Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Relationship of Genie to Genie Client


Best Answer texasbrit , 21 August 2013 - 05:48 AM

The settings on the Genie and client are independent of each other. So you can have the Genie at 480i and the clients at 1080i.

 

I am not surprised SD looks terrible on an old 53in TV.

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,299 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 25 August 2013 - 06:16 PM

OK, since this thread is still going on.

My friend just left my house and she swears that the text in the Guide on her husbands 40" Sony LED TV is smaller than on my 37" Vizio LCD.

They are running a Genie HR44 and I am running an HR24.

 

Can anyone tell me if their is a difference in the size of the Font from one machine / software  to the other ?

 

Thanks in advance.

 

PS: For now she is going to Turn on the old TV and let it warm up for 30 minutes and then press the Flash Focus and let it do it's thing and see if that fixes her blurry text.

If that does not fix it we will try the component cables on it to see what it does on her old TV.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,519 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 25 August 2013 - 07:06 PM

OK, since this thread is still going on.

My friend just left my house and she swears that the text in the Guide on her husbands 40" Sony LED TV is smaller than on my 37" Vizio LCD.

They are running a Genie HR44 and I am running an HR24.

 

Can anyone tell me if their is a difference in the size of the Font from one machine / software  to the other ?

 

Thanks in advance.

 

PS: For now she is going to Turn on the old TV and let it warm up for 30 minutes and then press the Flash Focus and let it do it's thing and see if that fixes her blurry text.

If that does not fix it we will try the component cables on it to see what it does on her old TV.

No, the fonts should be the same size;

 

Though she could have been watching an SD channel where the size of the guide was be reduced down to 4:3 causing the smaller looking fonts. 


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#28 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,299 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 25 August 2013 - 07:14 PM

No, the fonts should be the same size;

 

Though she could have been watching an SD channel where the size of the guide was be reduced down to 4:3 causing the smaller looking fonts. 

On my HR24 the font sizes do not change with the different resolutions.

 

I did not think they has made the text smaller or there would have been an outcry about it on the forum.

 

Thanks


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#29 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,519 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 25 August 2013 - 09:28 PM

On my HR24 the font sizes do not change with the different resolutions.

 

I did not think they has made the text smaller or there would have been an outcry about it on the forum.

 

Thanks

That wasn't what I meant;

 

When viewing an SD channel the actual size of the guide, channel banner, menu, etc, in the horizontal dimension on an HDTV can shrink down from 16:9 to 4:3 along with the picture causing the graphics and text to become both smaller and squeezed as well.

 

Now there are display settings in the receiver that can be used to prevent this from happening (In fact i use them myself), but your friends may not be aware of them.

 

i'm not saying this is what definitely happened to cause your friend to claim the text were smaller on her husband's HDTV, but could have.   


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#30 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,280 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 25 August 2013 - 10:22 PM

OK, since this thread is still going on.
My friend just left my house and she swears that the text in the Guide on her husbands 40" Sony LED TV is smaller than on my 37" Vizio LCD.
They are running a Genie HR44 and I am running an HR24.

Can anyone tell me if their is a difference in the size of the Font from one machine / software to the other ?

Thanks in advance.

PS: For now she is going to Turn on the old TV and let it warm up for 30 minutes and then press the Flash Focus and let it do it's thing and see if that fixes her blurry text.
If that does not fix it we will try the component cables on it to see what it does on her old TV.


Component compared to composite will be a large difference even if it is only 480i. There is no reason to be using composite when a component connection is possible.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#31 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,299 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 26 August 2013 - 06:50 AM

My friend had to work Sunday and very late so we did not have much time to look and talk about her TV.

What I had her do first was to :  As soon as she got home to turn on the old TV so it could warm up. She cooked supper and they ate and then she pushed the "Flash Focus" button on the front of the TV. She said she thinks that they had never pushed that button before because they did not know what it was for.

She says it is a lot better and she can read the guide from her couch and does not have to get up and walk to within 3 or 4 feet to read it.

Yeah.

 

I will get her a set of component cables today and have her come by here to pick them up. I showed her the picture of the back of her TV and showed her where to plug them and the button to press to change the Input. When she gets those plugged in I will step her through how to view the HD channels in the Letterbox format on her TV. From my calculations she should have the equivalent size of a 46" HD TV  on her 53" SD TV.

