Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Lost my spell checker


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,876 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 22 July 2013 - 02:58 PM

A couple days ago my spell checker disappeared.  How do I get it back?  I also lost the grammar checker.  

 

Rich



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 404 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 03:40 PM

A couple days ago my spell checker disappeared.  How do I get it back?  I also lost the grammar checker.  

 

Rich

I didn't know there was a spell checker. I'll wait to see if anyone chimes in here.



#3 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,876 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 22 July 2013 - 05:05 PM

I didn't know there was a spell checker. I'll wait to see if anyone chimes in here.

 

Also a grammar checker.  I thought they came with the new format.  I know I didn't have a grammar checker before the forum changed.

 

Rich



#4 OFFLINE   yosoyellobo

yosoyellobo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,893 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2006

Posted 22 July 2013 - 05:45 PM

Grammar checker. I could that use.

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 22 July 2013 - 05:51 PM

try to post obscenity words and you will get the grammar check right away ;)


Edited by P Smith, 22 July 2013 - 05:52 PM.


#6 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,958 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 22 July 2013 - 06:18 PM

A couple days ago my spell checker disappeared.  How do I get it back?  I also lost the grammar checker.

Spelling and grammar checkers are often a feature of the client-side software. What browser are you using?
  • trh likes this

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#7 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,344 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 22 July 2013 - 06:29 PM

as harsh said, check your browser.  Here is the help info for FireFox: http://support.mozil...x-spell-checker



#8 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 404 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 07:32 PM

as harsh said, check your browser.  Here is the help info for FireFox: http://support.mozil...x-spell-checker

I have Firefox with check spelling enabled, but it's not working.



#9 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,344 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 22 July 2013 - 07:47 PM

Thas is a teast.

 

Mine is working fine. 

Attached Thumbnails

  • SpellCheckerTest.JPG


#10 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 404 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 07:54 PM

Thas is a teast.

 

Mine is working fine. 

And you have Firefox? My spell checker works on other sites, but not this one.



#11 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,344 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 22 July 2013 - 08:08 PM

Firefox 22.0 according to the About Firefox screen.



#12 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 404 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 22 July 2013 - 08:27 PM

Firefox 22.0 according to the About Firefox screen.

That is what I have, and I have spell checking enabled under Options>Advanced, but it isn't working here.



#13 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 22 July 2013 - 09:12 PM

what type of editor you're using ? see an icon above your text, in left top corner



#14 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,605 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 22 July 2013 - 09:12 PM

That is what I have, and I have spell checking enabled under Options>Advanced, but it isn't working here.

I am using Firefox with this post and it is not working for me either. I have the advanced checkbox checked "Check my spelling as I type".


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#15 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,605 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 22 July 2013 - 09:13 PM

That is what I have, and I have spell checking enabled under Options>Advanced, but it isn't working here.

I am using IE 10 now and it is correcting and or underlining misspelled words with the wavy red line.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#16 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 404 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 23 July 2013 - 07:00 AM

I am using IE 10 now and it is correcting and or underlining misspelled words with the wavy red line.

 tried Internet Explorer this morning and it is working fine with spell checking. For some reason we are having the problem with Firefox.



#17 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,020 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 23 July 2013 - 07:23 AM

There's something special we had to do with FF, but I can't remember it.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#18 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,020 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 23 July 2013 - 07:25 AM

Found it...

 

No Spell Check in FIreFox...

 

To correct the problem right click on the text, choose Language and select English dictionary.  It's that simple, i guess by default it is not chosen and IP.Board triggers some oddness with Firefox.


  • Cavicchi likes this
If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#19 OFFLINE   Cavicchi

Cavicchi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 404 posts
  • LocationEffort, PA
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 23 July 2013 - 07:29 AM

Found it...

 

No Spell Check in FIreFox...

 

To correct the problem right click on the text, choose Language and select English dictionary.  It's that simple, i guess by default it is not chosen and IP.Board triggers some oddness with Firefox.

It works! Thank you!



#20 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,876 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 23 July 2013 - 10:54 AM

Spelling and grammar checkers are often a feature of the client-side software. What browser are you using?

 

Chrome.

 

Rich






Protected By... spam firewall...And...