Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Recent Install - Quality Workmanship?


  • Please log in to reply
90 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   TorinTPG

TorinTPG

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Aug 11, 2013

Posted 24 August 2013 - 07:33 AM

I had an upgrade this week. During the install, I added a box upstairs, so the tech had to run a line from outside and up into my attic. As part of this, he also had to add a module (splitter maybe?) on the outside lines. He shoved all of this into my Bellsouth telephone box. Since it wouldn't close (as it previously did), he threw a zip tie on it and he left it in the state shown in the pictures

 

My concerns are the fact that water can now get into the box and cause corrosion (to the phone block terminals and the DTV equipment) and the fact that some of coax in the bottom of the box is bent pretty severely

 

Should I be concerned? 

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20130824_092252.jpg
  • 20130824_092300.jpg
  • 20130824_092307.jpg
  • 20130824_092333.jpg


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,737 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 24 August 2013 - 07:51 AM

I am not an installer but from all that I read those splitters are designed to be used outside in the weather.

I do not think he is allowed to put it inside the telephone box. The phone company would not like that at all.

My install has 3 of those splitters on the outside of the house, under the eves.

 

They should come back and fix that, unless you can just pull it out and put a couple of screws to fasten it to the wall.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#3 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,661 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 24 August 2013 - 07:54 AM

Personally I would call and complain and ask that the work be redone. Personally, I don't think he should have been in the phone box to start with.



#4 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,818 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 24 August 2013 - 07:55 AM

Yes you should be concerned, 

 

Looks like he tried to place a SWiM splitter inside the telephone network SNI. Very bad idea.

 

The splitter can be mounted inside or outside, and it should be outside on the wall someplace in this case. If he left his number call the tech. back out to come do it right, or call DIRECTV and complain.

 

There are central boxes in homes designed to place cable splitters and what not in with phone connection terminal blocks, but not in a telephone SNI like that. 


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#5 ONLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,098 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 24 August 2013 - 08:35 AM

Having the box open like that defeats the one of the reasons for the box: protect the equipment from the elements.   

 

I'm only guessing, but I think the first time the phone company comes out, they'll pull that equipment out and seal the box the way it should be.

 

As others have said, get it fixed.



#6 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,420 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 24 August 2013 - 11:41 AM

I had an upgrade this week. During the install, I added a box upstairs, so the tech had to run a line from outside and up into my attic. As part of this, he also had to add a module (splitter maybe?) on the outside lines. He shoved all of this into my Bellsouth telephone box. Since it wouldn't close (as it previously did), he threw a zip tie on it and he left it in the state shown in the pictures

 

My concerns are the fact that water can now get into the box and cause corrosion (to the phone block terminals and the DTV equipment) and the fact that some of coax in the bottom of the box is bent pretty severely

 

Should I be concerned? 

 

Well that's illegal. As an retired tel tech, the first thing I would do is remove off foreign hookup on telco equip if I had to go to your home on a TR..


Edited by Drucifer, 24 August 2013 - 11:42 AM.

Drew
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR:HR34-7, Dn:HR24-1, MB:HR24-5, Bm:HR21-2, Kt:H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV '00


#7 OFFLINE   gov

gov

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,052 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2013

Posted 24 August 2013 - 01:10 PM

Nice habitat for a wasp nest in the now unsealed phone box.

 

Poetic justice if original tech gets stinged coming back to fix it.

 

:coffee



#8 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,250 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 24 August 2013 - 01:27 PM

Well that's illegal. As an retired tel tech, the first thing I would do is remove off foreign hookup on telco equip if I had to go to your home on a TR..

probably with a pair of wirecutters!


Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#9 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,019 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 24 August 2013 - 02:43 PM

Unfortunatly, it looks like he tried to be extra neat and came out with super sloppy, as I can't think of any other reason he'd have tried to use that box in the first place.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#10 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,420 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 24 August 2013 - 03:07 PM

probably with a pair of wirecutters!

 

That would depend on the mood of the tech, but a quick cut would be very possible.


Edited by Drucifer, 24 August 2013 - 03:07 PM.

Drew
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR:HR34-7, Dn:HR24-1, MB:HR24-5, Bm:HR21-2, Kt:H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV '00


#11 OFFLINE   TorinTPG

TorinTPG

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Aug 11, 2013

Posted 24 August 2013 - 03:55 PM

Thanks for all the posts. I thought it looked pretty damn sloppy, but I wanted to make sure I wasn't just being too picky



#12 OFFLINE   Old_School

Old_School

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 366 posts
  • LocationDover, PA
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 24 August 2013 - 04:21 PM

A few years ago we moved into a temp. rental property for a few months till a better rental property was ready to be moved into... We where required to by the landlord to have Comcast installed since we where only going to be there a short time... one of the other units ( without permission ) had Dish Network installed. The installer was nice enough to stuff his connections into my units Comcast box...

