Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Whats the fastest wireless router?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   saberfly

saberfly

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2010

Posted 14 September 2013 - 08:19 PM

Anyone have any input on this? Im thinking more about the wired ports than the wireless.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   kaminar

kaminar

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 199 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2012

Posted 15 September 2013 - 09:03 AM

Anyone have any input on this? Im thinking more about the wired ports than the wireless.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337

 

So, your question about wireless is really more about wired? Ethernet ports are either 100Mb/s or 1000Mb/s (1 Gb/s >> Gb = Gigabit). That is your choice when looking for wired ports in routers for the home. Typically, home computers and laptops have 1 Gb/s ethernet ports..so for fastest throughput, look for the same in a router.

 

Fastest wireless depends on several factors. Currently, the 802.11ac spec is the fastest, with speeds approaching 1 Gb/s.

However, it all depends on three things:

 

1) the wireless spec at your computer/device--most are 802.11a/b/g (fast or slow, depending on your personal experience) or 802.11n (faster)

2) the distance and barriers between the router and computer/device

3) quality of the router--usually hit or miss (visit newegg and amazon for lots of reviews)

 

Personally, I'm waiting for the Almond+ (due out this month..supposedly)

 

Wired is theoretically more reliable and (almost) always faster. Do not get a Netgear WNR1000v2. That is all.

 

Here's a review link..

http://reviews.cnet....orking-devices/

 

Good luck!

 

-=K=-



#3 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,819 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 15 September 2013 - 10:01 AM

Just get an outboard GigE switch and leave your router alone. Plug only the switch into the router and everything else into the switch.

You can get into a basic Trendnet model for around $25 with eight ports. Even the slowest of the GigE switches should be good for upwards of 650Mbps. In consumer gear, the Netgear GS608 scores a 692.8Mbps and the Trendnet TEG-S80G mentioned above turns in a score of 671Mbps.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#4 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,589 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 15 September 2013 - 10:11 AM

And of course, you need at least Cat5 cables with properly installed connectors.


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#5 OFFLINE   saberfly

saberfly

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2010

Posted 15 September 2013 - 10:22 AM

The almond is out now. It only has 2 ports but I guess a bigger switch can make up for that. It has good specs.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337



#6 OFFLINE   saberfly

saberfly

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2010

Posted 15 September 2013 - 10:24 AM

Ooops sorry I didnt see the +

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337



#7 OFFLINE   saberfly

saberfly

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2010

Posted 17 September 2013 - 07:06 PM

Is cat6 best out right now?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337



#8 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,151 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 September 2013 - 07:12 PM

There is cat7 but haven't seen specifics in a while and is probably a waste. 6 is realistically top dog


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#9 OFFLINE   saberfly

saberfly

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2010

Posted 17 September 2013 - 09:19 PM

What will be the difference between just ethernet and cat6? Latency? Speed? Just curious. Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337

Edited by saberfly, 17 September 2013 - 09:19 PM.


#10 OFFLINE   djlong

djlong

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,206 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: Jul 08, 2002

Posted 18 September 2013 - 06:44 AM

Cat (short for Category) 6 *is* ethernet - it's the rating of the ethernet cable.

 

Cat 6 is the successor to Cat 5 and Cat 5e.  Cat 6 allows for longer cables that still support 1Gbps ethernet speeds.  Cat5 was for 1Mbps.

 

I used to have Cat 5 in my house but I rewired everything with newer Cat 6.



#11 OFFLINE   saberfly

saberfly

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 195 posts
Joined: Apr 04, 2010

Posted 18 September 2013 - 04:28 PM

So with comcast blast internet, about 60MBPS down and 12MBPS up, would there be any advantage to going from basic ethernet cables to cat 6? Just equipment to internet. No inter network file transfers. Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337

Edited by saberfly, 18 September 2013 - 04:37 PM.


#12 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,530 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 18 September 2013 - 04:45 PM

Nope.



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#13 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,589 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 18 September 2013 - 05:01 PM

The typical home LAN will never see a difference between Cat 5 and Cat 6.

 

A business might depending on their needs and traffic.


  • Marlin Guy likes this
Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#14 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,001 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 18 September 2013 - 07:51 PM

The typical home LAN will never see a difference between Cat 5 and Cat 6.

A business might depending on their needs and traffic.

If someone were to start fishing Ethernet through their walls etc, I would just go with cat6 regardless.


Sent from my iPad using DBSTalk mobile app

#15 OFFLINE   djlong

djlong

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,206 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire
Joined: Jul 08, 2002

Posted 19 September 2013 - 05:18 AM

In today's environment, you really only notice the difference between Cat 5 and Cat 6 (1Mbps vs 1Gbps) if you regularly transfer large (VERY large) files or if you're piping HD video all over the house to different rooms.

 

Also, large backups from multiple machines to a centralized place would stress a network - but only intially (not for incremental backups) or when huge updates/installations are done (like Windows, Office, etc).

 

I do all three.



#16 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 19 September 2013 - 05:52 AM

On campus we are not tearing out Cat5 or 5e to move to 6e, but all new buildings get Cat6e.

They all get dual band N access points (Aruba AP105) all over the place, and we just completed an upgrade of our b/g/a APs to them.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#17 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,121 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 21 September 2013 - 08:32 AM

The typical home LAN will never see a difference between Cat 5 and Cat 6.

 

A business might depending on their needs and traffic.

 

Best answer. Just about any modern router is faster than the Internet connection to which it is connected.
If it's just an Internet speed issue, there's no need to be concerned with purchasing the fastest router.
If LAN speed is a concern, then of course routers, switches, adapters, and cabling are all part of the equation. The LAN will only perform at the top speed of the weakest component in the employed circuit.


Team Mexico Pork Cloud




Protected By... spam firewall...And...