Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * - - 2 votes

Freezing/Pixelation issues on your Genie? Here's how you can help


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
191 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   Tom Servo

Tom Servo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 964 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 10 November 2013 - 07:04 PM

Hope they roll out something for the HR34 as well, then. After about a week of smooth sailing after I sent the diagnostics report, it began looping and pixelating real bad during my local NBC newscast recording this evening. Sent from my A700 using DBSTalk mobile app

Edited by Tom Servo, 10 November 2013 - 07:05 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   AZ_Engineer

AZ_Engineer

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2007

Posted 10 November 2013 - 11:05 PM

This weekend I started having a freezing video problem.  It happened on Pro Football this afternoon and again on the Amazing Race that played tonight.  The manifestation for me is the picture freezes but audio continues.  With amazing race it froze at 7:13 and I could get the cursor to skip forward to the 15 min increments but it would keep jumping back to the frozen video section.  I was watching live so I switched to watching the recording and it froze at the same spot and behaved the same way.  Also if you leave it playing with the frozen video the audio continues.  If you try to FF or skip it returns the the frozen video frame and starts the audio at that point again.  I am running the disk diagnostic tests now so I can't share SW version.

 

No pixelation issues for me and the frozen video screen never unfreezed (at least when left for about 30 min).  the audio kept playing.

 

I read on a DTV forum that there are issues with NBC but I think mine were CBS.


Edited by AZ_Engineer, 10 November 2013 - 11:07 PM.


#128 OFFLINE   Jason Whiddon

Jason Whiddon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,282 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2006

Posted 11 November 2013 - 03:16 PM

This weekend I started having a freezing video problem.  It happened on Pro Football this afternoon and again on the Amazing Race that played tonight.  The manifestation for me is the picture freezes but audio continues.  With amazing race it froze at 7:13 and I could get the cursor to skip forward to the 15 min increments but it would keep jumping back to the frozen video section.  I was watching live so I switched to watching the recording and it froze at the same spot and behaved the same way.  Also if you leave it playing with the frozen video the audio continues.  If you try to FF or skip it returns the the frozen video frame and starts the audio at that point again.  I am running the disk diagnostic tests now so I can't share SW version.

 

No pixelation issues for me and the frozen video screen never unfreezed (at least when left for about 30 min).  the audio kept playing.

 

I read on a DTV forum that there are issues with NBC but I think mine were CBS.

My genie has been fine since Sept when it was installed, but Im starting to see this one recordings from 2 weeks ago. HBO Boardwalk empire was BAD, but just skipping forward would make it OK until is started pixellating and freeze again. Also had it show up on live tv Saturday with ESPN. ESPN started getting real herky jerky, change channel, then change back its OK. I sure hope this new FW helps out, Ive not gotten it yet.


65" VT50 / BDP-S7200
Denon AVR-4520CI
Klipsch RF82 II and RC62 II / Hsu VTF-15H (2)
Directv HR44-200 / HR24-500

 


#129 OFFLINE   docj

docj

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2013

Posted 11 November 2013 - 05:03 PM

My genie has been fine since Sept when it was installed, but Im starting to see this one recordings from 2 weeks ago. HBO Boardwalk empire was BAD, but just skipping forward would make it OK until is started pixellating and freeze again. Also had it show up on live tv Saturday with ESPN. ESPN started getting real herky jerky, change channel, then change back its OK. I sure hope this new FW helps out, Ive not gotten it yet.

 

Quite a few people here (including me) have mentioned that Boardwalk Empire show of two weeks ago.  It would be really interesting to know what about a particular episode of a specific show can make it more prone to these problems than other shows or even other episodes of the same show.



#130 OFFLINE   Tom Servo

Tom Servo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 964 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 11 November 2013 - 08:56 PM

It's has been my experience that the most likely time for this issue to occur, at least for me, is during scenes with a lot of movement... Like graphical transitions between news stores or noisy video segments.

And also NBC. Almost never on other channels...

#131 OFFLINE   VaJim

VaJim

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 652 posts
  • LocationVirginia beach va
Joined: Jul 26, 2006

Posted 14 November 2013 - 07:52 PM

I called dtv today. In the end. I was told to set up a recording on the genie in the known time/channel that's been causing a problem. Then I was told to set up the same recording on one of our other machines (hr-21) thus producing a dual recording. If we continue to see the problem on the genie and NOT on the other machine. Dtv may end up replacing the genie. If the problem is on both machines then dtv said its with the broadcasting and they would work it from that end. All of this was annotated on our account for when we call back. We do have the protection plan.