 

When the Comcast tech came out to install my service he just took out a pair of dyke's and snipped all the wires going into the box. He then installed my service and put a padlock on the box... Then the other tenants came home at found out they had no service.. They confronted the tech and he said "not my problem" and got in his truck and went to his next customer...

 

with that said, Yes i would call Directv and i would make sure they are well aware of how it was installed... i can assure you the telco esp. if its Verizon will remove all the DTV stuff out of there box when they come out to replace it after your telephone service fails from being in the elements...


DirecTV Subscriber Since 1998
Xtra ~ NFLST

 

(1) HR44  

(1) C41W

 

SL3 LNB ~ Whole Home DVR


#13 OFFLINE   adamson

adamson

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 494 posts
  • LocationN Central Florida
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 25 August 2013 - 03:16 AM

The installer must be fairly new and not trained very well. That is sloppy period. Get someone back out to correct it, call Directv btw not him/her directly. That way he gets docked for the fine work he/she did.

 

Yes there are female installers...I had one once :)


Edited by adamson, 25 August 2013 - 03:18 AM.

HR44-700 C41W-100 C41W-100, Ultimate Package, NFL ST, Distant Networks ABC CBS NBC FOX East/West


#14 OFFLINE   TorinTPG

TorinTPG

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Aug 11, 2013

Posted 28 August 2013 - 01:45 PM

So I called DTV on Sunday and they setup a tech to come out (via Mastec) to correct the issue. I spoke with Mastec on Monday and asked them to send a tech, but not to send the same tech that performed the original work. They confirmed this was possible

 

I get a call today that they are coming out and the tech will call when he is on his way. Turns out it was the same tech and he told me "it doesn't matter if water gets inside the box" and the phone company "will not care if these wires are in there". His solution (after trying to force the box shut when it clearly wouldn't shut) was to slap another zip tie on upper half of the box. The top portion is now mostly closed, but the bottom is still wide open. 

 

I didn't feel like arguing with the guy and he clearly didn't plan on staying long because he didn't even turn his van off. He didn't need me to sign off on anything, so my guess is that he was there "under the radar" so that he did not get docked or written up. What should my next step be? Would it just be easier to purchase a weather proof box on my own and move everything inside of it? 



#15 ONLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,660 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 28 August 2013 - 01:53 PM

In addition to contacting DirecTV, I suggest you notify your local phone company and provide them the contact info of the local Mastec office, since if they're doing it to you they're probably doing it to others in your area, which will cost the phone company in parts and labor when they have to go around and fix it.

#16 OFFLINE   TorinTPG

TorinTPG

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Aug 11, 2013

Posted 28 August 2013 - 02:05 PM

In addition to contacting DirecTV, I suggest you notify your local phone company and provide them the contact info of the local Mastec office, since if they're doing it to you they're probably doing it to others in your area, which will cost the phone company in parts and labor when they have to go around and fix it.

 You really like to stick it to them  :)

 

Thanks for the suggestion



#17 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,737 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 28 August 2013 - 02:07 PM

So I called DTV on Sunday and they setup a tech to come out (via Mastec) to correct the issue. I spoke with Mastec on Monday and asked them to send a tech, but not to send the same tech that performed the original work. They confirmed this was possible

 

I get a call today that they are coming out and the tech will call when he is on his way. Turns out it was the same tech and he told me "it doesn't matter if water gets inside the box" and the phone company "will not care if these wires are in there". His solution (after trying to force the box shut when it clearly wouldn't shut) was to slap another zip tie on upper half of the box. The top portion is now mostly closed, but the bottom is still wide open. 

 

I didn't feel like arguing with the guy and he clearly didn't plan on staying long because he didn't even turn his van off. He didn't need me to sign off on anything, so my guess is that he was there "under the radar" so that he did not get docked or written up. What should my next step be? Would it just be easier to purchase a weather proof box on my own and move everything inside of it? 

If you have the local number to Mastec, call them and ask them to send out a supervisor. I had one instance like this and when the supervisor came out he took pictures of the mess and told me that the tech that did the install was to be fired over this. He then sent a different tech that was appalled at what he saw. He did the job very professionally and then came inside to check out the inside. He found that the H23 receiver was bad. He said he would be back the next day with a replacement. he did that and all was well again.


DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#18 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,019 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 28 August 2013 - 02:16 PM

Id not let that stand at all. Id already be on the phone with masts now. No way on earth should you spend a dime of your money on a box yourself or time to install it right.

Before it was questionable but now I say that guy should be fired after his follow up visit. What a lazy person.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#19 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,019 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 28 August 2013 - 02:17 PM

Oh and take more pictures. If master sup doesn't get you what you ask a email to Ellen's office with pics will get it fixed. And them.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#20 OFFLINE   TorinTPG

TorinTPG

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 85 posts
  • LocationGeorgia
Joined: Aug 11, 2013

Posted 28 August 2013 - 02:23 PM

Oh and take more pictures. If master sup doesn't get you what you ask a email to Ellen's office with pics will get it fixed. And them.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

 

Who is Ellen? Fairly new to the forum here






spam firewall