Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

GenieGo Error 8-54-0


Best Answer woj027 , 03 September 2013 - 01:15 PM

Ok I think it was all about the HR20.  It was the 8th and 9th feeds on the 8 feed SWM.  It caused conflicts throughout the system

 

I now have one Genie Mini client connected and I can use GenieGo!!!

Go to the full post


  • Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 02 September 2013 - 09:46 PM

If you are using the Linksys just as a switch, just keep the wireless off on it and be sure the DHCP server on it is turned off as well. You should be able to log into the Linksys and set it up to obtain an IP address from the AE or you can assign it a static IP address within the same subnet as the AE.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app


Ok. I will try my luck.
I can't log into it the way things are set up right now. Hopefully I can just switch a network cable or two and plug the modem directly into it so I can modify it.

If not.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,600 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 03 September 2013 - 12:34 AM

Problem might be related to your Sonos. Try disconnecting that and reset everything again.  See more details about the Sonos issue here ....

http://forums.direct...thread/11252369


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#43 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 06:21 AM

Problem might be related to your Sonos. Try disconnecting that and reset everything again.  See more details about the Sonos issue here ....

http://forums.direct...thread/11252369

maybe.

 

But I'm sure everything was working before I reactivated my HR20.



#44 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 06:48 AM

ok, heading to work.  gonna buy a hammer.

 

I have the genie go, and DECA both on the Airport Extreme.  1 amber light  1 blue light.

 

 and still 5 of 6 on the network connectivity, unable to set up out of home.  I'm on the same wireless network.

 

if I move the cables to the linksys which is behind the AE I get 3 blue lights but cannot connect to that router to set up its ports



#45 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 07:31 AM

any thoughts about this problem fixing itself If I drop the 2 HR units and just connect the Genie Clients?  

 

The whole purpose of keeping the HR's on the system was to watch the already recorded shows.



#46 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 07:41 AM

I have two of these... http://www.newegg.co...N82E16833166035


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

for the extra $5 is this one worth it?  or should I just go with your suggestion?

 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16833166078



#47 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,254 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 08:02 AM

for the extra $5 is this one worth it? or should I just go with your suggestion?

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16833166078


For a home use environment, the first one is fine.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#48 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 08:34 AM

Found this on Amazon,

 

http://www.amazon.co...tch with 3-Year

 

Trigger pulled.



#49 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,254 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 09:14 AM

Found this on Amazon,

http://www.amazon.co...tch with 3-Year

Trigger pulled.


Perfect.


- Merg

Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#50 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,908 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 11:27 AM

There isn't a lot of technology in a 8 port switch.

If Staples, Office Depot, Frys,  or Office Max has one at a reasonable price, buy it today and bring it home.

As others have stated, save $ and pick something up.

 

The key to getting everything working including OOH without pain, is one modem, talking to one router with the 8 port switch.



#51 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 11:35 AM

Ok so I'm out of luck for my trip. Argh.

I still find it odd that OOH doesn't work when I have the modem go directly to AirPort Extreme then two ports out of AE 1 to DECA. 2 to GenieGo yet it still doesn't work


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#52 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,254 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 11:51 AM

Ok so I'm out of luck for my trip. Argh.

I still find it odd that OOH doesn't work when I have the modem go directly to AirPort Extreme then two ports out of AE 1 to DECA. 2 to GenieGo yet it still doesn't work


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

 

One you have the Linksys router out of the way, we can be certain that your devices are grabbing an IP address only from the AE. If you can disconnect the Linksys for now and hook the DECA and GenieGo to the AE, do that. Perform a 30-second reset on the GenieGo and rerun Network Setup on the receivers. That should ensure they are all getting new IP addresses.

 

- Merg


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#53 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 12:08 PM

Ok so I turned on the HR44 and it said that I needed a hardware upgrade (775?)  the (776?)   too many receivers.  could this be my problem?

 

I'm going nuts!

 

I just ran network setup on the hr23 and it says connected to network now.

 

going to try my luck on Hr20



#54 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 12:15 PM

could i have too many feeds being requested?   I have 9 right now (HR44(5), HR23(2), HR20(2))

 

HR20 network setup says I need Sat Dish Alignment, Cannot detect Internet, and Phone line (duh)


Edited by woj027, 03 September 2013 - 12:17 PM.


#55 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 01:15 PM   Best Answer

Ok I think it was all about the HR20.  It was the 8th and 9th feeds on the 8 feed SWM.  It caused conflicts throughout the system

 

I now have one Genie Mini client connected and I can use GenieGo!!!



#56 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,254 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 01:36 PM

That would be it. You can't have more than 8 tuners on a SWM-LNB. To have the HR20, you need to have a SWM16 or you could set the HR20 to only use 1 tuner.

 

- Merg


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#57 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 823 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 03 September 2013 - 03:47 PM

Yes, moral of the story

 

"Simple SWM set-up  8 tuners good, 9 tuners bad"






Protected By... spam firewall...And...