Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

AM21 prices


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jclewter79

jclewter79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,827 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 15 August 2013 - 05:15 AM

Hello guys and gals. I am very serious about jumping ship and coming over to the D* side. I have a few questions and though I would ask ya'll while I have to wait until 7am to call D* myself. First of all should I be able to get an AM21 included for free with a 3 room genie install and, also can 2 AM21s be hooked up to 1 HR34 for a total of 4 ota tuners? If so should I be able to get both for free? Also should I be able to get a ground level pole mounted install for no extra charge? Thank ya'll in advance for the help.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using DBSTalk mobile app


Dish Customer since 12/13/03
Leased 722 DVR (Under contract until 08/02/10?)
(The installer had me sign an exsisting customer 18 month agreement!)
Owned 301 (Purchased at Wal-Mart 12/12/03)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,812 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 15 August 2013 - 05:22 AM

You can connect only one AM21 to a Genie. Prices for the requirement will vary. Free is possible but no exact way to predict.

Some phone reps dont know what an AM21 is so you may need to call more than once.

#3 OFFLINE   jclewter79

jclewter79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,827 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 15 August 2013 - 05:28 AM

Ok thank you for the info. I wish there was an option to add the AM21 for the online form.


Dish Customer since 12/13/03
Leased 722 DVR (Under contract until 08/02/10?)
(The installer had me sign an exsisting customer 18 month agreement!)
Owned 301 (Purchased at Wal-Mart 12/12/03)

#4 OFFLINE   jclewter79

jclewter79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,827 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 15 August 2013 - 06:58 AM

Anybody know about the pole mount?

Sent from my SCH-I605 using DBSTalk mobile app


Dish Customer since 12/13/03
Leased 722 DVR (Under contract until 08/02/10?)
(The installer had me sign an exsisting customer 18 month agreement!)
Owned 301 (Purchased at Wal-Mart 12/12/03)

#5 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,026 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 15 August 2013 - 07:06 AM

If a pole mount is need for LOS issues then it will be done at no charge.  If a normal mount will work but you want a pole mount for aesthetic reasons then you will have to pay for it. 


My Setup


#6 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 15 August 2013 - 07:09 AM

If your locals are available in HD from sat, AM21's are not usually given away.  In most cases you cant actually order an AM21 until you have equipment on your acct that can use one.  Only 1 per DVR, no matter what model.  They are $50 and you can order them directly from your D* acct page under equipment after you are a customer.  Pole mounts can cost extra depending...if its the only way to get you service, its usually included.  If you choose to have a pole mount but it isnt a necessity, its a lot of work to put one in so most techs are well within their rights to charge a standard install fee for it.


Edited by CCarncross, 15 August 2013 - 07:10 AM.


#7 OFFLINE   jclewter79

jclewter79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,827 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 15 August 2013 - 08:00 AM

Well, my current E* dish is pole mounted. Maybe the pole can be reused.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using DBSTalk mobile app


Dish Customer since 12/13/03
Leased 722 DVR (Under contract until 08/02/10?)
(The installer had me sign an exsisting customer 18 month agreement!)
Owned 301 (Purchased at Wal-Mart 12/12/03)

#8 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 15 August 2013 - 08:56 AM

Well, my current E* dish is pole mounted. Maybe the pole can be reused.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using DBSTalk mobile app

Most likely not..I believe they each use different diameter poles for their dishes...  I believe direct requires a 2" OD pole...



#9 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 15 August 2013 - 01:24 PM

You could also order the AM21 yourself from somewhere like Amazon or Solid Signal and have it on hand when you get everything else installed.  However, don't expect the installer to hook it up for you, most of them have no idea what it is and will get confused by it. 


Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#10 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,120 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 15 August 2013 - 01:29 PM

Don't forget to check the "Wanted to Sell" section here at DBStalk.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#11 OFFLINE   ejbvt

ejbvt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 398 posts
  • LocationCentral NC
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 15 August 2013 - 01:41 PM

I got my AM21 free when I signed up. I did not do it online, though. 

 

The other poster is dead on - most people at Directv have no idea what am AM21 is. When an installer came out to do the Genie upgrade and he saw it and didn't want to connect it because he didn't think it did anything. I showed him, but he didn't seem to understand. (Antenna? Over the air? Didnt' that go away a few years ago? UGH.)


DIRECTV: Genie (HR34) w/AM21 and 1 client.
AT&T: U-Verse Internet, Motorola modem and Samsung Galaxy S3 cell.
LG 42" (1080p, 120 Hz, 3D, Smart TV), Samsung 32" (1080p, 60 Hz)
Denon AVR591, Panasonic Blu Ray, Magnavox DVD player, Philips VCR, Terk HDTVo.


#12 OFFLINE   242424

242424

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 219 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2012

Posted 15 August 2013 - 04:51 PM

I got my AM21 free when I signed up. I did not do it online, though. 

