Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How do I find out my genieGo's ip address


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 05 August 2013 - 04:11 PM

I think I know what it is, but how can I verify via the app or another way?



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,577 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 05 August 2013 - 04:16 PM

Yup. Under Settings, System Info in the app is one way.

 

Another way is look for your GenieGo's MAC address (on the bottom label) and check your router's DHCP table to see which IP address that MAC was assigned.


/steve

#3 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 05 August 2013 - 06:53 PM

I don't see system setting in the app.

#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,756 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 05 August 2013 - 07:35 PM

I don't see system setting in the app.

Which app are you using?
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#5 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,316 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 05 August 2013 - 10:32 PM

On the iPhone/iPad and PC app, near the top right corner there are two icons. One is Settings (gear icon); other is the Help ("?" icon).

 

Click on the Help icon and then System Info.



#6 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,248 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 05 August 2013 - 11:42 PM

Your router should report in its friendly name, which in my household contains the word, "nomad", the original name of GenieGo


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#7 OFFLINE   Steve

Steve

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,577 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2006

Posted 06 August 2013 - 04:57 AM

Depends on the router software. Some report friendly names, some don't. Mine just reports the MAC address.

 

OTOH, my router reports (and respects) any static IP addresses it finds on my LAN. Many routers only report DHCP assigned addresses.


/steve

#8 ONLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,499 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 06 August 2013 - 06:10 AM

Help, Sys Info on all three of my clients -- IOS, PC, Mac.  No androids in the house.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#9 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 06 August 2013 - 11:00 AM

Now I found it! Thanks

#10 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,248 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 06 August 2013 - 11:58 AM

Depends on the router software. Some report friendly names, some don't. Mine just reports the MAC address.

 

OTOH, my router reports (and respects) any static IP addresses it finds on my LAN. Many routers only report DHCP assigned addresses.

 

Ah, the error of generalizing based on my experience with the last five routers I've had- two Netgear, two supplied by ATT U-verse, and an Apple Airport.  I guess my statement stands for some meanings of "should". :)

 

I can't imagine a router that would diss a fixed IP on one's owned network, not one that cost more than $40 in the last five years, but don't doubt that they exist. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...