Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Will my current dish work with HR44 Genie?


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   JRS7

JRS7

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2008

Posted 07 September 2013 - 05:09 PM

I currently have a Direct TV HR22 DVR hooked to a Slimline dish with a Ka/Ku 5 Satellite LNB with a built in multi-switch.  I have 2 coax cables running into the house, as the HR22 needs 2 coax feeds, both have a 'B-band' converter where the coax cables go into the receiver.

 

Wanting to upgrade to an HR44 Genie, but I see that it only has one coax input on the back.  Will my dish still work with the HR22?  Do I still need the B-band converter?  Or do I need some other switch? 

 

Any help would be appreciated.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,079 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 07 September 2013 - 05:14 PM

The dish will work, but you'll need a SWM LNB. No need for BBCs.


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   JRS7

JRS7

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2008

Posted 08 September 2013 - 12:23 AM

The dish will work, but you'll need a SWM LNB. No need for BBCs.

Do I need to swap out the entire LNB, or just add an SWM switch to it?  The LNB says it has a built in switch, but it don't say SWM on it anywhere.



#4 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,220 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 08 September 2013 - 03:54 AM

The Genie requires a Single Wire type Multiswitch or "SWiM." The built in "multiswitch" on your current LNB is a legacy voltage/voltage+tone type.

 

You can upgrade to SWiM by either swapping out the current legacy LNB for a SWiM integrated type. Or keep the present LNB and connect it to an out board SWiM-8 or -16 multiswitch.

 

The second option gives you an easier upgrade path if you ever go beyond the need of 8 satellite tuners.  


Edited by HoTat2, 08 September 2013 - 03:58 AM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#5 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,866 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 08 September 2013 - 05:45 PM

If you are planning on to have just the Genie, I would get a SWM LNB


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#6 OFFLINE   JRS7

JRS7

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2008

Posted 08 September 2013 - 10:07 PM

If you are planning on to have just the Genie, I would get a SWM LNB

If I get the SWM LNB, I don't need the 8 way splitter do I?  Will just the LNB and the power inserter be enough?  Which inserter?  Amazon has two, a 21 Volt and a 28 Volt....

 

Do I understand that if you don't have one of the splitters, you want the 21 volt? If I'm using just the Genie, all I need is the SWM LNB and the power inserter?



#7 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,490 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 09 September 2013 - 01:04 PM

Either power inserter should work fine.  Since you will only have one receiver (and therefore, will only need one wire), you don't need a splitter.  If you think that you may add another receiver in the future, it might be a good idea to run that single cable through a location where it would make sense to put a splitter (leaving some slack in the cable at that spot).  That way, you would just need to cut your exiting cable at that spot, add a couple of F-connectors and insert the splitter.



#8 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,820 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 09 September 2013 - 01:26 PM

Get the 21unless you have a really long run I'd say. Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#9 OFFLINE   JRS7

JRS7

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2008

Posted 09 September 2013 - 06:46 PM

Thanks for all the help!  Ordered my Genie today from Amazon, and an LNB with a 21Volt power inserter, and a 4 way splitter in case I need it later from Ebay! 

 

I'll be recording the Vikings, Cowboys, Rams, and Broncos all at the same time if need be!!  ;)

 



#10 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • Registered
  • 12,930 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 09 September 2013 - 07:16 PM

How about some good teams like the Niners and Packers??

 

:)

 

Enjoy your Genie!


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#11 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,866 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 09 September 2013 - 08:36 PM

How about some good teams like the Niners and Packers??

 

:)

 

Enjoy your Genie!

!rolling


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#12 OFFLINE   JRS7

JRS7

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2008

Posted 09 September 2013 - 08:48 PM

How about some good teams like the Niners and Packers??

 

:)

 

Enjoy your Genie!

I'm sorry, but I seem to remember that the Rams went UNDEFEATED against the 49ers last year!  One win, one tie, no losses!! :)

 

In fact, the Rams went 4-1-1 against their division last year, thank you very much! That division is going to be a lot of fun this year.......


Edited by JRS7, 09 September 2013 - 08:49 PM.


#13 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • Registered
  • 12,930 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 09 September 2013 - 09:28 PM

You're right, I overlooked that in the excitement of post season play....

 

And welcome to DBSTalk! Glad to have more folks who can give and take some joshing. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#14 OFFLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,225 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 10 September 2013 - 03:51 PM

You do realize that JRS7 already had the BEST TEAM already in his post?? :) :)


My Setup

#15 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • Registered
  • 12,930 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 10 September 2013 - 04:39 PM

You do realize that JRS7 already had the BEST TEAM already in his post?? :) :)

Yes, indeed. I've highlighted it for your convenience...

 

 

 

 

I'm sorry, but I seem to remember that the Rams went UNDEFEATED against the 49ers last year!  One win, one tie, no losses!

:rotfl:


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#16 OFFLINE   JRS7

JRS7

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2008

Posted 10 September 2013 - 06:48 PM

You're right, I overlooked that in the excitement of post season play....

 

And welcome to DBSTalk! Glad to have more folks who can give and take some joshing. 

Lol....touche! 

 

Although that would have been better if you had said: "You're right, somehow I overlooked the 0-1-1 record against the Rams in the excitement of watching the 49ers in the Super Bowl!"


  • Laxguy likes this




Protected By... spam firewall...And...