We tried this (above) for awhile and it seem to fix the pix problem. Then took the record from the hr-21 and now the problem is back. Anyone experience this., Genie has 799

#132 OFFLINE   Tom Servo

Tom Servo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 964 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 14 November 2013 - 11:18 PM

Sigh. Now in addition to pixelated, jumpy segments, as of tonight I'm getting frozen images on both DVR and live content. Only way around it is to change channels on live or fast forward way beyond on recorded content.

#133 OFFLINE   Tom Servo

Tom Servo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 964 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 14 November 2013 - 11:18 PM

Sigh. Now in addition to pixelated, jumpy segments, as of tonight I'm getting frozen images on both DVR and live content. Only way around it is to change channels on live or fast forward way beyond on recorded content.

#134 OFFLINE   jefte1

jefte1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2010

Posted 15 November 2013 - 09:41 AM

I have a hr34 I have had it for about 1.5 months now at first my local news on NBC was fine, but here lately when I go to play ti back it pixilates here and there thru out the program. this is the only program to do this and we watch alot of recorded TV..



#135 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,885 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 15 November 2013 - 07:30 PM

Where are you located? (I have read a lot of posts that indicate NBC in particular, in some local markets, are prone to this.)


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#136 OFFLINE   Tom Servo

Tom Servo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 964 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 16 November 2013 - 02:22 AM

Where are you located? (I have read a lot of posts that indicate NBC in particular, in some local markets, are prone to this.)

I'm in the Mobile-Pensacola market.  My NBC affiliate is WPMI ("Local 15") and they also happen to have a horrible audio problem they can't seem to fix.  Everything sounds like it's AM radio.  Really good AM radio, but still not like the other channels.  It's that way on OTA and cable as well.

 

I can't figure out what NBC affiliates might be doing to cause this.  Each station's setup is usually pretty unique from the brand of transmitter to the subchannels they carry.



#137 OFFLINE   jefte1

jefte1

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2010

Posted 16 November 2013 - 08:48 AM

I am from the greenville, SC area the local station is wyff. this is the only time it pixalates.and it only happens on playback as far as I can tell , of course i hardly ever watch it live. Hopefully they will fix the problem soon.



#138 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,885 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 16 November 2013 - 09:09 AM

I'm in the Mobile-Pensacola market.  My NBC affiliate is WPMI ("Local 15") and they also happen to have a horrible audio problem they can't seem to fix.  Everything sounds like it's AM radio.  Really good AM radio, but still not like the other channels.  It's that way on OTA and cable as well.

 

I can't figure out what NBC affiliates might be doing to cause this.  Each station's setup is usually pretty unique from the brand of transmitter to the subchannels they carry.

My guess- and hopefully not just a WAG- is that there are encoding incompatiblities when the local redoes the national feed. Hopefully someone else from your area will chime in. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#139 OFFLINE   AWAX1978

AWAX1978

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2007

Posted 16 November 2013 - 11:20 AM

Had the same problem of random freezing on both live and DVR programs. I put up up with a handful of reboots, but near the end, it started to reboot itself. DTV scheduled a tech but I reset it once more and it wouldn't work but gave me an error code 14-220. I called them back and gave them the code and they sent me a replacement HR34. Yes I lost a ton of recordings but I have to praise DTV for always providing me with great service in resolving these type of issues (IMO).

Sent from my SM-N900T using DBSTalk mobile app



#140 OFFLINE   MysteryMan

MysteryMan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,256 posts
  • LocationUSA
Joined: May 17, 2010

Posted 18 November 2013 - 09:59 AM

My HR34-700 froze twice early this morning while watching live TV. This has been a problem since my Genie received 0x744. Time for a service call.


DIRECTV customer since 1995.


#141 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 611 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 18 November 2013 - 10:15 AM

My HR34-700 froze twice early this morning while watching live TV. This has been a problem since my Genie received 0x744. Time for a service call.

I don't think a service call will do any good, the problem is with the Genie and 0x0744 or 0x0797 or 0x0799.  I had several problems watching recordings from last night on my HR44-500.  One major freeze was right at the start of Almost Human and about 1 minute of the start would not play.  I had a backup recording on my HR21-700, and that played without problems. 

