Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Genie upgrade


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,641 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 03 September 2013 - 03:19 PM

Yup, most likely a $99.00 dollar "lease" fee unless you get a deal and a 2 year commitment


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   MrDad0330

MrDad0330

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 07 September 2013 - 07:11 AM

When i get my genie upgrade next Saturday, I will be having the new clients placed im my kitchen(to replace an H21 and in the adjoining living room where i now have an H24. You have told me the clients are so small (maybe like the size of a Roku) that I could mount them to the back of my TV sets and control them with the new remotes that are RF. That would be great but I wonder if the one remote in the kitchen would interfer with the client in the living room since thay are close? And, of course vice versa.

Last, I have a Swim16 with an 8 way spitter and a 4 way spitter feeding off the Swim16. I am thinking that that distribution set up will not be affected and this will just be a equipment change out. I currently have to lines running to two bedrooms not in use but there is the chance my daughter and grandaughter will be moving back with me so can i add in two additional clients if that happens so that I can bring signal to those rooms?

What I will have after next Saturday's intall will be:

Genie in my bedroom (thats where my router and cable modem is)and to replace my aging HR22-100
HR24 in my family room (I am keeping that unit)this is my home theator room
Client: in my living room replacing my H24
Client: in my kitchen replacing my H21

Will I be able to add two client units to my new system IF my daughter and grandaught move back in with me?

#23 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,035 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 07 September 2013 - 08:15 AM

Yes, but the clients won't be free and you can only use three at a time. Two new clients will cost you $200. If you keep your H21 and H24, that will cost you $6 a month each so if the move-in happens in less than 16 months you would be better off keeping the receivers (assuming no price changes, which of course is quite possible)



#24 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,647 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 07 September 2013 - 09:35 AM

Also, keep in mind that no more than eight tuners can exist on one leg of the SWiM 16.


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#25 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,796 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 September 2013 - 01:50 PM

Or he could just pick up a couple h25s when needed as well, and who knows, maybe they will give him a deal for adding more stuff latter in.

Don't worry about multiple rf remotes, you could have ten next to each other and they wouldn't have any issues. Trust me, I know from experience on that one. ;)

I think you will love the new setup. Hopefully you get hr44 and c41s.

Not sure how you use your system, but the genie would go wherever you watch TV the most and the HR24 where every you watch TV the least IMHO. I love the aspect that the clients have full control and access to the genie. In your situation, you are just gaining all around.

Personally, you might want to see if you can record everything you watch on the genie and slowly empty the HR24 from recording duties if possible. Then when your daughter comes you could always move the HR24 to her room and a h25 to her daughters, and isolate them so they have Whole Home Service just for themselves even if you want. Then just add one more client for your stuff. That's if you want to isolate their stuff. Or at least keep her stuff on her own DVR and not take up space on yours for things you don't want to also watch. Just a thought.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app
  • MrDad0330 likes this

#26 OFFLINE   MrDad0330

MrDad0330

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 08 September 2013 - 04:09 AM

inkahauts: Please see my responses in CAPS next to your comments. You have some great ideas and I thank you for you input here. I like your ideas but it just would not be easily done.

Or he could just pick up a couple h25s when needed as well, and who knows, maybe they will give him a deal for adding more stuff latter in.

Don't worry about multiple rf remotes, you could have ten next to each other and they wouldn't have any issues. Trust me, I know from experience on that one. ;) (OK, SO EACH REMOTE IS PROGRAMMED TO A SPECIFIC RECEIVER AND WONT INTERFER WITH ANOTHER CLOSE BY RECEIVER?)

I think you will love the new setup. Hopefully you get hr44 and c41s.

Not sure how you use your system, but the genie would go wherever you watch TV the most and the HR24 where every you watch TV the least IMHO. I love the aspect that the clients have full control and access to the genie. In your situation, you are just gaining all around.(LOL, ACTUALLY IN MY SET UP, MY HR24 IS IN MY FAMILY, HOME THEATOR ROOM. I COULD NOT EASILY CHANGE THAT BE CAUSE I HAVE MY CABLE CO'S RG6 RUNNNING UP TO MY BEDROOM SO MY CABLE MODEM AND ROUTER ARE RIGHT THERE. I MOSTLY DO THIS SO MY ROUTER IS CAT 5 WIRED TO MY DESKTOP PC WHERE I HAVE MY COMPUTOR. I PREFER TO HAVE THIS SET UP AS OPPOSED TO PICKING UP MY SIGNAL WIRELESSLY. ALSO, IF I WERE TO MOVE MY CABLE MODEM TO MY LIVING ROOM, I CAN SEE SIGNAL DROP OUTS UP TO MY BEDROOM SO I WOULD RATHER KEEP MY ROUTER UP THERE UNLESS I WANT TO FISH CAT 5 FROM MY FAMILY ROOM UP TO MY BEDROOM (60FT). WITH MY CURRENT SET UP, I AM DOING EXACTLY THE OPPOSITE OF WHAT YOU SUGGEST IN THAT THE GENIE IS WHERE I WATCH THE LEAST TV AND THE HR24 WHERE I WATCH THE MOST. THE OTHER QUESTION IS THIS: CAN I ACCESS MY RECORDINGS OFF MY GENIE FROM MY HR24 AND VICE VERSA?)

