Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR 44 Genie Locks up!


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Bofurley

Bofurley

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 321 posts
  • LocationKS
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 12 September 2013 - 08:31 AM

Is any one having a problem with the HR 44 locking up? 

This has happened three times with me, Twice this morning and One other time last week.

The first time it happened to me today, it just locked up, I tried to get it to work, but it would not, then suddenly it started to work.

The second time today, when I turned t on, it was locked up, I tried to turn it off, from the receiver as well as from the remote with no success. It finally rebooted and everything seemed to be working.

The caller ID is getting the unavailable message even when the caller ID is turned off.

On the phone with tech support for about half hour and was finally told they were aware of the problem and they are working on it.

The caller ID has been acting up since the second day it was installed.



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,274 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 12 September 2013 - 08:39 AM

It could be an issue with corrupted Guide Data. Try flushing the Guide Data. Perform a menu reset and as soon as the receiver boots back up perform another menu reset. This will flush the Guide Data and redownload it. After the second reset, you will have about 48 hours of Guide Data and the rest will download over the next 24 hours.

 

With regard to the Caller ID issue, try turning off Caller ID and then turning it back on.

 

- Merg


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   Bofurley

Bofurley

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 321 posts
  • LocationKS
Joined: Oct 11, 2006

Posted 13 September 2013 - 05:04 AM

Re caller ID, I have tried the turning off the caller and then turning it back on. Actually it will work even when it is turned off!

I was told by tech support that DTv is aware of these problems.

Thanks for your reply



#4 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,274 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 13 September 2013 - 07:10 AM

No problem. Let us know if the issues get resolved.

 

- Merg


Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#5 OFFLINE   jrangel

jrangel

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Nov 25, 2012

Posted 01 December 2014 - 10:05 PM

I am having the same issue. I woke up Sunday morning it was dead. I did a red button reset and it came back to life. Then later in the day again dead. Reset it again. Now the crazy part I lost most of the recorded programs from the external drive. The series manager has all the shows set to record but I lost 35% of the programing I had recorded any ideas?



#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,360 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 01 December 2014 - 10:13 PM

I am having the same issue. I woke up Sunday morning it was dead. I did a red button reset and it came back to life. Then later in the day again dead. Reset it again. Now the crazy part I lost most of the recorded programs from the external drive. The series manager has all the shows set to record but I lost 35% of the programing I had recorded any ideas?

Run the Built in Self-test (BIST) to try and repair your hard drive. To run the hard drive checks, please follow these steps:
 
* Reboot DVR via red button inside card door.
* When you see "Running receiver self-check" press select
* You will see "Entering Diagnostics Mode..."
* Select Advanced Tests Menu -> Hard Drive utilities -> Short Smart test
 
You can also run the file test, and the DVR can sometimes repair a bad file report.
* If the other tests pass, run the surface test.   Warning: This process could take several hours to complete. You may want to run it overnight.
 

 

The good news is that every attempt is made to save programming. This is less destructive than a reformat all and could provide you with a more stable system if you are having problems that appear to be related to the hard drive.  

Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,637 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 01 December 2014 - 10:47 PM

off chance -did you have electric power failure? possible cause.


"Let's Have Some Fun!"

#8 OFFLINE   jrangel

jrangel

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Nov 25, 2012

Posted 01 December 2014 - 10:52 PM

No power failure, I will try the self test.



#9 OFFLINE   jrangel

jrangel

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Nov 25, 2012

Posted 01 December 2014 - 11:03 PM

When I run the test is says gets the model and serial # and the smart short test passed. All programming that was missing is back. Thanks!


Edited by jrangel, 01 December 2014 - 11:28 PM.


#10 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,358 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 02 December 2014 - 10:11 AM

Timely! 

 

Is there a report generated out of the Surface test, and how could I access it? 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...