Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 weirdness

Whole Home

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Bruce M.

Bruce M.

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 02 September 2013 - 02:52 PM

So has anyone experienced this?  

 

Just got a supposedly brand new HR34 installed by a tech in my whole home set-up.  The other receiver is an HR24-500.  I can play any recorded program on the TV to which the 24-500 is attached, fine in all respects.  When I try to watch the same program on the HR34 through whole home, the program slows down, then starts and stops, on both video and audio.  It doesn't pixelate, but is completely un-watchable.  System test shows no networking problem.  

 

I called a CSR, who decided it was probably a bad HR34, and is sending another one out with another install tech.  Once I verified with the first guy that the whole home was working sufficiently to show the same list on both TVs, I thought I was good.  I didn't think to actually play a whole home recorded program on the HR34 before he left....



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,468 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 02 September 2013 - 09:01 PM

Have you done a menu reset on both DVRs?


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#3 OFFLINE   Bruce M.

Bruce M.

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 03 September 2013 - 12:39 AM

What is a menu reset?  I've done soft and hard resets of both of them... 



#4 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 06:41 AM

What is a menu reset? I've done soft and hard resets of both of them...


A menu reset is going through the Setup menu to restart the receiver. The other type of reset is a Red Button Reset (RBR), which should only be used if you can't do a menu reset.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#5 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,826 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 03 September 2013 - 07:38 AM

The networking test isn't that useful. It's not going to show marginal MRV performance issues. My guess is that there is or was either a poor quality connection between the two locations, or the cable run was in excess of 150'. I know there are online resources for DIRECTV Advanced Coax Networking, probably a search will turn them up.


Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#6 OFFLINE   Bruce M.

Bruce M.

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 03 September 2013 - 04:34 PM

A data point I implied but failed to mention is that Whole Home was working perfectly fine, on both DVRs, when my HR21 was operational.  It's only when the Genie replaced the HR21 that this weird behavior started.

 

Cable run is far less than 150 feet. 

 

I'll find out soon enough, I suppose.  If the new Genie being installed tomorrow does the same thing, then it's almost certain that networking has become the problem...

 

I wonder why the CSR had me reset the DVRs by unplugging both of them, as opposed to doing a menu reset or red button reset...?



#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,468 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 03 September 2013 - 04:36 PM

 

 

I wonder why the CSR had me reset the DVRs by unplugging both of them, as opposed to doing a menu reset or red button reset...?

Because is easier and it causes less confussions


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#8 OFFLINE   Bruce M.

Bruce M.

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 04 September 2013 - 11:57 PM

Well, that was interesting.  Wasn't the Genie.  It was the fact that the Genie doesn't like to work with another DVR that's wired to the ethernet, or so the tech said.  Of course, no other CSR or tech has said such a thing during this process, but this one set me up with a wireless DECA and now Whole Home works flawlessly.  Live and learn...

 

Thanks for the thoughts in the meantime, in any event.  Great board....



#9 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,728 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 05 September 2013 - 11:27 PM

Wait, what model hr21 did you have, whas it a hr21-100?  did he swap it out by chance?



#10 OFFLINE   Bruce M.

Bruce M.

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 06 September 2013 - 10:19 AM

Yes, it was the hr 21-100.  He took it.  Said a swap was no longer possible.  This is the receiver that the Genie replaced.

 

By the way, the Thermaltake/WD30EURS combination for an external drive on the HR34 recommended by others seems to work very well indeed.  Installed the drive last night.  Got a "formatting external storage device" message on start up.  And, sure enough, the Genie saw it fine.
 



#11 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,728 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 06 September 2013 - 01:26 PM

Yeah the model is capable but its a cluster of a work around to get it to work right. Be thrilled he replaced it. :)


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Whole Home

spam firewall