Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Why won't Direct Tv send me a HR24 for me to install?


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,071 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 09 September 2013 - 07:31 PM

You could always see if dtv will discount your account enough to offset getting one from solid signal. I'd get a genie though and require your system personally. Can't fathom ever not having a genie again.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,031 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 10 September 2013 - 08:48 AM

I guess I will keep my two hr20-700 boxes until they bite dust. One of them is in a cabinet and I have fans keeping it at 111 in the hot summer. The other box in my bedroom stays around 102. I would assume keeping them cool will help their longevity. Steve

 

Their normal running temps are between 123-126 degrees F.

 

Rich



#28 OFFLINE   otaliema

otaliema

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 172 posts
  • LocationMid-west USA
Joined: Aug 09, 2012

Posted 10 September 2013 - 09:26 AM

Honestly reading this thread back over, as  you have your HR20's with externals and fans to keep them cool, going to a HR24 will only net you a faster guide.

As the system is not recognizing the switch you installed at your house an installer will be required for any order with D* so at that point might as well go for the Genie and get that new top of the line and replace the non DVR in your house that way you add to your recording ability not just minorly upgrade them. 

The HR20's are compatible with the SWiM dish and the MRV tech. 

If one of the HR20's is a HR20-100 it will need a funky wiring but it will work. 


I am a former DIRECTV employee however all statements opinions, views, expressions, etc, are entirely my own even if logic says otherwise.

They DO NOT reflect on DIRECTV and or any partner, affiliated company's, polices, processes, opinions, or things that are not listed here.

Set up. HR24-200, HR24-200, HR22-200, H23-600. Whole Home, BBCCK, SL3 SWiM.

I have found that working with computers is like working with a toddler, sometimes there is no reason for the melt down, just keep on moving forward.


#29 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,031 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 10 September 2013 - 09:52 AM

Honestly reading this thread back over, as  you have your HR20's with externals and fans to keep them cool, going to a HR24 will only net you a faster guide.

 

The HR20's are compatible with the SWiM dish and the MRV tech. 

If one of the HR20's is a HR20-100 it will need a funky wiring but it will work. 

 

MRV slows the 20-700s down very noticeably.  Without using MRV my one lonely 20-700 is almost as fast as the 24s.  I do run 10 HRs on my MRV setup, so you might see more speed from a 20-700 on a smaller setup.

 

Rich



#30 OFFLINE   otaliema

otaliema

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 172 posts
  • LocationMid-west USA
Joined: Aug 09, 2012

Posted 10 September 2013 - 10:27 AM

MRV slows the 20-700s down very noticeably.  Without using MRV my one lonely 20-700 is almost as fast as the 24s.  I do run 10 HRs on my MRV setup, so you might see more speed from a 20-700 on a smaller setup.

 

Rich

Did not know that MRV slowed down the HR20-700's I knew the MRV was slow on the uptake and load but it's slow on everything.

Noted for future. :)


I am a former DIRECTV employee however all statements opinions, views, expressions, etc, are entirely my own even if logic says otherwise.

They DO NOT reflect on DIRECTV and or any partner, affiliated company's, polices, processes, opinions, or things that are not listed here.

Set up. HR24-200, HR24-200, HR22-200, H23-600. Whole Home, BBCCK, SL3 SWiM.

I have found that working with computers is like working with a toddler, sometimes there is no reason for the melt down, just keep on moving forward.


#31 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,031 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 10 September 2013 - 10:34 AM

Did not know that MRV slowed down the HR20-700's I knew the MRV was slow on the uptake and load but it's slow on everything.

Noted for future. :)

 

I have ten 24s on my MRV system.  I see no difference in speed when I take one off and use it without MRV.  My MRV (an oddity, it uses two cascaded SWM16s) is not slow.  Some functions such as deleting a bunch of recordings at once take a bit of time, but I expect that to happen.  

 

Rich



#32 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 10 September 2013 - 01:48 PM

I have an HR20-700 and 2 other HR's, and I notice no difference in speed when its on or off the MRV...my HR20 is just as speedy as ever....but I have replaced the HDD.....and I've got 2TB externals on all 3 of my HR2x for 6TB.....






Protected By... spam firewall...And...