Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

722k external drive recording time


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 336 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 12 September 2013 - 03:04 PM

Received my 1TB WD hard drive today and got it connected to my 722k.  Formatted drive and looked at  'manage media' and see after the format it shows 930gb available.  I archived a couple things onto the drive (all recorded in HD originally-one movie from HBO and a couple episodes of a tv series from dish...not from my antenna).  Anyhow, these items total 5 hrs and occupy 9500mb on the new drive.

 

Using my math 930gb is about equal to 952000mb...so if what I archived is on average, what I'll archive in the future, should I get almost 500 hrs on this drive--or is my math rediculously off?  That just seems like way too much

 

As you can tell, I'm not a techie and my last math class was roughly 40 yrs ago


Edited by CeeWoo, 12 September 2013 - 03:22 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 September 2013 - 04:25 PM

use OTA and 1080p and you'll end up with less then 300 hrs



#3 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 336 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 12 September 2013 - 05:03 PM

use OTA and 1080p and you'll end up with less then 300 hrs

:) even that's more than I expected...sounds like my math was right though :).  That was $50 well spent


Edited by CeeWoo, 12 September 2013 - 05:06 PM.


#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,757 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 12 September 2013 - 05:53 PM

still 2 TB has better ratio of Tb/$



#5 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,454 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 15 September 2013 - 04:24 PM

930GB=930,000MB, it's precisely a 1000:1 ratio, by definition.


Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#6 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 336 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 15 September 2013 - 05:32 PM

930GB=930,000MB, it's precisely a 1000:1 ratio, by definition.

well, that's the simple conversion, and is accurate enough, but in actuality isn't it more like

1 gb = 1024 mb?


Edited by CeeWoo, 15 September 2013 - 05:35 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,454 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 17 September 2013 - 06:49 AM

No, because the conversion has already been made.


Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!




spam firewall