Personally, you might want to see if you can record everything you watch on the genie and slowly empty the HR24 from recording duties if possible. Then when your daughter comes you could always move the HR24 to her room and a h25 to her daughters, and isolate them so they have Whole Home Service just for themselves even if you want. Then just add one more client for your stuff. That's if you want to isolate their stuff. Or at least keep her stuff on her own DVR and not take up space on yours for things you don't want to also watch. Just a thought.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

 

#27 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 08 September 2013 - 07:05 AM

The RF remotes are paired to a specific receiver. You actually enter in the last 6 digits of the receiver's ID number as part of programming it.

With regard to placement of the Genie, I'm guessing that your concern is that if you put the Genie in the Family Room you won't have an Ethernet cable to hook it up? I see that you already have an HR22 in the bedroom where your router is. Basically, the HR24 would take the place of the HR22. The installer would add a splitter up there and install a Cinema Connection Kit there and you could hardwire that to your router. That would give Internet access to ALL of your receivers. The Genie could then be in the Family Room.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#28 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,796 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 08 September 2013 - 01:13 PM

What merg said. No need to run extra lines and keeps you hard wired. :)


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#29 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,641 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 September 2013 - 05:08 PM

The RF remotes are paired to a specific receiver. You actually enter in the last 6 digits of the receiver's ID number as part of programming it.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

not anymore with the newer RC71 and C31/41 they dont have RID numbes


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#30 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,641 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 September 2013 - 05:08 PM

The installer would add a splitter up there and install a Cinema Connection Kit there and you could hardwire that to your router. That would give Internet access to ALL of your receivers. The Genie could then be in the Family Room.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Very good idea!


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#31 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 08 September 2013 - 05:15 PM

Very good idea!


A blue moon comes along every now and then...


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#32 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 08 September 2013 - 05:16 PM

not anymore with the newer RC71 and C31/41 they dont have RID numbes

True. Forgot about that (especially since I refuse to use the RC71)...


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#33 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,796 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 09 September 2013 - 01:00 PM

not anymore with the newer RC71 and C31/41 they dont have RID numbes

yeah but they are still specific to a receiver. No issues using multiple ones to different receivers in the same room.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#34 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 09 September 2013 - 01:07 PM

yeah but they are still specific to a receiver. No issues using multiple ones to different receivers in the same room.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app


Think he was just pointing out the error in my post...


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#35 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,641 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 September 2013 - 03:40 PM

Think he was just pointing out the error in my post...


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

yup.  but more like for other readers since I know you know better  :yesman:


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#36 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 09 September 2013 - 06:01 PM

yup.  but more like for other readers since I know you know better  :yesman:

 

I have you fooled then, don't I?


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#37 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,796 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 10 September 2013 - 01:17 AM

:lol:

I wonder if they are still identified via the rec I'd in some way. We will likely never know though.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#38 OFFLINE   MrDad0330

MrDad0330

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 11:34 AM

Well i took the leap and had Genie installed today and I listened to all of your suggestions. I did get the HR44, the installer said they just got them in..so i was even more happy. I did have the Genie installed in my Fam Room where i watch my most TV and my home theater is. I had to have an optical output to use in my home theater so I had to have the HR44 so I was good to go. So he moved my HR24 up to my bedroom where my modem and router are and he said the whole house would connect there and I didnt have to have the Genie up there. That was perfect. Then he intalled my clients in my kitchen and Liv Room to replace the Hxxx receivers but he used "C31" clients. I thought he was to use C41 clients?? Also he left me with RC66RX remotes..the older looking ones.. I thought the new genie remotes were black and a little more sleek looking. All and all im happy and in the kitchen where I had a H21 up on top of the fridge, I know mounted the client behind the TV with two sided tape and with RF, it works great and nothing on top my frig!! Just wondered why he used the C31 client and I didnt get the new style remotes?

#39 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 12:47 PM

They might not have had the C41's. As for the new style remote, I believe they will only leave them if you state that you need to use RF (as the HR44 can only use the RC71 remote for RF).

 

And IMHO, I can't stand the new RC71 remotes.

 

- Merg


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#40 OFFLINE   MrDad0330

MrDad0330

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 01:21 PM

Well the ones he left he programmed for rf and it seems fine




spam firewall