Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD DVRs, Receivers, and R22 0x0736 - Issues/Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
121 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 19 August 2013 - 11:45 AM

So, you leave out EVENTS?  I'll give that a try, even though, as you note, the receiver will try to schedule non-live programs.  If you try adding EVENTS, that would help determine if that keyword is a problem.  As I mentioned, the really noticeable delay took a couple of weeks to develop.

 

Edit:  Actually, leaving out EVENTS as a keyword resulted in a lot of pre-game and post-game shows which I don't get (MLBEI).  So, I'll try this:

AALL WHITE SOX CCHANS 665 666 & Show Types, Events

AALL WHITE SOX CCHANS 307 & Sports, Baseball

 

Yes, I have events turned off because I typically like to record Pre and Post-Game shows and I think I miss them if I do "EVENTS" in the search.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#42 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,348 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 19 August 2013 - 12:10 PM

Hello, I am recently new to the forum and have a quick question, I see that there is a new national release for my h21-100. Yesterday, I tried to force the box to update, it downloaded software but when I went into the menu to see the version it was the same that I had previously. Can anyone help me with getting the latest firmware? Thank you and your assistance is greatly appreciated.

 

Welcome to DBSTalk! And, what jimmie said! 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#43 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,255 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 20 August 2013 - 12:40 AM

So, you leave out EVENTS?  I'll give that a try, even though, as you note, the receiver will try to schedule non-live programs.  If you try adding EVENTS, that would help determine if that keyword is a problem.  As I mentioned, the really noticeable delay took a couple of weeks to develop.

 

Edit:  Actually, leaving out EVENTS as a keyword resulted in a lot of pre-game and post-game shows which I don't get (MLBEI).  So, I'll try this:

AALL WHITE SOX CCHANS 665 666 & Show Types, Events

AALL WHITE SOX CCHANS 307 & Sports, Baseball

 

Well, I have about 20 and I use events in everyone of mine and I am not experiencing your issue, so I don't think its exclusive to events.  HDTV was a known issue causer, events is not as of yet....



#44 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,465 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 20 August 2013 - 03:03 AM

It was also stupid to remove the dash-dash delete but I guess the hit the red button twice patch to appease irked customers is alright.

 

To add to that, the red--red shortcut to delete hasn't made its way to the Genie's software...yet.


List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV   DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 8am-1am ET)   DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)
 
DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25 ($30 with HBO) | 3=$35 ($40 with HBO) | 4=$43 ($48 with HBO) | All 5=$55 per month 
 
My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#45 OFFLINE   mfeinstein

mfeinstein

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 325 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2007

Posted 20 August 2013 - 07:15 AM

I have 3 HD DVRs that all received 0x0736 a few days ago and seem to be working fine.  My H21-200 HD receiver received 0x4736 last night and is not working.  It boots up and starts playing the current channel.  But, within a couple of minutes, the unit freezes and no longer responds to the remote or the front panel buttons.  It does keep playing the current channel but is otherwise frozen.  I did a couple of red button resets, but the behavior continued.  I forced a re-download of 0x4736, but nothing changed.  Is there some way to do a deeper level reset or something else I can try before I call DirecTV support?

 

Update: I called DirecTV support and, after troubleshooting for a time, they decided to replace the receiver.


Edited by mfeinstein, 20 August 2013 - 08:03 AM.


#46 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,843 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 20 August 2013 - 12:07 PM

I have 3 HD DVRs that all received 0x0736 a few days ago and seem to be working fine.  My H21-200 HD receiver received 0x4736 last night and is not working.  It boots up and starts playing the current channel.  But, within a couple of minutes, the unit freezes and no longer responds to the remote or the front panel buttons.  It does keep playing the current channel but is otherwise frozen.  I did a couple of red button resets, but the behavior continued.  I forced a re-download of 0x4736, but nothing changed.  Is there some way to do a deeper level reset or something else I can try before I call DirecTV support?

 

Update: I called DirecTV support and, after troubleshooting for a time, they decided to replace the receiver.

An UNPLUG for about a 15 minute to an hour period of time does seem to get more done than a reset. You could try it since it is already going to be replaced.

 

I just checked and my son got that software this morning at 3:15 am on his H21-200 and it is working good.

 

I also got this on my 2 HR24s and they are working good.

So far, no complaints.


Edited by jimmie57, 20 August 2013 - 12:10 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#47 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • Registered
  • 8,356 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 20 August 2013 - 05:09 PM

This latest version has made my HR24-500 slower than molasses in January! Ugh!!! It is now the single WORST receiver I have, and that's saying a lot, considering I have HR20-700s (2), an HR20-100, and some HR21s, HR22s, and an HR23. My HR24-200 is working fine. It's the damn -500 that is abysmal. I seriously want to drop kick the stupid thing out the window, but even THAT would probably not work!


