Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Can History be cleared


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 13 September 2013 - 01:09 PM

I would like to clear the history on the Genie. Any way to do it without clearing all the series links and recorded shows?


Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   sigma1914

sigma1914

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,117 posts
  • LocationAllen, TX
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 13 September 2013 - 01:14 PM

Not that I know of, but why clear it?


If you stop responding to them or put them on ignore, then eventually they'll go away.

#3 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 19,375 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 13 September 2013 - 02:08 PM

Not that I know of, but why clear it?

Destroy the evidence?
  • sigma1914 likes this

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#4 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,378 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 13 September 2013 - 02:10 PM

Destroy the evidence?

 

That is what I was thinking lol.  I thought I saw a way to delete it awhile back.  I know it wasn't a Genie I was looking at though and its been awhile so I could be mistaken.  Not really sure why someone would want to delete the history.


Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#5 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,265 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 13 September 2013 - 03:00 PM

Ours is not to question why....

 

Only way I can think of is add an external drive, but then you cover up not just History, but Recordings and Series Links...

 

Or just record and delete so much stuff that it gets buried under masses of pages of other stuff. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#6 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,227 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 13 September 2013 - 03:00 PM

The only way to get rid of the history is to do a reset everything, which erases all recordings, resets all series links, and starts you fresh.  Otherwise, you just have to let the entry in the history scroll down until it drops off the bottom of the list (which takes time of course).



#7 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,171 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 13 September 2013 - 03:26 PM

Things drop Off usually after 1000 entires or 60 days I think.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#8 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,044 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 September 2013 - 04:07 PM

taking the drive out, using Linux [Ubuntu] and erasing some files would do that trick

 

if you can... if you would ...



#9 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • Registered
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 13 September 2013 - 05:55 PM

Just record and delete a bunch of shows.  The list has a finite number of entries and when it exceeds them it replaces the oldest entries.


3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#10 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,950 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 13 September 2013 - 06:41 PM

I would like to clear the history on the Genie. Any way to do it without clearing all the series links and recorded shows?

There is no way to clear the History.  

 

Some of the suggestions already given may help though.

 

Mike


µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#11 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,059 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 14 September 2013 - 08:40 AM

taking the drive out, using Linux [Ubuntu] and erasing some files would do that trick

 

if you can... if you would ...

 

You should never suggest things like this to a user.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#12 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 14 September 2013 - 08:20 PM

That is true for most folks. I have had the pleasure of the Linux command line along with other arcane bits of this and that with TiVo drives. Unfortunately now have no way to hook up a drive to a computer. Traveling full time has some limitations. 

You should never suggest things like this to a user.


Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#13 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,059 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 14 September 2013 - 10:40 PM

That is true for most folks. I have had the pleasure of the Linux command line along with other arcane bits of this and that with TiVo drives. Unfortunately now have no way to hook up a drive to a computer. Traveling full time has some limitations. 

 

That's true for everyone except the developers.  You could know enough to really hose yourself.


THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#14 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 16 September 2013 - 11:29 AM

Worst case you reformat the drive and let the DirecTV box load the software again. Just like putting in any new drive. No worse off than the total resets with removal of all things. 


Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#15 ONLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Never say 'never'.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,265 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 16 September 2013 - 01:29 PM

Well, that's a far cry from your OP! 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#16 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,059 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 16 September 2013 - 03:06 PM

Worst case you reformat the drive and let the DirecTV box load the software again. Just like putting in any new drive. No worse off than the total resets with removal of all things. 

 

Your initial post said you didn't want to reformat.  Which is it? 


THIS SPACE FOR RENT




Protected By... spam firewall...And...