 

DirecTV has a serious basic function problem with the current firmware levels of the Genie.  My wife and I have about had it with the Genie and I'm now wondering if two HR24s would be a better option.  Or maybe a class action suit against DirecTV to get out of my current contract.

 

By the way, the Boardwalk Empire that recorded on 10/27 that was commented about earlier in this thread was unwatchable on my HR44 and played without problems on my HR21.


Edited by bpratt, 18 November 2013 - 10:19 AM.

HR10-250   250G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD 0x097f AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD 0x097f AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD 0x09f6
DirecTV since 1997


#142 OFFLINE   dean P

dean P

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 18 November 2013 - 11:27 PM

I have had Directv for about three years now.  My HR34 was occasionally acting up with freezes with 744.  I now have 799 and it is much worse!  If I have to replace my DVR I will be very upset.  I have a few, almost completed, seasons of shows that I was saving for later viewing, all of which will be lost with a receiver change.  If it wasn't for Sunday Ticket I would seriously be considering going back to Dish.  At least with Dish I could be using an external drive married to my account rather than the idiotic way Directv does it being married to a buggy receiver. They really need to pull their heads out and at least follow Dish's lead on this one feature at least.  I don't really care what their reasoning is because it is faulty reasoning.  If Dish can do it so can they.  If I do lose all these recordings there will be only Sunday Ticket keeping me here.  When Directv loses the exclusivity I'll be gone, unless they change that policy.



#143 OFFLINE   Kevin L

Kevin L

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 97 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Florida
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 19 November 2013 - 09:17 AM

I have a TiVo Roamio Pro (6-tuner) with Comcast basic cable that I use to backup all the network shows I record on the HR44-500. Since many of them are unwatchable on the HR44, we use the TiVo to watch them. Unfortunately, there are a lot of non-network shows I record on the HR44 and they freezing is awful. Fox News Channel freezes a lot. I hope this gets fixed soon.

 

Kevin



#144 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 611 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 19 November 2013 - 10:29 AM

I have a TiVo Roamio Pro (6-tuner) with Comcast basic cable that I use to backup all the network shows I record on the HR44-500. Since many of them are unwatchable on the HR44, we use the TiVo to watch them. Unfortunately, there are a lot of non-network shows I record on the HR44 and they freezing is awful. Fox News Channel freezes a lot. I hope this gets fixed soon.

 

Kevin

So why keep DirecTV if your TiVo Roamio works well with Comcast?  Are you having any problems with your TiVo?


HR10-250   250G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD 0x097f AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD 0x097f AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD 0x09f6
DirecTV since 1997


#145 OFFLINE   Getteau

Getteau

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 818 posts
  • LocationHouston
Joined: Dec 19, 2007

Posted 20 November 2013 - 09:27 PM

HR44-500

firmware 0x797

report 20131120-126E

 

Got the 797 firmware this morning at 2:35AM and I just started noticing freezing and pixelation as I was watching TV tonight.  The screen is frozen black as I send this report.  The pixelation started right after the box gave me a message along the lines of loss of Signal on sat in 1 and then a couple of seconds later it gave me the same message for sat 2.  The black screen went away when I hit the channel up.  I was watching The Big Bang Theory on Chanel 26 in Houston when the screen froze black.

 

Also posting to the issues thread.


Thanks,
Rich

HR44-500 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR24-100 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR23-700 - HDMI to Insignia 42" Plasma
HR22-100 - HDMI to LG 32" LCD
HR21-700 - WD 1T Green Power drive - HDMI to Toshiba 65HM167 65" rear projection

R22-200 - Component to Insignia 42" Plasma
R15 - svideo to Toshiba 32" tube tv


#146 OFFLINE   Getteau

Getteau

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 818 posts
  • LocationHouston
Joined: Dec 19, 2007

Posted 21 November 2013 - 06:33 PM

HR44-500

firmware 0x797

report 20131121-1309

 

Black screen happened again tonight.  The screen is frozen black as I send this report.  I got the message about loss of Signal on sat in 2 and then it went blank.  The black screen went away when I hit the channel up.  I was watching Fox Business on channel 359 when it occurred.  Posted to the issues thread as well.

