Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Rewind button hacks?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Arya Stark

Arya Stark

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2012

Posted 11 September 2013 - 05:48 PM

I have the HR44 and I love it, but the one thing I really dislike is how little it rewinds when you press the curvy rewind button.  I came from Dish and however much the Hopper rewinds when you press that button seemed perfect.  The Genie seems like it only rewinds 2 seconds or something like that.  If you use 30SKIP and accidentally press it an extra time or two, you have to hit rewind like 10 times!  

 

Are there any hacks or ways around this?  It would be cool if you could somehow set the amount of time it would go back for each press of the button.



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,419 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 11 September 2013 - 06:05 PM

You're really asking about the replay button (officially 6 seconds back) as opposed to the rewind button, right?

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#3 OFFLINE   Arya Stark

Arya Stark

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2012

Posted 11 September 2013 - 07:50 PM

Yes, I guess so.  But it's seriously 6 seconds?  Wow, it seems a lot less than that!  I think Dish's replay button was 7 seconds.  Can't believe 1 second makes that much of a difference!


Edited by Arya Stark, 11 September 2013 - 07:51 PM.


#4 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 11,712 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 11 September 2013 - 11:39 PM

And there are no "hacks" for that feature. 


HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#5 OFFLINE   Arya Stark

Arya Stark

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2012

Posted 13 September 2013 - 03:26 PM

That's what I was afraid of.  Thanks!



#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,058 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 September 2013 - 04:09 PM

perhaps using programmable remote like JP-1 ?



#7 OFFLINE   RoyGBiv

RoyGBiv

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 650 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 08:25 AM

It's not the remote but the DVRs response to the command, so using a JP-1 (which is what I have) doesn't make a difference.

 

OTOH, you could use a JP-1 (or other programmable) remote to make a macro that whenever you pushed the 6-second rewind it would send it twice to rewind 12 seconds.

 

SMK



#8 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,521 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 18 September 2013 - 09:04 AM

Yes, I guess so.  But it's seriously 6 seconds?  Wow, it seems a lot less than that!

 

I agree with you.  I just went from an HR21 to the HR44 and the replay button on the 44 definitely appears to go back less than it did on the 21.



#9 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,352 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 18 September 2013 - 09:26 AM

Yes, there's a difference. If you are unsure about the number of 30 second stacks to push, it's faster to hit FF 3x and hit Play at the right moment. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#10 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 409 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 23 September 2013 - 04:28 PM

I have the same issue the remote manual says it's 6-Seconds I think it must be broken. The manual is at

http://forums.solids...hat-RC71-remote

#11 OFFLINE   mrdobolina

mrdobolina

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 323 posts
  • LocationA Mile High
Joined: Aug 28, 2006

Posted 23 September 2013 - 10:36 PM

I just got a Genie as well and the jump back does seem very short, even like 5 or perhaps even just 4 seconds.  Not complaining, just noticed and it has thrown off my timing a little.  Something else to get used to, I guess.  


DirecTV Customer Since 1997




Protected By... spam firewall...And...