Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Upgrade to H24 from H20, HD issues now


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   armoks

armoks

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationClinton,md
Joined: Jul 26, 2013

Posted 26 July 2013 - 02:22 PM

Ok guys a little history, I have a AT9 5 lnb dish on a new upgraded H24 receiver. I've also put a new BBC on it because the old one when bumped would loose signal. Now I only receive half of my HD channels. I only have one of the cheap "Satellite finder" when plugged in the 119,110,101 satellites get 97% signal with the 99, 103 get 0%  when I switch it back to just a barrel out by the dish it picks up 99, 103 and 101 at around 97% with no signal on the 119 and 110.

 

Now is this an alignment issue, BBC, or Dish issue?



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,847 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 26 July 2013 - 02:53 PM

Did you choose the Slimline 5 as your dish in Setup ? I believe it is the one to use in place of the AT9.


Edited by jimmie57, 26 July 2013 - 02:53 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   armoks

armoks

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationClinton,md
Joined: Jul 26, 2013

Posted 26 July 2013 - 03:15 PM

Yep Slimline-5 and Mulitiswich, there is only one receiver in the house and the line runs directly from the LNB to a barrel conector to the BBC to the receiver.



#4 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,129 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 26 July 2013 - 03:19 PM

I'm old and forgetful, but isn't there no need for a BBC on 24s?


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#5 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,585 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 26 July 2013 - 03:33 PM

I believe the BBC is required for the H24.  It's the H23 that doesn't need it.


Edited by jdspencer, 26 July 2013 - 03:34 PM.

DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 July 2013 - 03:40 PM

The H24 needs BBC when is NOT used in SWM
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,847 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 26 July 2013 - 03:40 PM

Yes, the H24 requires it unless you have a SWM LNB.

 

I had an H23 and a HR23 and they had the BBC built into them.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 July 2013 - 04:03 PM

to clarify and use the right terms, the HR23 does not have "built in" BBCs, but rather have wide band tuners.
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   armoks

armoks

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
  • LocationClinton,md
Joined: Jul 26, 2013

Posted 26 July 2013 - 04:03 PM

When I run a system test I get a diagnostic code of 42-189, now with the 97% on either side but with the sat finder attached or not, it doesn't seem like an alignment problem, and I switched back to the old bbc and get the same results. Looks like I need to call Directv and see if they will replace the dish, is that covered under the protection plan? In the 110 LNB there is visible water droplets inside of it through the lens GRRR!



#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 July 2013 - 04:07 PM

water inside the LNB is certainly not a good thing. Yes this would be covered un under the PP
  • armoks likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...