Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

SWM-16 Question


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   compnurd

compnurd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,146 posts
  • LocationEvans City PA
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 09 August 2013 - 12:39 PM

OK  So I am installing a new system shortly and procuring my equipment.  I had planned to have 8 Tuners...  but with the cost of some items I can get a SWM16 for like 20 bucks more and I am future proof...

 

So two questions...

 

One with the two SWM Ports on the 16 bridge the DECA connection?  So If I plug the DECA connection into one of the 8 ports on the 1 side..  if I add another splitter on the other SWM later..  will it see that?

 

Also. Since I have to change the LNB to the 4 port version...  will a receiver still work with 1 of those connections so i can aim the dish?  or do i now need to be coming off the 16?


SWM-16
HR44
2-C-41
HR24
2-H25


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,097 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 09 August 2013 - 12:45 PM

OK  So I am installing a new system shortly and procuring my equipment.  I had planned to have 8 Tuners...  but with the cost of some items I can get a SWM16 for like 20 bucks more and I am future proof...

 

So two questions...

 

One with the two SWM Ports on the 16 bridge the DECA connection?  So If I plug the DECA connection into one of the 8 ports on the 1 side..  if I add another splitter on the other SWM later..  will it see that?

 

Also. Since I have to change the LNB to the 4 port version...  will a receiver still work with 1 of those connections so i can aim the dish?  or do i now need to be coming off the 16?

#1, yes the two internal SWiM8's are bridged to both sides DECA networks can see each other.

 

#2, yes to that question also, a receiver connected to only one port on the 4 port LNB will work for aiming.


See post My Setup for configuration info.


#3 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,240 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 09 August 2013 - 08:27 PM

But once you are done aligning, you need to run all 4 lines into the inputs of the SWM16 (assume you realized that, just wanted to point out the obvious to be safe).



#4 OFFLINE   compnurd

compnurd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,146 posts
  • LocationEvans City PA
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 10 August 2013 - 06:18 AM

But once you are done aligning, you need to run all 4 lines into the inputs of the SWM16 (assume you realized that, just wanted to point out the obvious to be safe).

I did thx..  Will say an H25 power that LNB while doing this or will i need the PI also connected?


SWM-16
HR44
2-C-41
HR24
2-H25


#5 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,273 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 10 August 2013 - 06:29 AM

SWM systems need a PI

#6 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,097 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 10 August 2013 - 07:05 AM

I did thx..  Will say an H25 power that LNB while doing this or will i need the PI also connected?


For just connecting the H25 by itself to align the dish you don't need a PI, but once you connect the SWiM16 to it then you'll need a PI for the SWiM16, the SWiM16 then powers the LNB.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 August 2013 - 07:06 AM

I did thx.. Will say an H25 power that LNB while doing this or will i need the PI also connected?

No, the H25 cannot be connected to a "legacy" four ports LNB as is only SWM compatible
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 August 2013 - 07:07 AM

For just connecting the H25 by itself to align the dish you don't need a PI, but once you connect the SWiM16 to it then you'll need a PI for the SWiM16, the SWiM16 then powers the LNB.

See post above ^^^^. H25 cannot be connected "stand alone" to a legacy LNB
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#9 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,097 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 10 August 2013 - 07:10 AM

See post above ^^^^. H25 cannot be connected "stand alone" to a legacy LNB


Thanks for the correction, don't have a H25 and forgot about that.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#10 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 August 2013 - 07:13 AM

Thanks for the correction, don't have a H25 and forgot about that.

No problem :). I knew you knew. did not want to confused the TS
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#11 OFFLINE   compnurd

compnurd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,146 posts
  • LocationEvans City PA
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 10 August 2013 - 07:22 AM

No problem :). I knew you knew. did not want to confused the TS

Ok Is there something I can connect to the legacy LNB to aim the dish before hooking up the SWM16  like an HR24


Edited by compnurd, 10 August 2013 - 07:24 AM.

SWM-16
HR44
2-C-41
HR24
2-H25


#12 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 August 2013 - 07:23 AM

Ok Is there something I can connect to the legacy LNB to aim the dish before hooking up the SWM16

any receiver that is not an H25 or HR34/44 or client for that matter
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#13 OFFLINE   compnurd

compnurd

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,146 posts
  • LocationEvans City PA
Joined: Apr 23, 2007

Posted 10 August 2013 - 07:33 AM

any receiver that is not an H25 or HR34/44 or client for that matter

Ok so it looks like I can use an HR24 with a Bband converter   


SWM-16
HR44
2-C-41
HR24
2-H25


#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,367 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 10 August 2013 - 11:36 AM

Ok so it looks like I can use an HR24 with a Bband converter

yes
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




Protected By... spam firewall...And...