It will probably be this weekend before she will connect them.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#32 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,296 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 26 August 2013 - 08:33 AM

Oh, my. I didn't realize her set was SD. No wonder it's hard to read, esp. out of focus. Well done, jimmie!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#33 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,299 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 26 August 2013 - 09:45 AM

Oh, my. I didn't realize her set was SD. No wonder it's hard to read, esp. out of focus. Well done, jimmie!

Thanks.

I just got back from the store and I picked her up a set of component cables. I think when she gets these hooked up she will be happy.

They do make a noticeable difference on my 20" CRT vs the yellow wire for video.


Edited by jimmie57, 26 August 2013 - 09:46 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#34 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,296 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 26 August 2013 - 03:08 PM

Any chance she can afford a couple of hundred for a small HD set? It'd be worth it! (well, for many)


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#35 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,175 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 26 August 2013 - 03:21 PM

32" sets are going for $99. . . probably the power savings would pay for it in a year.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#36 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,299 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 26 August 2013 - 03:21 PM

Any chance she can afford a couple of hundred for a small HD set? It'd be worth it! (well, for many)

She has measured the space and she is saving for a new 55" when she gets enough saved.

It is in a large room and the TV is 14 feet from the couch she sits on.


Edited by jimmie57, 26 August 2013 - 03:22 PM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#37 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,296 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 26 August 2013 - 03:32 PM

Well, that's good! Too far away unless the eyesight is young. Me, I'd rather have a 32" set now than bigger later. Screen real estate is often over emphasized, but to each their own.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#38 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,299 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 08 September 2013 - 10:55 AM

My friend picked up the component cables yesterday. This morning she plugged them in without taking out the yellow cable. the DTV box switched to 480p and her TV only does 480i. Needless to say the picture was a mess and she now had no sound.

I went to her house. By the time I got there she had removed all the cables and thought she plugged it back in like it was. She hadn't.

I had to search for what went where because she had an AVR and  a VCR also that were there and a pair of external speakers.

When I got it hooked up using the component cables there was no sound. If I turned on the speakers in the TV there was sound.

I decided to hook it back up like it was. The instant I pulled the red cable from the component set of red, blue and green the external speakers started to work. Very strange. I went into her TV menu and settings and changed everything in it that could be changed and no sound except from the TV speakers.

The picture was much better , according to her, but she wanted her external speakers to work.

At this point I gave up and hooked it back up using the composite cables and then adjusted her picture settings.

It does look better but it is still poo poo for a picture. She said they bought it in 2000.

 

I adjusted her husbands HD TV also. Yep, it was set to torch mode. As soon as I switched it to Standard mode he said he could read the text in the Guide.


Edited by jimmie57, 08 September 2013 - 10:56 AM.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#39 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,047 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 09 September 2013 - 12:49 PM

Wonder if it was the wrong red cable and that it was video into audio or something.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#40 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,299 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 09 September 2013 - 01:20 PM

Wonder if it was the wrong red cable and that it was video into audio or something.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

The instant I pulled the red from the component set of connections the picture went out and the sound came on.

When I pulled the red one from the Audio connector the sound went out.

 

She called me last night at about 9 pm and told me that her TV made a pop and all it does now is the little red light that flashes when you first turn it on flashes and never stops.

Earlier in the day she said the AC was making a popping noise and quit working. It is right outside of the room where the TV is located.

I told her that the AC man could check the electricity but it sounded like her AC to her house was too high and causing problems.

I have not heard from her today.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#41 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,047 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 10 September 2013 - 12:57 AM

I think it must have been a bad cable to something... Had its lines crossed or something. It just doesn't make any sense otherwise.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#42 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,299 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 22 September 2013 - 03:43 PM

Final Update:

My friend bought a 55" Samsung LED, Samsung Blu-Ray player and a Yamaha AVR. I gave them, her and her hubby, a Polk center speaker to go along with the 2 Bose fronts that they already had. They were amazed at the sound when we pushed the button for surround sound. They had never had a sound system before.

Tried to talk her into a Subwoofer that I have sitting here and she said she could not handle any more than what she has now.

 

All is well that ends well.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM, HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD





Protected By... spam firewall...And...