Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Is "Free upgrade to Genie" a good deal?


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pakcyclist

pakcyclist

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2009

Posted 20 July 2013 - 07:16 PM

Just got a letter offering to upgrade my HDDVR -- not sure of model # -- to Genie for free.  (2-year comitment, $20 handling and delivery.)  Sounds like a decent offer.  Is it?  (Main concern is, does this cancel the "2-years for free" HD access thing?)



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 20 July 2013 - 07:30 PM

That is a good deal. It should not affect any promotions that you currently have. You'll like the Genie, especially if you're lucky enough to get a HR44.


- Merg

Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,266 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 July 2013 - 07:50 PM

Yep, I would get right on it...


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,713 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 20 July 2013 - 08:03 PM

I'd do it. One thing though, do you already have SWM (one coax cable going to your DVR)? Do you have any other receivers?



#5 OFFLINE   kaminar

kaminar

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 188 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2012

Posted 21 July 2013 - 04:54 AM

It may very well disrupt the $10/24 discount for HD access, but not necessarily. Does the letter mention anything else, or is it a one-liner? Best to verify with customer service prior to accepting. 800-531-5000 (enter account number, not telephone number..do not include any leading zero's).

 

-=K=-



#6 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 400 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 21 July 2013 - 07:30 AM

I'd do it. One thing though, do you already have SWM (one coax cable going to your DVR)? Do you have any other receivers?

If you have SWM with one coax going to DVR, does that mean you don't need a new dish?



#7 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,285 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 21 July 2013 - 07:42 AM

If you have SWM with one coax going to DVR, does that mean you don't need a new dish?

It means you won't need a new dish, but you may need a new LNB.

#8 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 400 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 21 July 2013 - 07:50 AM

It means you won't need a new dish, but you may need a new LNB.

Thanks for the info. I am more concerned about needing a new dish.



#9 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,285 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 21 July 2013 - 08:06 AM

Thanks for the info. I am more concerned about needing a new dish.

Probably need to move this over to your other thread.

The LNB is attached to the dish. So the installer might still have to access the dish. Depends on exactly what you have now and what you'll end up with in regards to number of tuners.

#10 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 400 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 21 July 2013 - 08:36 AM

Probably need to move this over to your other thread.

The LNB is attached to the dish. So the installer might still have to access the dish. Depends on exactly what you have now and what you'll end up with in regards to number of tuners.

I have 3 TVs. 5 tuners would be enough.



#11 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,285 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 21 July 2013 - 08:47 AM

So a Genie and two minis.  That would only be five tuners and if you have the SMW dish/LNB with one coax, then you should be good.



#12 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 400 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 21 July 2013 - 08:57 AM

So a Genie and two minis.  That would only be five tuners and if you have the SMW dish/LNB with one coax, then you should be good.

I am certainly happy about that! Yes, a Genie and two minis is all I need.



#13 OFFLINE   bpc1097

bpc1097

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2010

Posted 22 July 2013 - 01:19 PM

I can upgrade to the Genie. If I do the self install what are the chances of getting an HR-44, Should I just have Direct Tv  do the install. I live in the Chicago area, so I am told the installers are only installing HR-44 in this area



#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,266 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 02:58 PM

I can upgrade to the Genie. If I do the self install what are the chances of getting an HR-44, Should I just have Direct Tv  do the install. I live in the Chicago area, so I am told the installers are only installing HR-44 in this area

Chances are greater when the tech delvers the Genie to you.


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 OFFLINE   Flugelman

Flugelman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2007

Posted 23 July 2013 - 11:07 AM

Tried again today to upgrade to a Genie for the motorhome. The CSR tried valiantly to get her system to process a self-install, no CCK installation. Was not able to  do it. :bang

 

My concern is that if they roll a truck with a CCK on the work order, he gets here, finds out that he can't install the CCK and leaves with everything. Meanwhile, I'm stuck with paying for a fruitless service call. :nono2:

 

Oh well, I'll try again in a couple of months.


HR34-700

Vizio M321i-A2

Slimline SL3 SWM


#16 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,024 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 23 July 2013 - 02:32 PM

Well, since technically a cck is built into every genie anyway, I would not be surprised if it wasn't on every work order.  I don't see why he'd leave if he couldn't install it.  No different than if he showed up to install three receivers but you said when he got there you only needed two.  I doubt that would cause him to pack up and leave.



#17 OFFLINE   Flugelman

Flugelman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2007

Posted 23 July 2013 - 05:30 PM

Well, since technically a cck is built into every genie anyway, I would not be surprised if it wasn't on every work order.  I don't see why he'd leave if he couldn't install it.  No different than if he showed up to install three receivers but you said when he got there you only needed two.  I doubt that would cause him to pack up and leave.

Yes, I understand all that. I don't need him to come at all. It's the uncertainty of what would transpire when he gets here that has me hesitant to pull the trigger. If I see an installer in the neighborhood in the next few days I'll pick his brain.


HR34-700

Vizio M321i-A2

Slimline SL3 SWM


#18 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,266 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 July 2013 - 06:07 PM

Tried again today to upgrade to a Genie for the motorhome. The CSR tried valiantly to get her system to process a self-install, no CCK installation. Was not able to  do it. :bang

 

My concern is that if they roll a truck with a CCK on the work order, he gets here, finds out that he can't install the CCK and leaves with everything. Meanwhile, I'm stuck with paying for a fruitless service call. :nono2:

 

Oh well, I'll try again in a couple of months.

If the tech leaves, you dont pay anything


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#19 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,266 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 July 2013 - 06:09 PM

Well, since technically a cck is built into every genie anyway, I would not be surprised if it wasn't on every work order.  I don't see why he'd leave if he couldn't install it.  No different than if he showed up to install three receivers but you said when he got there you only needed two.  I doubt that would cause him to pack up and leave.

actually "CCKs" are not built in to any work order.  The WO states that the customer is "eligible" for the CCK.  Eligibility is based on the customer having at least one HDDVR and has never been connected to the Internet using a CCK


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#20 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,266 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 July 2013 - 06:09 PM

actually "CCKs" are not built in to any work order.  The WO states that the customer is "eligible" for the CCK.  Eligibility is based on the customer having at least one HDDVR and has never been connected to the Internet using a CCK


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




spam firewall