Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Upgrade current Hopper or replace Joey with a Hopper w/Sling?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   4HiMarks

4HiMarks

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,354 posts
  • LocationLaurel, MD
Joined: Jan 21, 2004

Posted 26 July 2013 - 11:47 AM

If I want a Hopper w/Sling and want to stick with a 2 TV setup, is there any reason not to replace my Joey with a Hopper w/Sling instead of swapping out my current Hopper and leaving the Joey as is?   Either way it counts as two recievers, correct? One included in my package and $7 for the 2nd receiver, whether it is a Joey or another Hopper.


Dish subscriber since 2000, HD since 2004.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,046 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 July 2013 - 12:13 PM

count tuners, not TVs - only you know how many simultaneous recordings you want



#3 OFFLINE   thomasjk

thomasjk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 401 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 26 July 2013 - 12:19 PM

The second Hopper is and extra $12/month not 7$.  Joey's are $7/month. So your total will go up by $5 if you replace the Joey with a Hopper.w sling.



#4 OFFLINE   4HiMarks

4HiMarks

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,354 posts
  • LocationLaurel, MD
Joined: Jan 21, 2004

Posted 26 July 2013 - 12:29 PM

The second Hopper is and extra $12/month not 7$.  Joey's are $7/month. So your total will go up by $5 if you replace the Joey with a Hopper.w sling.

When did this change? I was told in January (see Post) they were the same cost.


Dish subscriber since 2000, HD since 2004.

#5 OFFLINE   n0qcu

n0qcu

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,167 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 26 July 2013 - 08:52 PM

When did this change? I was told in January (see Post) they were the same cost.

It changed May 22, 2013


Kevin

3 Hoppers
3 Joeys, all wireless
1 Hopper 2.0
YES, all Hoppers can see the recordings on any Hopper.


#6 OFFLINE   saberfly

saberfly

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2010

Posted 26 July 2013 - 09:56 PM

Is the hopper a direct replacement for a joey? No changes to wiring? Will hopper 2 be able to access hopper 1 recordings? Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337

Edited by saberfly, 26 July 2013 - 09:57 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,046 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 26 July 2013 - 10:11 PM

see diagrams here under Information


Edited by P Smith, 26 July 2013 - 10:14 PM.


#8 OFFLINE   4HiMarks

4HiMarks

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,354 posts
  • LocationLaurel, MD
Joined: Jan 21, 2004

Posted 27 July 2013 - 05:54 AM

So maybe I just buy a standalone Slingbox. What are the disadvantages of that?


Dish subscriber since 2000, HD since 2004.

#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,046 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 July 2013 - 11:02 AM

more money to spend, especially if it HD, taking output from your DVR, other Ethernet line, own power supply (just another point of failure), cables ...



#10 OFFLINE   4HiMarks

4HiMarks

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,354 posts
  • LocationLaurel, MD
Joined: Jan 21, 2004

Posted 02 August 2013 - 01:45 PM

I would actually prefer a one-time, up-front cost over a bleed me dry a little at a time monthly fee forever. Don't the new ones have a HDMI pass-through? Where do I put it in the chain of cables, before or after my A/V receiver?


Dish subscriber since 2000, HD since 2004.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...