Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Biggest screw up since 3 years ago


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 06 September 2013 - 09:05 PM

I give up, all new installs are getting the old IR remotes till this is figured out, i have an extra 120 of them so those are going in till im out of them.

 

Getting sick of all the phone calls

 

Some of my techs are threatening quiting on me.....


Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 ONLINE   west99999

west99999

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 907 posts
Joined: May 11, 2007

Posted 06 September 2013 - 09:26 PM

The clients will update within 20 minutes. Have your techs and yourself activate Genie 1st, then activate all clients, go to Genie set it to add client, go to each client put in pin set them up with all settings, reset clients, go do your customer education on system go back to each client and they will have taken the DL you can tell by the menu color will be off like a dark blue if they have not downloaded yet, program remote to RF, program TV. Done After the 1st DL they will not revert back to IR.


Edited by west99999, 06 September 2013 - 09:26 PM.


#23 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,150 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 06 September 2013 - 09:48 PM

I give up, all new installs are getting the old IR remotes till this is figured out, i have an extra 120 of them so those are going in till im out of them.

 

Getting sick of all the phone calls

 

Some of my techs are threatening quiting on me.....

I still haven't ever seen that happen to my system, what firmware are the clients starting with?  and is it really that hard to walk someone through it over the phone.  Takes about 5 mins maybe to do that, its so easy to program to rf with these remotes...



#24 ONLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,247 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 06 September 2013 - 10:45 PM

I give up, all new installs are getting the old IR remotes till this is figured out, i have an extra 120 of them so those are going in till im out of them.

 

Getting sick of all the phone calls

 

Some of my techs are threatening quiting on me.....5's

 

A lot of the techs I work with were doing RC65s with C41's. When they came out with 0740 it fixed the issue. If your techs would take the time to force 0740 on the HR44 you wouldn't have any remote issues. I hope your techs know Spanish or can memorize the script, wireless clients and video bridges are ...interesting.


HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#25 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 07 September 2013 - 03:27 PM

now today all my clients updated while i was onsite

 

varies day by day i guess......no consistancy at all....


Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's

#26 ONLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,205 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 07 September 2013 - 03:39 PM

Seems odd nobody else is reporting this here.

Maybe not many have them.

 

 

 


#27 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 12 September 2013 - 10:38 PM

I get diff clients and genies weekly. This shipment is doing updates within 20, last weeks were and previous weeks were not doing updates.

 

One guiy called me 2 weeks later, his remote just quit, he called me at 8 am. I had him mute select 961 ch up enter. Done remote worked agian. This guy then called me when he got home at 5 pm from work, remote didnt work.    Very nice, only 2 weeks later then on same day it quit again......

 

I have him revert to IR so he wont continue to have problems.....


Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's

#28 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 12 September 2013 - 10:39 PM

A lot of the techs I work with were doing RC65s with C41's. When they came out with 0740 it fixed the issue. If your techs would take the time to force 0740 on the HR44 you wouldn't have any remote issues. I hope your techs know Spanish or can memorize the script, wireless clients and video bridges are ...interesting.

 

all genies get forced downloads.......evey one      all kinds of remote issues yet


Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's

#29 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 12 September 2013 - 10:40 PM

The clients will update within 20 minutes. Have your techs and yourself activate Genie 1st, then activate all clients, go to Genie set it to add client, go to each client put in pin set them up with all settings, reset clients, go do your customer education on system go back to each client and they will have taken the DL you can tell by the menu color will be off like a dark blue if they have not downloaded yet, program remote to RF, program TV. Done After the 1st DL they will not revert back to IR.

Yes, this is how it worked for a month, then all hell broke loose. Did nothing diferent besides get different and newer clients in stock.....


Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's

#30 OFFLINE   Jodean

Jodean

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 678 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2010

Posted 22 May 2014 - 10:02 PM

I still run into people say 6 months or so later that had never reset their genie or knew how (even though i told them during install) and would still have remote problems with clients. I had them reset the genie and it started a download.....

 

why would a genie never do a download in six months?? all geneies were downloaded at install but then never did one again....


Dish -- 722k, 722, 612, 512, 510

Directv -- HR34, HR24, 2 H25's, 2 H24's

#31 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,150 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 23 May 2014 - 01:16 AM

Maybe they where not hooked up or activated right.

#32 OFFLINE   tarrakas

tarrakas

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
  • LocationFlorida
Joined: Jun 13, 2014

Posted 15 June 2014 - 06:43 PM

I had a customer call me yesterday afternoon. One of his c41-500 lost authorization. (He kept getting the error message for this location not authorized.) After reseting the whole system multiple times it finally retook.

I force download every genie at install. Just thought I'd throw this one sense we're on the subject of the strange.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...