Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk

Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
Guest Message by DevFuse


Moving client from one room to another

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   booboo


    New Member

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2011

Posted 29 July 2013 - 12:03 AM

I have the genie and 2 clients. Outside by the dish I see one connection slot where a coax can be added. Can I add a coax cable to that switch (I guess you call it a switch). That way I can run that coax from the switch to the 3rd bedroom. Then during football season, will it be possible to borrow one of the kids clients to the master bedroom. I don't want a third client because it wouldn't get used any except during football season. I think that describes what I'm trying to ask. I apologize if its a jumbled mess. I'm not sure what I'm asking so I hope someone can see what I'm asking lol. Thanks in advance!

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911


    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,164 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 29 July 2013 - 12:29 AM

What does the label on that "switch" say?  I'm guessing it's actually a SWM Splitter.   If so, then yes, you can run another RG6 coax cable to your 3rd bedroom to use with one of the Genie Clients.  

HD DVRs: HR44 + AM21; HR24
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish

#3 OFFLINE   harsh


    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 21,192 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 29 July 2013 - 12:30 PM

What does the label on the "switch" indicate that it is?

If it were truly a switch (unlikely), it would have at least 12 ports on it.
Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK

#4 OFFLINE   dennisj00


    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 9,665 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 29 July 2013 - 01:02 PM

And be sure to use the terminator that you removed for the new coax to replace at the unused coax inside. . . use a coax 'bullett' - screw terminals on each end.


SWiM splitters come in 2, 4 or 8 ports - it's better to use the smallest possible - and have a green label on them.

We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!

#5 OFFLINE   booboo


    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2011

Posted 29 July 2013 - 02:36 PM

Ok I looked on it. It says on it that it is a "SPLITTER SWM 4 WAY" Has one coax in and 3 out. So I'm guessing from the post on here I'm good to go, to add a 4th coax out to my 3rd bedroom. Thanks again for the replies.

Protected By... spam firewall...And...