Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

how do I get it to "skip", again . . . ?


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pakcyclist

pakcyclist

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Aug 13, 2009

Posted 03 August 2013 - 07:06 PM

Just got the free upgrade to Genie.  (Wow! Works a lot faster than my HR22!)  I know I have to do something to get it to instantly "skip" ahead 30 seconds -- rather than "fast forwarding".  (If those are the correct terms.)  How do I do that?



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 03 August 2013 - 07:07 PM

Do a smart search for "30SKIP" without the quotation marks
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 03 August 2013 - 07:08 PM

and do the "30SLIP" to go back to defaults
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#4 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,153 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 03 August 2013 - 07:24 PM

Make sure you do the red button search - for all results. And it will display no results but it works!


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#5 OFFLINE   booboo

booboo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 74 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2011

Posted 04 August 2013 - 10:07 PM

I can't believe I didn't know about this feature. As long as I've been a D subscriber and this great feature has always eluded me. This is one of many reasons I love DBSTALK!
B00BOO

#6 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 08 August 2013 - 05:07 PM

On the Genie does it revert to SLIP if the receiver is reset or powered down like it does on some other DVR's?


3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#7 OFFLINE   Stevies3

Stevies3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jul 22, 2004

Posted 08 August 2013 - 05:13 PM

What is the difference between the two?

-------------------------

DirecTV since 1996

1 x HR44
1 x H24
2 x HR24

3 x RVU
SWM16

AU9-SL3


#8 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 08 August 2013 - 05:18 PM

What is the difference between the two?

 

SLIP is like fast-forwarding a tape.  You see the picture moving at several times the regular speed with the sound cut off.  SKIP INSTANTLY jumps ahead 30 seconds.  You don't see anything in-between before and after you press the button.


3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#9 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,153 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 08 August 2013 - 05:30 PM

On the Genie does it revert to SLIP if the receiver is reset or powered down like it does on some other DVR's?


Mine never has. Sometimes it does after a firmware update. But only rarely.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using DBSTalk mobile app


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 August 2013 - 09:07 PM

On the Genie does it revert to SLIP if the receiver is reset or powered down like it does on some other DVR's?

Not on mine either. it has gone through numerous software updates and is still holding
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   JohnBoy

JohnBoy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 253 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2011

Posted 08 August 2013 - 09:31 PM

I just tried the 30skip trick ,it was nice but it did not let me add to it like 30slip does.

 

Like when I watch a program and just about when the commercials are about to cut in I hit the 30slip x 7 and it usually skips through the whole commercial set,give or take a second or two.I could not do that with 30skip enabled.


Mas Ultra Package + NFL ST MAX (Go Bills) MLB Xtra innings (Go Yankees)
1  Genie HR 44 - 700
3   Mini Genie C41 - 100
1 AM21 OTA Tuner

#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 August 2013 - 09:32 PM

I just tried the 30skip trick ,it was nice but it did not let me add to it like 30slip does.

Like when I watch a program and just about when the commercials are about to cut in I hit the 30slip x 7 and it usually skips through the whole commercial set,give or take a second or two.I could not do that with 30skip enabled.

Sure, I do SKIP x 6 and it advances 3 minutes in like 5 seconds
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,153 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 08 August 2013 - 09:40 PM

Sure, I do SKIP x 6 and it advances 3 minutes in like 5 seconds

Ditto.  I love 30 skip!


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 August 2013 - 09:42 PM

Ditto. I love 30 skip!

Many folks complain about the "fall back" of FFW, but I never see this issue because I always use 30SKIP
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,779 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 August 2013 - 05:54 AM

I just tried the 30skip trick ,it was nice but it did not let me add to it like 30slip does.

 

Like when I watch a program and just about when the commercials are about to cut in I hit the 30slip x 7 and it usually skips through the whole commercial set,give or take a second or two.I could not do that with 30skip enabled.

 

You can stack Skips just like you stack Slips. 


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#16 OFFLINE   JohnBoy

JohnBoy

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 253 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2011

Posted 09 August 2013 - 07:00 AM

You can stack Skips just like you stack Slips. 

It doesn't show you the stack amount under the play icon like it does with slip.

 

With slip i can actually see the number of times (ie.x7) I want it to jump ahead.I found myself guessing and doubting with skip if I hit the numbered amount of skip that I wanted due to not being able to see the number under the play icon.


Mas Ultra Package + NFL ST MAX (Go Bills) MLB Xtra innings (Go Yankees)
1  Genie HR 44 - 700
3   Mini Genie C41 - 100
1 AM21 OTA Tuner

#17 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,779 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 August 2013 - 08:30 AM

It doesn't show you the stack amount under the play icon like it does with slip.

 

With slip i can actually see the number of times (ie.x7) I want it to jump ahead.I found myself guessing and doubting with skip if I hit the numbered amount of skip that I wanted due to not being able to see the number under the play icon.

 

Nope, it doesn't show you the stack amount.  That's because with a skip the progress bar isn't supposed to be there at all, at least it's not on the HR2X series.  My general rule of thumb is to hit skip 5 times for a commercial break, 2.5 minutes, and see where I land.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#18 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,922 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 09 August 2013 - 12:43 PM

On the Genie does it revert to SLIP if the receiver is reset or powered down like it does on some other DVR's?

 

It hasn't on either of mine, and I've reset them dozens of times. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#19 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,174 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 August 2013 - 04:38 PM

I just count them
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#20 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,985 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 12 August 2013 - 03:29 AM

Since skip is basically instant you are stacking them

 

And skip sticks for reboots.  All the Hx anything does.  it didn't once ages ago when there was a bug but that was fixed years ago.






spam firewall