Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Buffer vanishes before my eyes!


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   shmengie

shmengie

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 359 posts
  • LocationCity of Angels
Joined: Apr 12, 2007

Posted 22 August 2013 - 08:12 PM

So, twice in the past, oh...3 months...I've had this happen:

 

I watch Cartoon Network West (297) as I fall asleep on the couch. I'll turn off everything and go to bed. Suffering from occasional insomnia, I'll get up and turn the TV back on. Then, I rewind all the way back to the beginning of the buffer.

 

So, I'm watching TV, and the screen goes black for 2-3 seconds. Then the channel comes back on (still 297), and the info banner pops up, like I just changed to channel 297. And it IS like I just changed to 297, as the buffer is gone.

 

It's only happened twice, and it's always in the wee hours. This morning was at 4:12am. Last time was 3am or 4am-ish. Could have been 4:12 as far as I know. (The last time it happened, the first thing I did was check to see if I'd had a SW upgrade. No, I hadn't).

 

Anyone else ever get the weird changing-but-not-really-changing channel thing?

 

Yeah, I got first world problems.  :blowout:


Edited by shmengie, 23 August 2013 - 07:18 AM.

  • Hotelone likes this

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,785 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 22 August 2013 - 09:23 PM

let me guess, you have a Genie, right?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,665 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 23 August 2013 - 03:40 AM

let me guess, you have a Genie, right?

Unless it needs updating his profile indicates he has a HR22-100.


DirecTV customer since 1995.


#4 OFFLINE   shmengie

shmengie

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 359 posts
  • LocationCity of Angels
Joined: Apr 12, 2007

Posted 23 August 2013 - 07:19 AM

let me guess, you have a Genie, right?

LOL...nope. Still on the HR22.



#5 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,248 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 23 August 2013 - 07:27 AM

I had that a long time ago on an HR20. My "cure" was to hit Record in the bleary eyed middle of the night if I thought I was interested. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#6 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,918 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 23 August 2013 - 08:03 AM

Do you have any series links set to record? If you happen to record two different programs, that will take the tuner away from the live buffer.



#7 OFFLINE   shmengie

shmengie

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 359 posts
  • LocationCity of Angels
Joined: Apr 12, 2007

Posted 23 August 2013 - 01:58 PM

I had that a long time ago on an HR20. My "cure" was to hit Record in the bleary eyed middle of the night if I thought I was interested. 

Meh, it happens rarely. Don't know that I'd have the presence of mind to think of that. I'll try to think of that, though, thanks.

 

Do you have any series links set to record? If you happen to record two different programs, that will take the tuner away from the live buffer.

Nope, nothing recording at that time. Thanks, though.



#8 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,779 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 24 August 2013 - 07:28 AM

I saw this last night just before 9 PM.

Nothing was set to record, but it acted like there was [more than one set to record].

This was the second time of late that this happened and the second DVR to do it. :shrug:


A.K.A VOS

#9 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,574 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 25 August 2013 - 12:36 PM

A lot of maintenance happens in the wee hours. Believe me, I am bleary-eyed this very moment for performing some for my company.

 

Sometimes this means disconnecting, reconnecting certain connections briefly, or preventatively rebooting servers that maintain some of what we get on DBS, or any other number of brief, mildly destructive procedures. We break eggs at midnight so that you can have your omelets the next morning.

 

Also, things happen outside the maintenance windows, including brief interruptions of service, such as an airplane fade or other anomaly, and that can happen at any time.

 

These sorts of things can be interpreted by the DVR as a command to flush the buffer, which is the command executed when you change sources (channels). If the signal is even briefly interrupted, this can be interpreted as a channel change and the DVR then dutifully flushes. So if you want it but don't record it, you are whistling through the graveyard and really have no one to blame if it isn't there when you go looking for it. The buffer is a service that is normally there, but it is not guaranteed to be there 100% of the time. Stuff happens.

 

Bottom line, if you want it, press that little red button (orange on the remote, I guess). Then, the DVR interprets that as a "pause recording and wait" if the signal briefly goes away, and it typically resumes when the signal comes back. Also, setting a "keep one ep" SL for repeating occasions such as this, is a pretty good workaround.


It's usually safe to talk honestly and openly with people because they typically are not really listening anyway.

#10 OFFLINE   bones boy

bones boy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 274 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2007

Posted 12 September 2013 - 09:26 PM

I came to this forum looking for an answer to this exact problem. Really though, I have my own answer.

Happening on one of my HRs about every other week. I watch lots of sports and pause a lot. I'll be watching an event with buffer, then screen goes black for about 5 seconds then banner pops up and picture comes back and buffer is gone. I have 4 HR24s and have had many other HRXX DVRs and when they do this I will insist DTV replace it. Tried resets, BISTs, power downs, etc.

To me it's not a "glitch" but an internal issue with the unit and it should be replaced. Hate to lose all my recordings though.

#11 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,248 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 13 September 2013 - 09:09 AM

In addition to the external matters TomCat recites, there's frequently the possiblity of a kid or pet changing the channel, or your own hand or leg or it falls on the floor, or..... 

