21 July 2013 - 03:50 PM

Do i need to keep the deca on the hr21?



#32 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 21 July 2013 - 06:04 PM

Do i need to keep the deca on the hr21?


Yes. Keep the DECA attached to the HR21. The DECA there splits the Ethernet traffic out of the coax network and sends it to the HR21's Ethernet port. The HR44, for all purposes, has a CCK built into it. You can remove the CCK the installer set up and plug an Ethernet cable directly into the HR44.

With regard to what the installer stated as to why you can't do that, the HR24, which has a DECA built-in, did not have the CCK built-in. This meant that if you plugged in an Ethernet cable to the HR24, it disabled the DECA in the HR24. So, in that case, it was have the HR24 connected to the Internet or have the HR24 connected to the coax network, which meant you could have MRV.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#33 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,324 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 21 July 2013 - 06:34 PM

To be sure, you must not run the CCK and ethernet direct to the Genie at the same time; one or the other!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#34 OFFLINE   dall08fan

dall08fan

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 04:05 PM

Thanks it works perfectly. Went ahead and connected wireless through the genie and my hr21 is also getting internet.



#35 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 22 July 2013 - 07:33 PM

Thanks it works perfectly. Went ahead and connected wireless through the genie and my hr21 is also getting internet.


Good to hear!


- Merg

Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#36 OFFLINE   VaJim

VaJim

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 652 posts
  • LocationVirginia beach va
Joined: Jul 26, 2006

Posted 29 July 2013 - 07:10 AM

Pardon the continuing questions concerning the genie and access to the Internet, but I am still trying to understand as I'm now hoping for a HR44.

 

Once my Genie (HR44) is installed with its wireless function, which is the best way to access the Internet, through the wireless function on the genie or by using the CCK?

 

In my case, even though the genie is not in the same room as my router, one of my HR21 will be and I could run an Ethernet to the router.  Is that the best way to go and does it require a CCK/DECA and will doing that bring the Internet to all of my receivers?

 

Currently my 2 HR21’s (non-home network) are accessing the Internet by way of the gaming adapters and for the most part they work well. 



#37 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,324 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 July 2013 - 07:44 AM

Wired is preferred over wireless. 

 

You should have the installer hook up the CCK in the room where one of your HR21s is, via a DECA adaptor. That will give all receivers internet access as well as networked together over the coax. It's pretty slick and my two installations have been very solid. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#38 OFFLINE   VaJim

VaJim

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 652 posts
  • LocationVirginia beach va
Joined: Jul 26, 2006

Posted 29 July 2013 - 07:52 AM

Wired is preferred over wireless. 

 

You should have the installer hook up the CCK in the room where one of your HR21s is, via a DECA adaptor. That will give all receivers internet access as well as networked together over the coax. It's pretty slick and my two installations have been very solid. 

 Thanks....that would be the upstairs room where I plan to move one of the HR21's.  So bringing the DECA inline will also take care of the other HR21 in the bedroom which has NO DECA...?



#39 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,324 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 July 2013 - 08:48 AM

You'd need a DECA addon for the other HR21, as they don't have them built in as do the Genies. The coax would be carrying both the DTV feed as well as internet and connectivity to your other DVRs. But there'd be one—and only one—point of connection with your LAN.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#40 OFFLINE   VaJim

VaJim

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 652 posts
  • LocationVirginia beach va
Joined: Jul 26, 2006

Posted 29 July 2013 - 02:54 PM

You'd need a DECA addon for the other HR21, as they don't have them built in as do the Genies. The coax would be carrying both the DTV feed as well as internet and connectivity to your other DVRs. But there'd be one—and only one—point of connection with your LAN.

Thanks again.....I think I need to grab a copy of CCK or DECA for Dummies.  In going with a 'hard wire' connection to the Internet with the HR44/HR21's, I understand the DECA, but if you use the CCK does that mean you're back to wireless?  The CCK I've seen on the DTV website shows the DECA and a CCK interface (looks like a modem) and then talks about making a wireless connection/setup.  I'm obviously missing something.  Keeping in mind, my HR44 will not be close to the router so it will be one of the HR21's that will bring in the Net.



#41 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,324 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 July 2013 - 03:24 PM

You may be overthinking all this! The installer should be able to answer most questions, but as to what constitutes "wireless", once you're connected via a CCK and each receiver is DECA'd, internally in the case of the Genie, externally for the HR21S, there's no apparent other wire for the ethernetting; it runs through the coax. I hope that puts you at ease! 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#42 OFFLINE   alhurricane

alhurricane

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 07 August 2013 - 07:33 PM

Can the wireless connection kit be connected to the Genie Client in order to provide internet for the Genie and my other HR24?



#43 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,944 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 August 2013 - 07:59 PM

Can the wireless connection kit be connected to the Genie Client in order to provide internet for the Genie and my other HR24?

yes. the CCK-W can be connected anywhere in the SWM network
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#44 OFFLINE   alhurricane

alhurricane

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 68 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2007

Posted 07 August 2013 - 08:09 PM

yes. the CCK-W can be connected anywhere in the SWM network

Thanks! This makes things easy!



#45 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,944 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 07 August 2013 - 08:14 PM

Thanks! This makes things easy!

Best to place the CCK-W in the room that has the receiver closest to the router, although I recommend a wired solution all the time
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#46 OFFLINE   tgard

tgard

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
  • LocationJersey
Joined: Aug 15, 2013

Posted 20 August 2013 - 09:24 PM

Great post! It all makes sense now.

 

If I wanted to put my new Genie on a larger TV to take advantage of PIP I used to think that it would have to go in another room where the router was. 

 

If my installer ever shows up I will have him put the Genie where the sun don't shine and leave the DECA enabled HR21 alone with the CCK.



#47 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,324 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 August 2013 - 10:50 PM

Sounds like a plan, Stan! 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...