Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Still having SAT 119 issues.


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hotshot187

hotshot187

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
  • LocationWebster, NY
Joined: Jul 10, 2013

Posted 30 July 2013 - 06:54 PM

Hello all,

 

 

Directv sent me a D12 Receiver today thinking that might solve my issue with not picking up 119.  Anyways I activated the D12 and used 3 lnb as my dish type and while configuring the dish I got an error saying 119 was not working with and red X on odd and evens.  So what I decided to do was go back to dish type and I selected 3 lnb with 72.5 and now 119 comes in with signal strengths off over 90, but when I tune to my locals channel 13 which WHAM here in Rochester NY it wasn't the right channel it was LINKTV.  Never heard of it.  So I try come other locals channel 10 which is WHEC and it says you are not subscribed.  So my guess is when I changed the dish type to 3LNB with 72.5 it wasn't picking up my locals because it was coming from another sat.  Now if it was a LOS issue why would 119 come in with 90+ signals on 3lnb + 72.5 and why doesn't it work with just 3LNB? So im still having the same problems I am unable to get my local channels.  I guess I don't get why 119 signals will come in with DISH TYPE set to 3lnb+ 72.5 and it won't come in at all with just 3 LNB dish type.


Edited by hotshot187, 30 July 2013 - 07:38 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,103 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 30 July 2013 - 09:05 PM

Those aren't the 119 signals, it's because when you set the dish type to 3lnb plus 72.5 the receiver is expecting two dishes, and the signals are all mapped to the wrong satellite.

Do you actually have a 3lnb dish?



#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,720 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 July 2013 - 09:07 PM

Note that in Roschester NY the 119 is very low (in comparison to the 101) on the horizon so it could be that you are having LOS issues
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   hotshot187

hotshot187

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
  • LocationWebster, NY
Joined: Jul 10, 2013

Posted 30 July 2013 - 09:32 PM

Yeah its a phase 3 dish.  I have had it since 2003 with a hughes director pack receiver.  It worked great for ten years but it does seem the neighbors tree could now be in the way.  My dish is pole mounted so it looks like I will have to move it.  I am not even sure I can dig it out. lol


Edited by hotshot187, 30 July 2013 - 09:33 PM.


#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,720 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 July 2013 - 09:37 PM

Yeah its a phase 3 dish. I have had it since 2003 with a hughes director pack receiver. It worked great for ten years but it does seem the neighbors tree could now be in the way. My dish is pole mounted so it looks like I will have to move it. I am not even sure I can dig it out. lol

dont dig it out, just cut it and call DirecTV to have it relocated.
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,857 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 30 July 2013 - 10:33 PM

and check to what sat belong your channels in sticky Gary Toma's thread



#7 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,041 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 31 July 2013 - 05:55 AM

and check to what sat belong your channels in sticky Gary Toma's thread

In the TS' case with a P.III dish, the SD locals for the Rochester, NY., market are on 119 SB tp, 31.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#8 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,566 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 31 July 2013 - 11:05 AM

It seems that the TS will need to relocated his dish.  He might as well take this opportunity to upgrade to HD with the Slimline SL5 dish.


DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#9 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,219 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 31 July 2013 - 11:10 AM

'Zackly! 

And to the OP- enjoy, what a great opportunity to upgrade! 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#10 OFFLINE   hotshot187

hotshot187

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
  • LocationWebster, NY
Joined: Jul 10, 2013

Posted 31 July 2013 - 11:59 AM

That sounds like a good idea to me. New dish with hd.

#11 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,857 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 July 2013 - 01:23 PM

check if your bill will go up



#12 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,219 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 31 July 2013 - 01:29 PM

Our man hotshot wasn't born yesterday; of course costs go up when you upgrade equipment. S.O.P. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#13 OFFLINE   ejbvt

ejbvt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 444 posts
  • LocationCentral NC
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 31 July 2013 - 05:53 PM

Autopay = free HD if you get the right CSR.

No HD DVR = no DVR fee.

 

Why would the bill go up if those things that all that change? If the OP upgrades to HD and doesn't have the Spanish package, the 119 becomes irrellevant...


DIRECTV: Genie (HR34) w/AM21 and 1 client.
AT&T: U-Verse Internet, Motorola modem and Samsung Galaxy S3 cell.
LG 42" (1080p, 120 Hz, 3D, Smart TV), Samsung 32" (1080p, 60 Hz)
Denon AVR591, Panasonic Blu Ray, Magnavox DVD player, Philips VCR, Terk HDTVo.


#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,720 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 31 July 2013 - 06:43 PM

Autopay = free HD if you get the right CSR.
No HD DVR = no DVR fee.

Why would the bill go up if those things that all that change? If the OP upgrades to HD and doesn't have the Spanish package, the 119 becomes irrellevant...


Not the case, there are some SD locals that comes from the 119.
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,929 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 31 July 2013 - 07:01 PM

Not the case, there are some SD locals that comes from the 119.

And in the case of Rochester, their CW affiliate is SD only from 119.

In addition to several English P/I channels, depending on your package you can also get mun2 and CCTV News. There's also several music channels that are only available with 119 like Piano, Jazz, PUMP!, Holidays and Happenings if you want it outside of Christmas and others.

#16 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 01 August 2013 - 05:30 PM

And in the case of Rochester, their CW affiliate is SD only from 119.

In addition to several English P/I channels, depending on your package you can also get mun2 and CCTV News. There's also several music channels that are only available with 119 like Piano, Jazz, PUMP!, Holidays and Happenings if you want it outside of Christmas and others.

 

Right!  I listen to the music channels all the time that are on the 119 (Rat Pack, Groove Lounge, Jazz, Metro Blend, Great Standards, Pump!, and Familiar Favorites)  I especially like Jazz and Familiar Favorites.  In addition, during the Christmas season Familiar Favorites plays a holiday tune every other selection.

 

Instead of wasting money calling DirecTV (and getting stuck with a new 2 year commitment) I'd just find another location for the Phase III dish and move it yourself.  I installed my Phase III dish myself and it's not hard at all.  The simple step-by-step instructions are even available on the DirecTV web site in a PDF file.


3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K





Protected By... spam firewall...And...