Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Genie - HR44 - Wired Ethernet for Internet Access

Genie Wired Ethernet Internet Access

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   neur

neur

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2008

Posted 29 August 2013 - 11:17 PM

Yesterday I had a new Genie system installed with 2 client receivers and a main receiver HR44. The physical installation when just fine , the problem arose when neither the technician nor his supervisor nor technical support knew how to provision the system for a wired ethernet cable to the HR44. Finally I stumbled on the solution while they were trying to reset everything. Here are the instructions for using a Genie HR44 wired ethernet for internet access

1)In your router setup turn off your router firewall

2)In your router setup turn off web filtering

3) VERY important make sure DHCP is enabled in your router

3)THIS IS THE MOST IMPORTANT PART

    do NOT go into network setup in the Genie menu

4) On your remote press ( - )  the minus key and it should say Swim connected, Internet connected....Thats it, its just that simple

 The network setting that you get to from the menu on the remote is just for a wireless setup.

 

Why did Directv make it so difficult to do such an easy thing.....Plug in and go with a few adjustments to your router......Just saying...have a great day...Bigboy65 :grin:



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,377 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 29 August 2013 - 11:41 PM

Um yeah. Pug in the cable then go to settings menu, and select connect follow the on screen prompts. Unless you had your router blocking it that is easy.

They actually tell installers not to hardware the genies as of yet, probably why they didn't know, even thoughts the same as any other hr2x.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk

#3 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,038 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 30 August 2013 - 12:03 AM

.  . . .

 

Why did Directv make it so difficult to do such an easy thing.....Plug in and go with a few adjustments to your router......Just saying...have a great day...Bigboy65 :grin:

 

I don't know about its difficulty, But the reason wireless is pushed is because marketing thinks that make DirecTV equipment sound mo' modern.


DREW
Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR24-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00

#4 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,552 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 30 August 2013 - 04:18 AM

Wireless is "pushed" Because Most Homes are not hard wired for internet- and most home "NEW" Routers are Wireless


"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#5 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,175 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 30 August 2013 - 05:30 AM

Yesterday I had a new Genie system installed with 2 client receivers and a main receiver HR44. The physical installation when just fine , the problem arose when neither the technician nor his supervisor nor technical support knew how to provision the system for a wired ethernet cable to the HR44. Finally I stumbled on the solution while they were trying to reset everything. Here are the instructions for using a Genie HR44 wired ethernet for internet access

1)In your router setup turn off your router firewall

2)In your router setup turn off web filtering

3) VERY important make sure DHCP is enabled in your router

3)THIS IS THE MOST IMPORTANT PART

    do NOT go into network setup in the Genie menu

4) On your remote press ( - )  the minus key and it should say Swim connected, Internet connected....Thats it, its just that simple

 The network setting that you get to from the menu on the remote is just for a wireless setup.

 

Why did Directv make it so difficult to do such an easy thing.....Plug in and go with a few adjustments to your router......Just saying...have a great day...Bigboy65 :grin:

I'm sort of surprised DIRECTV would try to do this at all;

 

The techs. are not (at least usually) taught to use wired ethernet to the Genie, nor should going into the router and making those adjustments have been necessary even if they had.

 

Just connect an "active" ethernet cable to the Genie and restart the receiver to turn off its internal CCK WiFi. Then run the network setup.

 

Done.  


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#6 OFFLINE   adamson

adamson

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 512 posts
  • LocationN Central Florida
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 30 August 2013 - 06:00 AM

Whose instructions are these?

 

You never turn off your firewall for anything.

 

Use port range forwarding for "Network Services" example 27162-27163

 

UPNP should be off. More risk if on.

 

The whole networking aspect for the average user is not rocket science. Furthermore a lot of people here know how to set up their HR's for internet access already. BTW my firewall is on and it works.


HR44-700 C41W-100 C41W-100, Ultimate Package, NFL ST, Distant Networks ABC CBS NBC FOX East/West


#7 OFFLINE   sweep49

sweep49

    Legend

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 163 posts
  • LocationSW GA
Joined: Jul 15, 2008

Posted 30 August 2013 - 07:29 AM

I don't understand why the router's firewall would need to be off.  You are trying to access it locally, not from the outside world.  I'd appreciate if someone could enlighten me.


HR22-100 + AM21
HR22-100

HR44-500 + AM21
H21 + AM21

Self installed:
Slimline 5
SWM-16
MRV


#8 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,651 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 30 August 2013 - 07:36 AM

I'm not sure whose 'instructions' those are, but NEVER turn off your router firewall.  Be suspect of any information requiring you to do that.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#9 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,876 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 30 August 2013 - 11:04 AM

Actually there is no need to use port forwarding for network services. That setting should be ignored. 


