Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HR44 wirelessly connected to u-verse 3800HGV-B

HR44 u-verse

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 30 July 2013 - 05:40 PM

Has anybody been successful in connecting a HR44 to a u-verse 3800HGV-B modem/router wirelessly and not have problems streaming data? In other words do not get DVR is busy and cannot stream at this time. If so was there anything out of ordinary that you were required to do in the 3800HGV-B modem/router.



#2 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,218 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 30 July 2013 - 06:41 PM

Has anybody been successful in connecting a HR44 to a u-verse 3800HGV-B modem/router wirelessly and not have problems streaming data? In other words do not get DVR is busy and cannot stream at this time. If so was there anything out of ordinary that you were required to do in the 3800HGV-B modem/router.


Can you give us an exact example of what your trying to do. There's multiple scenarios where that could come up.

#3 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,312 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 30 July 2013 - 06:46 PM

Are you able to connect via wire, and does the problem persist? 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#4 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,260 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 30 July 2013 - 06:53 PM

Streaming data in home or out of home?

 

And to what devices?



#5 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 30 July 2013 - 07:11 PM

GenieGo connected to a 2wire router (3800HGV- B).
Genie DVR HR44 connected wirelessly.
With laptop when trying to stream a show from a HR44 through a geniego, it says DVR is busy and cannot stream at this time.
So what I am asking has anybody streamed(watch now) successfully when the geniego is involved.
Also preparing doesn't ever prepares just hangs on preparing.

#6 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 30 July 2013 - 08:21 PM

Are you able to connect via wire, and does the problem persist?

Yes and No

#7 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 30 July 2013 - 08:22 PM

Streaming data in home or out of home?
 
And to what devices?

IH Laptop

#8 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,260 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 30 July 2013 - 08:32 PM

Yes and No

 

So it works by wired connections?

if so, that's similar to a problem I had once with the GenieGO hardware.

 

When the HR44 was wirelessly connected, I had periodic GenieGo messages that a HD DVR disconnected from the network.

I converted my system to DECA wired and disabled the HR44 wireless and all problems disappeared.

 

Seems like Genie likes 100% wired connections for the DVR connectivity and Streaming. 



#9 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,218 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 31 July 2013 - 06:20 AM

My HR44 works fine both wired and wirelessly with the same ATT two-wire router. And the GenieGo works fine too, both inside and outside the home.



#10 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,312 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 31 July 2013 - 09:10 AM

Tex-

 

That's always good to hear. I've just had my U-verse modem swapped out due to the previous Motorola box being flakey. I'll go back to testing wireless here in a few days. Both systems will usually work just fine for most folk.... But the wireless for me, is just to test. I prefer wired over wireless; the wireless signals sometimes penetrate my aluminum foil beanie.  :)


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#11 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 31 July 2013 - 09:30 AM

My HR44 works fine both wired and wirelessly with the same ATT two-wire router. And the GenieGo works fine too, both inside and outside the home.

That's good to hear. One question though. Where there any settings you had to set in the 2wire for in Home? I know port forwarding is required for Outside of Home.
I see another case where a person has the same problem with their HR44. He also has a HR24 and it works just fine. Something just doesn't make sense. The HR24 has no problem using the HR44's wireless connection, but the HR44 does.

Edited by Lawood, 31 July 2013 - 09:36 AM.


#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,309 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 31 July 2013 - 04:51 PM

That's good to hear. One question though. Where there any settings you had to set in the 2wire for in Home? I know port forwarding is required for Outside of Home.
I see another case where a person has the same problem with their HR44. He also has a HR24 and it works just fine. Something just doesn't make sense. The HR24 has no problem using the HR44's wireless connection, but the HR44 does.


No there are no settings to change for "in-home"
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,218 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 31 July 2013 - 04:57 PM

Are the whole home settings for external device on your HR44 all set to "allow"?



#14 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 31 July 2013 - 05:50 PM

Are the whole home settings for external device on your HR44 all set to "allow"?

Yes





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: HR44, u-verse

Protected By... spam firewall...And...