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#48 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 20 August 2013 - 07:15 PM

This latest version has made my HR24-500 slower than molasses in January! Ugh!!! It is now the single WORST receiver I have, and that's saying a lot, considering I have HR20-700s (2), an HR20-100, and some HR21s, HR22s, and an HR23. My HR24-200 is working fine. It's the damn -500 that is abysmal. I seriously want to drop kick the stupid thing out the window, but even THAT would probably not work!

 

Do you have Keyword Autorecords such as one that starts with "AALL" in it?  If so, try removing them and see if that helps speed up your receiver.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#49 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • Registered
  • 8,356 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 20 August 2013 - 07:37 PM

Nope. I don't have any of that. In fact, I don't even have that many series manager recordings set.

Sent from my EVO LTE using DBSTalk mobile app


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#50 OFFLINE   GordonT

GordonT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2007

Posted 20 August 2013 - 10:01 PM

2 Questions that I have not seen asked/answered in this thread:

  • What is the 'real' number of this release? The title says 0x0736; so far I have 0x4736 on an H21-100 and 0x736 on an H24-100. Neither of my HR24's have been updated yet.
  • What is the meaning of 'HD Apps' which is the only new feature mentioned in the Release thread?


#51 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,843 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 21 August 2013 - 04:51 AM

 

2 Questions that I have not seen asked/answered in this thread:

  • What is the 'real' number of this release? The title says 0x0736; so far I have 0x4736 on an H21-100 and 0x736 on an H24-100. Neither of my HR24's have been updated yet.
  • What is the meaning of 'HD Apps' which is the only new feature mentioned in the Release thread?

 

I just got the 0x4736 on my son's H21-200

and

0x736 on both of my HR24-100 receivers


Edited by jimmie57, 21 August 2013 - 04:52 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#52 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,337 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 21 August 2013 - 07:07 AM

 

  • What is the meaning of 'HD Apps' which is the only new feature mentioned in the Release thread?

 

Now the graphics on the apps are HD.  but the app store along with its apps has been removed.  There are only 4 apps


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#53 OFFLINE   ScottP

ScottP

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2011

Posted 21 August 2013 - 07:55 AM

Got this on my HR24-200 overnight, and instead of being up and ready to go this morning, the receiver was completely off. Had to wait for it to boot up when I hit the power button. Never had that happen before.



#54 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,348 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 21 August 2013 - 08:34 AM

I've got five, and I love the weather app and the clearer graphics.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#55 OFFLINE   phodg

phodg

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2007

Posted 21 August 2013 - 09:02 AM

This release has played havoc with my DVRs. As usual, the guide was wrecked (and not refilling) and I had to restart twice to flush it. On one of my HR21s, the guide filled in as it should. On my other HR21 and my HR23, the guide won't fill in even after a couple of days. Almost every channel from 201 upwards is "To Be Announced" and nothing is recording. I've tried to RBR twice as well without any difference.

At this stage I'm a 15+ year customer who's sick of paying $155 a month for a product that I can't use. I'm this close to cancelling the lot.


Edited by phodg, 21 August 2013 - 09:02 AM.


#56 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • Registered
  • 8,356 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 21 August 2013 - 09:05 AM

This release is so bad, I'm considering disconnecting my HR24 and telling DirecTV to replace it with a model of equal or better quality. Every morning when I turn the thing on to listen to one of the music channels while getting dressed, I have to do a RBR because the damn thing is "stuck". The music channel to which I want to listen is dead silent, and changing channels isn't successful. It's a frickin' mess!


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#57 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,843 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 21 August 2013 - 09:06 AM

This release has played havoc with my DVRs. As usual, the guide was wrecked (and not refilling) and I had to restart twice to flush it. On one of my HR21s, the guide filled in as it should. On my other HR21 and my HR23, the guide won't fill in even after a couple of days. Almost every channel from 201 upwards is "To Be Announced" and nothing is recording. I've tried to RBR twice as well without any difference.

At this stage I'm a 15+ year customer who's sick of paying $155 a month for a product that I can't use. I'm this close to cancelling the lot.

You might try unplugging the 2 bad one for overnight before you go to bed and then plug them back up in the morning. Once in awhile that works for this kind of problem according to a few posts I have read.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#58 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,843 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 21 August 2013 - 09:08 AM

This release is so bad, I'm considering disconnecting my HR24 and telling DirecTV to replace it with a model of equal or better quality. Every morning when I turn the thing on to listen to one of the music channels while getting dressed, I have to do a RBR because the damn thing is "stuck". The music channel to which I want to listen is dead silent, and changing channels isn't successful. It's a frickin' mess!

Have you tried connecting the TV with a set of Component cables ? The HDMI might not be doing the handshake until it gets the spike from the RBR.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#59 OFFLINE   phodg

phodg

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2007

Posted 21 August 2013 - 09:15 AM

You might try unplugging the 2 bad one for overnight before you go to bed and then plug them back up in the morning. Once in awhile that works for this kind of problem according to a few posts I have read.

 

Thanks. I'll give it a shot.



#60 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,348 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 21 August 2013 - 09:24 AM

RBRing twice won't do it (Flush guide) unless you wait long enough for it to start up from the first reboot. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...