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#10 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,377 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 30 August 2013 - 02:03 PM

I know I have never had to turn off my firewall.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#11 OFFLINE   Getteau

Getteau

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 811 posts
  • LocationHouston
Joined: Dec 19, 2007

Posted 31 August 2013 - 06:19 AM

I am running unsupported whole home over my ethernet network and all I had to do with my HR44 was to plug-in the ethernet cable before the guy powered it on the first time.  It came up on wired and was able to see the rest of my DVR's.


Thanks,
Rich

HR44-500 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR24-100 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR23-700 - HDMI to Insignia 42" Plasma
HR22-100 - HDMI to LG 32" LCD
HR21-700 - WD 1T Green Power drive - HDMI to Toshiba 65HM167 65" rear projection

R22-200 - Component to Insignia 42" Plasma
R15 - svideo to Toshiba 32" tube tv


#12 OFFLINE   LiQiCE

LiQiCE

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 31 August 2013 - 08:16 PM

If you guys go under Menu -> Settings & Help -> Settings -> Info & Test -> More System Info

 

Scroll down to Network - what does it say under Ethernet?

 

I have the Ethernet cable plugged in and connected to my network - and it was plugged in when my HR44-700 booted up but it says "Disabled" under the System Info.

 

So it is using the DECA connection and it can see other receivers and also is getting an Internet connection from the CCK, but I was hoping to use Ethernet instead.  I still need the CCK because it provides my HR2x's with Internet access.


Owned: HR44-700, HR24-500

Leased: HR24-100


#13 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 31 August 2013 - 11:59 PM

If you guys go under Menu -> Settings & Help -> Settings -> Info & Test -> More System Info

Scroll down to Network - what does it say under Ethernet?

I have the Ethernet cable plugged in and connected to my network - and it was plugged in when my HR44-700 booted up but it says "Disabled" under the System Info.

So it is using the DECA connection and it can see other receivers and also is getting an Internet connection from the CCK, but I was hoping to use Ethernet instead. I still need the CCK because it provides my HR2x's with Internet access.


If you are using a CCK, that will bridge your DECA cloud (receivers) to your home network. You do not need to run Ethernet to the HR44 then. If you run Ethernet to the HR44, it has a built-in bridge between the Ethernet port and its DECA so it can act as a CCK. In that case, you don't want to have the CCK hooked up. It's one or the other. Plugging Ethernet into the HR44 will allow your other receivers to see the Internet.

If you want to use the HR44 as your CCK, disconnect the other CCK and then reboot the HR44. If should pick up that you have the Ethernet cable connected.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#14 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,331 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 01 September 2013 - 03:20 AM

I am running unsupported whole home over my ethernet network and all I had to do with my HR44 was to plug-in the ethernet cable before the guy powered it on the first time.  It came up on wired and was able to see the rest of my DVR's.

 

Ditto

 

If you are using a CCK, that will bridge your DECA cloud (receivers) to your home network. You do not need to run Ethernet to the HR44 then. If you run Ethernet to the HR44, it has a built-in bridge between the Ethernet port and its DECA so it can act as a CCK. In that case, you don't want to have the CCK hooked up. It's one or the other. Plugging Ethernet into the HR44 will allow your other receivers to see the Internet.

If you want to use the HR44 as your CCK, disconnect the other CCK and then reboot the HR44. If should pick up that you have the Ethernet cable connected.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

 

What about using a BSF? Is that necessary when one is not using DECA, CCK, etc. at all, but instead has everything connected via ethernet?


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#15 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,175 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 01 September 2013 - 07:29 AM

Ditto

 

 

What about using a BSF? Is that necessary when one is not using DECA, CCK, etc. at all, but instead has everything connected via ethernet?

Only if there are any pre-H/HR-24 model receivers on the SWiM network, and any SD receivers of course.

 

Will require BSF filters at their satellite inputs.


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#16 OFFLINE   wingrider01

wingrider01

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,764 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 01 September 2013 - 08:36 AM

I know I have never had to turn off my firewall.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

 

If a tech told me to do that they would be escorted out of the house by my boot and then a call to Directv


Edited by wingrider01, 01 September 2013 - 08:38 AM.


#17 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,331 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 01 September 2013 - 09:55 AM

Only if there are any pre-H/HR-24 model receivers on the SWiM network, and any SD receivers of course.

 

Will require BSF filters at their satellite inputs.

 

There are. There are some HR20s, an HR21, and an HR22.

 

What about putting one BSF at the SWM16's out #2, from which the HR44's coax emanates?


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#18 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 01 September 2013 - 09:59 AM

There are. There are some HR20s, an HR21, and an HR22.

What about putting one BSF at the SWM16's out #2, from which the HR44's coax emanates?


As answered in the other thread, yes, that will be fine.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#19 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Special Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,331 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 01 September 2013 - 10:01 AM

Answered there. Thanks.


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

Opinions are my own but should be those of all Americans, who would be much better off intellectually, psychologically, and emotionally if that were the case.


#20 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,507 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 September 2013 - 07:13 PM

Question, Is a BSF directional?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Genie, Wired Ethernet, Internet Access

Protected By... spam firewall...And...