Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

No networked dvrs found


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   HerntDawg

HerntDawg

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 242 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 14 September 2013 - 04:59 PM

Had a genie installed today, installed a swm16 also, I have a hr22 and an hr 21 also. The 22 and 21 are not found on the network and they do not have internet. He did install a CCK I believe also. I have restarted all of them several times but nothing. Anyone have any ideas? I had the 2 dvrs hooked up via ethernet before and recordings and internet was never an issue.

 

 



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,056 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 14 September 2013 - 05:13 PM

Assuming everything was installed correctly;

 

Particularly with regard to the CCK.

 

Have you tried rerunning the network setup on the HR21 and 22?


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#3 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,461 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 14 September 2013 - 05:13 PM

Did the installer install DECA's to the HR21 & 22?



#4 OFFLINE   HerntDawg

HerntDawg

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 242 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 14 September 2013 - 05:32 PM

No deca's, I wondered if this may be the cause? I have ran the network setup on both a couple times.



#5 OFFLINE   NR4P

NR4P

    Dad

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,908 posts
  • LocationSunny Florida
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 07:41 PM

No deca's, I wondered if this may be the cause? I have ran the network setup on both a couple times.

 

That's the problem.  They need DECA boxes on the rear of each unit.  The coax passes through it and then a short Cat5 cable connects to the RJ45 jack of each.  That's how they get networked.

Tech needs to come back and complete the install.


  • HerntDawg likes this

#6 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,762 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 14 September 2013 - 08:01 PM

Yup, you need two DECA's home adapters on those HDDVRs


  • HerntDawg likes this
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#7 OFFLINE   HerntDawg

HerntDawg

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 242 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 14 September 2013 - 09:05 PM

Cool, thanks guy's. I will text or call the installer tomorrow. 



#8 OFFLINE   HerntDawg

HerntDawg

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 242 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 14 September 2013 - 10:12 PM

After investigating more I realized that he had installed a DECA as a CCK, I hooked the hr44 up to my router as others on here said should be ok, then took the DECA to one of my other recievers and it worked no prob. Looks like I just need one more DECA?



#9 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,222 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 10:18 PM

Yes, one more DECA will fix it.  But you need to report that you were not set up correctly at all.  Many people who don't know about DBSTalk would be SOL with how you were set up.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#10 OFFLINE   HerntDawg

HerntDawg

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 242 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 14 September 2013 - 10:27 PM

I know, he was really nice and I hate to get peeps in trouble. He said he has worked for DTV for 9  years. I think I will try and give him a chance to fix it before I report anything.



#11 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,222 posts
  • LocationSpokane, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 14 September 2013 - 10:31 PM

That's very nice of you.  And if you have a way to get hold of him directly, that is totally the decent thing to do. 


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#12 OFFLINE   HerntDawg

HerntDawg

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 242 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 14 September 2013 - 10:36 PM

he called my cell phone from his to let me know he was on his way, I am assuming I can get a hold of him that way.



#13 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,125 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 15 September 2013 - 02:06 AM

Looking at the time I hope you are in Hawaii. Yikes.


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#14 OFFLINE   HerntDawg

HerntDawg

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 242 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 15 September 2013 - 04:33 AM

No, Yikes here, just happy to have figured out my problem.



#15 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,920 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 15 September 2013 - 02:44 PM

I know, he was really nice and I hate to get peeps in trouble. He said he has worked for DTV for 9  years. I think I will try and give him a chance to fix it before I report anything.

 

Tell him you'll take a HR24 if he can't find a DECA.


  • HerntDawg likes this

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#16 OFFLINE   HerntDawg

HerntDawg

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 242 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 17 September 2013 - 12:23 AM

Called today and left a message, hope to hear back.



#17 OFFLINE   HerntDawg

HerntDawg

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 242 posts
  • LocationOregon
Joined: Oct 06, 2008

Posted 17 September 2013 - 12:24 AM

Tell him you'll take a HR24 if he can't find a DECA.

haha, nice, but I am good with what we have..lol



#18 OFFLINE   syclonedave

syclonedave

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 18 September 2013 - 08:57 PM

Even after you get the network connected correct, you still might need to reset the receivers &/or restore network settings.


Custom Installer D* dealer




Protected By... spam firewall...And...