 

In short if you're watching something you really care about, hit the R button. Case solved. Oh, yeah, forgot to mention in takes a keystroke and at least one second. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#12 OFFLINE   MISpat

MISpat

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2009

Posted 19 September 2013 - 10:08 PM

 

Sounds like you're experiencing basically the same thing I do when I transfer a DVR recording to DVD in the middle of the night.  It will just all of a sudden abandon playback of my recording and go to live TV (I know it's doing it because I have a recording of it).  No one is touching the remote because everyone is sleeping and we have no pets.

 

In essence your issue is the same.  You are using the buffer instead of watching a DVR program, but it still switched to live TV without your permission.

I've reporting this issue to D* a number of times and they basically refuse to look into it or even acknowledge the issue.  So I wouldn't be too hopeful of this issue resolving any time soon.


Patrick

Dish type – SWM3 LNB, 2 HR24-500, H23-600, Whole Home w/ broadband DECA (CCK)

#13 OFFLINE   EricTheRed

EricTheRed

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2008

Posted 20 September 2013 - 01:14 PM

I had a similar issue on an HR22-100 last night watching the Thursday Night football game on NFL Network. I was watching the game live. At around 9:15 ET, the screen went blank for about 4 seconds, then the channel banner appeared, and the game came back on. I was recording one other program at the time from 9 - 10. I thought, "eh, glitch" and ignored it.

 

Then at exactly 11pm, it happened again, this time without anything else recording. 4 second black screen, channel banner, game comes back on. On a hunch, I try to rewind, and I can't go further back than 11pm. So the live buffer purged itself, almost like the receiver changed the channel to the same channel. Or maybe it switched tuners, but either way it shouldn't be happening. Again, I was watching the game live and this time I had nothing else recording.

 

I don't mind losing the live buffer, as I rarely use it, but the black screen popping up is annoying.



#14 OFFLINE   Wilhite

Wilhite

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: May 05, 2004

Posted 20 September 2013 - 03:13 PM

I had a similar issue on an HR22-100 last night watching the Thursday Night football game on NFL Network. I was watching the game live. At around 9:15 ET, the screen went blank for about 4 seconds, then the channel banner appeared, and the game came back on. I was recording one other program at the time from 9 - 10. I thought, "eh, glitch" and ignored it.

 

Then at exactly 11pm, it happened again, this time without anything else recording. 4 second black screen, channel banner, game comes back on. On a hunch, I try to rewind, and I can't go further back than 11pm. So the live buffer purged itself, almost like the receiver changed the channel to the same channel. Or maybe it switched tuners, but either way it shouldn't be happening. Again, I was watching the game live and this time I had nothing else recording.

 

I don't mind losing the live buffer, as I rarely use it, but the black screen popping up is annoying.

 

Wow.. interesting.  This happened to me at the same time during the Thursday Night Football game.  However, I wasn't watching live - I was in watching in the buffer.  Everything went black and then I was up to realtime with no buffer remaining.

 

This was on an HR-20.  Nothing recording.  Not in Doubleplay.  



#15 OFFLINE   HofstraJet

HofstraJet

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 141 posts
  • LocationCoral Springs, FL
Joined: Mar 06, 2003

Posted 31 October 2013 - 09:13 PM

Wow.. interesting.  This happened to me at the same time during the Thursday Night Football game.  However, I wasn't watching live - I was in watching in the buffer.  Everything went black and then I was up to realtime with no buffer remaining.

 

This was on an HR-20.  Nothing recording.  Not in Doubleplay.  

 

This happens to me every week during Thursday Night Football on multiple receivers.  I have a manual 5 hour recording set up on two receivers to record the game and I frequently end up with multiple partial recordings of the 5 hour block (mind you I don't miss any of the recording, but it is split up into several blocks and the stop times of the blocks appear random (not on the hour/half hour)).  Just now, I was watching the game on a buffer with doubleplay active on an HR24 and was somewhere in the third quarter when suddenly the screen went black and jumped to real time in the 4th quarter and the buffer disappeared. Had no other recordings scheduled or active. This is a very strange issue.



#16 OFFLINE   HofstraJet

HofstraJet

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 141 posts
  • LocationCoral Springs, FL
Joined: Mar 06, 2003

Posted 20 January 2014 - 05:07 AM

This just happened to me again. Had about an hour of Aussie Open tennis in the buffer built so I could skip commercials and it just flushed the buffer and went to live while I was watching.  I had DoublePlay active and the second buffer remained full and paused where I left it - just the ESPN2 buffer got flushed.  Then, while continuing to watch live ESPN2, it happened again just a few minutes later (black screen for a few seconds and skip to live with no buffer). Again, DP buffer in tact. No other recordings active or scheduled at the time.

 

HR24-100 0X79b.



#17 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,248 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 January 2014 - 11:59 AM

Something in the buffer you're really interested in? Push the R button.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#18 OFFLINE   HofstraJet

HofstraJet

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 141 posts
  • LocationCoral Springs, FL
Joined: Mar 06, 2003

Posted 20 January 2014 - 01:11 PM

Yeah, I know. But I shouldn't have to. Ugh.....  :bang



#19 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,248 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 January 2014 - 01:32 PM

It's a grey area at best. It's advice I almost always follow! At least when I do it prevents head banging!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#20 OFFLINE   chuck1996

chuck1996

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Jun 28, 2007

Posted 22 January 2014 - 03:59 PM

I've had similar buffer problems occasionally. Going back to live TV after watching a recording, I have found the buffer empty. Not a reproducible problem, so I  think I just attribute i to internal glitch.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...