Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Simple question about DPP44 Switch and splitters


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kensikora

kensikora

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2010

Posted 12 August 2013 - 04:46 PM

I have an installation that has dpp44 switches with a single cable from the switch to an apartment.  I have a single 311 receiver. 

 

The apartment has 2 or 3 rooms, depending.  Each room has a wall plate with a coax running to a box where the single coax cable comes in to the apartment. 

 

Can I put a splitter in that box so the customer can move the 311 receiver from room to room.

 

So it would look like this:

 

______

DPP44

______

    |

    |

    |

splitter   ----------  Wall Plate 1

 |    |__________ Wall Plate 2

 |_____________Wall Plate 3

 

Note:  there is only one (1) 311 receiver.  We just want them to be able to move it from room to room!

 

Thanks!!!!

 

Ken    

  



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,087 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 12 August 2013 - 05:14 PM

 get a 'barrel' (F81) and just direct wire at cover plate #1 when using receiver in rooms 2 or 3.

 

or maybe better, leave 311 in room one, wire a 2 way splitter to the RF channel 3/4 output (they still have that on a 311 ??) and connect rooms 2 and 3 to the splitter.

 

311 is an SD box, no point in moving it, picture quality is scarcely degraded that way.

 

Dish has (or had) a RF remote accessory or you can go to Radio Shack (or Monoprice) and get the 'cones'.



#3 OFFLINE   kensikora

kensikora

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2010

Posted 13 August 2013 - 07:52 AM

Presently we have an F81 barrel directing the line to the wall plate in the living room.  The building owner wants the tenants to be able to plug the receiver into any room. 

 

One tech said that there are 2 issues:

 

1.  Reflection:  if the other ends on the wall plates are not terminated with a 75 ohm resistor there could be signal reflection.

 

2.  Signal loss:  the splitter will have some signal loss. 

 

 

Thanks!

 

Ken



#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 August 2013 - 09:14 AM

general rule - no splitting sat signals, use only switches

 

so, you must pull another cables from DPP44 to wall plates or switch panel



#5 OFFLINE   kensikora

kensikora

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2010

Posted 13 August 2013 - 11:09 AM

We can't pull another cable.  If the distance from the DPP44 switch to the apartment is generally well under 200 ft.  If we have to use a 3 way splitter, which one would you reccommend? 



#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 August 2013 - 11:29 AM

no one;

 

the rule is: no sat's splitters !



#7 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 655 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 31 August 2013 - 05:10 PM

If you tried it, use some very high frequency splitters, 2hz to 2ghz.  and test, test, test.  I don't think it will work well but who knows.  The 44 switch stacks the frequencies ontop of each other to get 2 tuners on 1 cable, an splitting it would really affect that functionality.  However, with the Dp44 switch, you can daisy chain mulitple switches together.  The general limit is 3 but since the 44 is powered, I believe you can go beyond 3.  so 4 switches would give you 16 locations, just make sure every drop has a nipple (75ohm terminator).


http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......


#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 August 2013 - 05:38 PM

just make sure every drop has a nipple (75ohm terminator)

total mistake;

I know where you came from ... it's DTV splitters has the term caps, not active Dish DP/DPP switches



#9 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,726 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 01 September 2013 - 07:37 PM

Using DPP44's was NOT the way to do what you're asking - what you probably need is the MDU setup available from Dish (and a totally different department).


You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html




spam firewall