Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Signal on few OTA dropped off.


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 18 August 2013 - 09:36 AM

OTA has not moved. Now I am getting error 792. Could the am21 be going bad? I can swap out another one to tell if necessary. Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Edited by gio12, 18 August 2013 - 09:37 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,998 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 18 August 2013 - 09:44 AM

If this is on a Genie, try just pulling the USB cable out of the back of the Genie, wait 10 seconds or so and then plug it back in again. I've see where every now and then after a reboot the Genie thinks the AM21 has been removed, and removing/connecting the USB cable has corrected it for me.


See post My Setup for configuration info.


#3 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 18 August 2013 - 09:45 AM

OTA has not moved. Now I am getting error 792. Could the am21 be going bad? I can swap out another one to tell if necessary. Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

checked upstairs, all signals are great.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#4 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 18 August 2013 - 09:47 AM

If this is on a Genie, try just pulling the USB cable out of the back of the Genie, wait 10 seconds or so and then plug it back in again. I've see where every now and then after a reboot the Genie thinks the AM21 has been removed, and removing/connecting the USB cable has corrected it for me.

yes it is. Tired that.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#5 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 18 August 2013 - 09:48 AM

Again it's only 2 locals


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#6 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 18 August 2013 - 10:06 AM

So no PPD says a tech has to come out, they won't ship a new one. Second CSR today. WTF!


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#7 OFFLINE   coconut13

coconut13

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2013

Posted 18 August 2013 - 10:28 AM

Are the 2 channels in Directv's database or not? Maybe lost them because of the change with the latest software update removing scanning capabilities from the Genie.



#8 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 18 August 2013 - 10:52 AM

Ok, looks like I might have a bad splitter on the line. It's an ideal for, Home Depot. Any recommendations on a good OTA splitter?


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#9 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 18 August 2013 - 01:03 PM

Are the 2 channels in Directv's database or not? Maybe lost them because of the change with the latest software update removing scanning capabilities from the Genie.


All good after the splitter was removed. Need to call directv to cancel the service call.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app




Protected By... spam firewall...And...