 

Edit to add

It happened again and while I was on the frozen black screen, I went to the signal meter.  I didn't stay long, but it looked like I was losing signal on the odd transponders on 101 for at least tuner 1, 2 and 5.  I went to my HR24 in another room that is on the same leg of my SWM-16 and the signal for 101 on tuners 1 and 2 were in the 97's to 100's.  So it looks like this release is knocking out the tuners somehow.


Edited by Getteau, 21 November 2013 - 07:11 PM.

Thanks,
Rich

HR44-500 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR24-100 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR23-700 - HDMI to Insignia 42" Plasma
HR22-100 - HDMI to LG 32" LCD
HR21-700 - WD 1T Green Power drive - HDMI to Toshiba 65HM167 65" rear projection

R22-200 - Component to Insignia 42" Plasma
R15 - svideo to Toshiba 32" tube tv


#147 OFFLINE   Kevin L

Kevin L

    AllStar

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 97 posts
  • LocationSouthwest Florida
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 22 November 2013 - 09:36 AM

So why keep DirecTV if your TiVo Roamio works well with Comcast?  Are you having any problems with your TiVo?

I really like the programming and PQ with DirecTV. I've been a sub for ten years or so, and have gone through my share of receivers, including HDVR2s, MS Ultimate TVs, three HR10-250s at $900 a piece, three HR20s, and now the HR44-500. I'm a Premier subscriber and have always had all the movie channels. The HR44 is the first receiver that drives me crazy. I've had it since May or June (ordered from Solid Signal) and gradually retired my three HR20s (two owned, one leased) and now use only the HR44 without any clients. The features are great; it's the freezing problem that is maddening. Plus, on Fox News Channel (360) the time doesn't sync. Most of the time the bar displays about 5 minutes slow (show starts 5 mins early) whether using the buffer or recorded viewing. On the recorded shows, it starts 5 mins into the show. On Wednesday night, it was off by a half hour.  

 

About three years ago, Comcast called to say they could upgrade my cable internet to Ultra for free if I added basic cable for $2 per month. I didn't use the cable at first, but then bought a TiVo Premier 2-tuner and used it to supplement the six tuners from the three HR20s, and as backup in case sat went out. When the TiVo Roamio with 6 tuners came out, I swapped out the Premier. I still only get basic cable (basically the major networks) and don't intend to add more. Where the TiVo and Comcast are supposed to be backup to the HR44, for major networks the TiVo is now the primary until DTV fixes this freezing issue.

 

In some respects I like the TiVo Roamio (it's much faster) over the HR44, and it works as advertised.

 

Kevin



#148 OFFLINE   jborchel

jborchel

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 172 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2005

Posted 22 November 2013 - 01:17 PM

I'm having same problems. I have 0x799. About a month ago I had a bunch of disk errors show on the screen after resetting. Got up to over 600 errors that were corrected according to the screen. So when the freezing continued to happen over the last month and it seemed like I had to unplug the thing to get it to unfreeze. Direct is sending me a replacement HR34. After reading this thread I'm not sure it will fix things and I am going to loose a lot of recordings.



#149 OFFLINE   jrangel

jrangel

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Nov 25, 2012

Posted 23 November 2013 - 12:17 PM

I'm having the same problems. I have 0x797. This morning is the worst. The HR44 was locked up. It did not record any of the Saturday morning shows. It has been freezing on live tv. I have not seen the pixilation. I just had to do the red button reset as it did not respond to remote. It just booted up and looks like it happened last night. I have only had this a month as it was a replacement for the HR34 that was acting up.



#150 OFFLINE   ilovfriday

ilovfriday

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2005

Posted 26 November 2013 - 03:50 PM

This has regrettably caused me to decide to leave DirecTV, this problem has been happening for several months with no acknowledgment from DirecTV.  During this time I have been trying to figure out where else I can get TV from (options are Dish, Comcast and U-Verse) but each has their own issues and I finally decided that I am going to be a cord-cutter; 90% of the stuff I watch can be had OTA or from Hulu/Amazon/Itunes.  I have had to resort to those options as most of my shows are not watchable so the ineptness of DirecTV showed me I am paying way to much for their service. 

 

I know many friends and family members experiencing this issue who are fed up; most I recommended so some of their angst is directed at me.  I am not sure I will ever be able to suggest people sign up for DirecTV again.  I wish everyone well; I hope they get this issue fixed soon for the rest of you guys.






Protected By... spam firewall...And...