 

The other poster is dead on - most people at Directv have no idea what am AM21 is. When an installer came out to do the Genie upgrade and he saw it and didn't want to connect it because he didn't think it did anything. I showed him, but he didn't seem to understand. (Antenna? Over the air? Didnt' that go away a few years ago? UGH.)

 

Unreal lol 



#13 OFFLINE   ejbvt

ejbvt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 398 posts
  • LocationCentral NC
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 15 August 2013 - 05:07 PM

Unreal lol 

 

The TWC cable installer a few years back couldn't figure out how I was watching TV before they turned my service on. "You're not supposed to get that channel [referring to an "out-of-market" local channel that is the 4th strongest signal I receive] in Alamance County." 

 

Because the transmitter knows to stop at the county line. And continue in one town, but only SD. DMAs are the dumbest part of TV, IMO.


DIRECTV: Genie (HR34) w/AM21 and 1 client.
AT&T: U-Verse Internet, Motorola modem and Samsung Galaxy S3 cell.
LG 42" (1080p, 120 Hz, 3D, Smart TV), Samsung 32" (1080p, 60 Hz)
Denon AVR591, Panasonic Blu Ray, Magnavox DVD player, Philips VCR, Terk HDTVo.


#14 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,509 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 August 2013 - 09:11 PM

I got my AM21 free when I signed up. I did not do it online, though.

The other poster is dead on - most people at Directv have no idea what am AM21 is. When an installer came out to do the Genie upgrade and he saw it and didn't want to connect it because he didn't think it did anything. I showed him, but he didn't seem to understand. (Antenna? Over the air? Didnt' that go away a few years ago? UGH.)

HOw long ago? were you able to receiver locals via satellite?


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#15 OFFLINE   jclewter79

jclewter79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,827 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2008

Posted 16 August 2013 - 04:45 AM

Sounds about like how the guys at dish network are with their ota tuners. You would think that these companies would do a better job of educating their employees about products that they provide.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using DBSTalk mobile app


Dish Customer since 12/13/03
Leased 722 DVR (Under contract until 08/02/10?)
(The installer had me sign an exsisting customer 18 month agreement!)
Owned 301 (Purchased at Wal-Mart 12/12/03)

#16 OFFLINE   ejbvt

ejbvt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 398 posts
  • LocationCentral NC
Joined: Aug 14, 2011

Posted 16 August 2013 - 07:43 AM

HOw long ago? were you able to receiver locals via satellite?


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

 

Oh yes, I get LIL on D*. I live on the DMA line. If I lived 7 miles east of here, I would have Raleigh, NC locals instead of Greensboro, NC locals. With an antenna, some the Raleigh signals are stronger and work quite well with the AM21. I have never even been to the city that my Directv-provided local NBC station is from. I also do not get that channel OTA (and the PBS from the same site, although it's just a mirror of the PBS that I get from Raleigh). I prefer the Raleigh locals for the most part, since they cover areas like Orange Co (Chapel Hill) and Durham, which I go to often. I can't remember the last time I went to Greensboro.

 

I forget when this happened exactly. It was March or April (ish) of this year.


DIRECTV: Genie (HR34) w/AM21 and 1 client.
AT&T: U-Verse Internet, Motorola modem and Samsung Galaxy S3 cell.
LG 42" (1080p, 120 Hz, 3D, Smart TV), Samsung 32" (1080p, 60 Hz)
Denon AVR591, Panasonic Blu Ray, Magnavox DVD player, Philips VCR, Terk HDTVo.


#17 OFFLINE   242424

242424

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 219 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2012

Posted 16 August 2013 - 07:46 AM

Oh yes, I get LIL on D*. I live on the DMA line. If I lived 7 miles east of here, I would have Raleigh, NC locals instead of Greensboro, NC locals. With an antenna, some the Raleigh signals are stronger and work quite well with the AM21. I have never even been to the city that my Directv-provided local NBC station is from. I also do not get that channel OTA (and the PBS from the same site, although it's just a mirror of the PBS that I get from Raleigh). I prefer the Raleigh locals for the most part, since they cover areas like Orange Co (Chapel Hill) and Durham, which I go to often. I can't remember the last time I went to Greensboro.

 

I forget when this happened exactly. It was March or April (ish) of this year.

 

That's me too. If I lived 5 miles South of where I do I could get locals, as it is I have to get distant networks and pay $$$ 



#18 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 16 August 2013 - 10:26 AM

Directv has no control over the DMA lines...they just have to follow the rules, so that makes OTA a great option for those who spend most of their time and energy on what is considered their neighboring DMA



#19 OFFLINE   242424

242424

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 219 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2012

Posted 16 August 2013 - 03:47 PM

OTA gets me one channel.......






spam firewall