Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How do banner movies work?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Naveb

Naveb

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationKansas
Joined: Jul 07, 2013

Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:21 AM

I have a question about the movie banners that are between channels 125 and 126 that are labeled "Directv Cinema, press select to watch now".  I just recently got a HR21 DVR and these banners are new to me.  I do not have an internet connection on my DVR.  How do these pay per view movies work exactly?  Do these movies reside on my DVR and come active if I decide to watch them?  I understand how the PPV movies that start at Ch 126 and begin every 30 minutes work, but how can these others start at any time?



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,273 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:35 AM

Many of the watch now movies are already stored in a partitioned area of the DVR.   You can't access it for anything else.  They come in via Satellite and are there for your instant viewing.



#3 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,267 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:36 AM

These are stored on a portion of the built in drive and are ready to play at anytime.  If you click on them you will be able to watch the first few minutes of the movie and if you click the OK tab on the screen you will be billed for it and be able to watch the whole movie.


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#4 OFFLINE   Naveb

Naveb

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8 posts
  • LocationKansas
Joined: Jul 07, 2013

Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:40 AM

Thanks for the fast responses.  That's what i thought, but wasn't certain.



#5 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,267 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 28 July 2013 - 10:54 AM

You're welcome.

 

Oh, and Welcome to DBSTalk.


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,380 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 28 July 2013 - 07:18 PM

Just a quick note. in order to be able to watch these movies, you receiver must be connected to a phone line or internet. if the receiver is not, you can try paying via text or using the DirecTV app
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,380 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 July 2013 - 01:48 PM

Just a quick note. in order to be able to watch these movies, you receiver must be connected to a phone line or internet. if the receiver is not, you can try paying via text or using the DirecTV app

Doesn't a land line not connected to the receiver still work?


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,380 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 July 2013 - 09:34 PM

Doesn't a land line not connected to the receiver still work?


"not connected" or you mean connected?
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,380 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 29 July 2013 - 09:57 PM

What I said: not connected to the DVR..


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,380 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 July 2013 - 09:38 AM

Doesn't a land line not connected to the receiver still work?


You mean "connected"
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 30 July 2013 - 10:08 AM

Doesn't a land line not connected to the receiver still work?

If your dvr is not connected by one or the other, you cannot order by remote control.  Impulse PPV is at that point disabled on your account



#12 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,380 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 30 July 2013 - 02:17 PM

If your dvr is not connected by one or the other, you cannot order by remote control.  Impulse PPV is at that point disabled on your account

 

I simply mean, can one not order via telephone? We used to be able to do that, and I'd be surprised if one still couldn't. (Via a land line that is not also connected to any receiver.)


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#13 OFFLINE   D_Art

D_Art

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
  • LocationN. Calif.
Joined: Jul 23, 2013

Posted 30 July 2013 - 03:12 PM

Any way to hide these banners? They can't be filtered in favorites.



#14 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,705 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 30 July 2013 - 05:02 PM

Any way to hide these banners? They can't be filtered in favorites.


They are typically tied to the channel just below them. You'd have to hide that one to make them go away. The block above HBO is hard if you are an HBO customer.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#15 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 30 July 2013 - 07:51 PM

I simply mean, can one not order via telephone? We used to be able to do that, and I'd be surprised if one still couldn't. (Via a land line that is not also connected to any receiver.)

Sure you can, but there is a manually handling fee tacked on to phone ordering..I cant remember how much because it seems silly not to use what you may already have available to save the handling fee. Why pay extra for something you dont need to?



#16 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,380 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 July 2013 - 09:03 PM

If your dvr is not connected by one or the other, you cannot order by remote control. Impulse PPV is at that point disabled on your account


Not quite, you can order (pay) via smartphone app or text
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...