Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Upgrade ?'s for HD-DVR to Genie


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   MarkCz

MarkCz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2013

Posted 15 September 2013 - 06:56 PM

I currently have a dual tuner HR23-700 HD-DVR with "Choice Xtra Classic" package.  My bill shows $10/mo for HD, $10/mo for DVR, and a refunded $6/mo for primary TV.  I do not  have the 'whole home' service activated.  I have one oval shaped dish on my roof with two antenna gizmos pointing to the same place, each with a separate coax cable connected to my current HD-DVR (one for each tuner I assume).

 

I would like to upgrade my receiver to a Genie, but have a few questions.

 

1 - monthly bill - From my searches it looks like the only req'd increase would be the whole home service fee of $3/mo.  Correct?

 

2 - dish/antenna/coax - I see that the Genie only has one "Satellite In" coax connection, compared to the two on my current receiver.  Does that mean that I can use one of the two HD-DVR satellite feeds that I already have available for all 5 tuners in the Genie?  If not, what is required?

 

3 - one time charges - I am off contract with DirecTV (well past my original 2 years).  I know that they will 'negotiate' to a point, but what is their normal fee to swap out an HD-DVR for a Genie?   I'm guessing I could do a new 2-year commitment to get that fee waived, yes?

 

TIA for any helpful replies.

 



...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,011 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 15 September 2013 - 07:10 PM

No matter what deal you get with DirecTV, even paying $350, it will be a two year contract. You might get it free, particularly if you have the protection plan.

 

You do not have SWM, which is required. The normal install, they will remove your 5-LNB and replace it with a SWM 3-LNB. At that point, there will only be one coax cable going into the Genie, but you can't do that now.

 

The $3 Whole Home will be required, but that is the only monthly fee difference between one DVR and one Genie.



#3 OFFLINE   linuspbmo

linuspbmo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 129 posts
Joined: Oct 02, 2009

Posted 15 September 2013 - 07:11 PM

You shouldn't have any problem getting the whole setup for free, I still have a year left on my contract and they did the whole thing including install for free. Remember to say cancel and talk to retention. Don't worry about your setup they will replace anything you need for the Genie.



#4 OFFLINE   JosephB

JosephB

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,163 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, AL
Joined: Nov 14, 2005

Posted 15 September 2013 - 07:24 PM

Expect a $3 additional fee and that should be it. Being outside of a contract and a longer term customer, you should easily get the upgrade for free.



#5 OFFLINE   MarkCz

MarkCz

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2013

Posted 15 September 2013 - 07:48 PM

Thanks for the info, now I know what to push for when I call.

 

If I can get it for free and schedule a Saturday install I'll be a happy dude :righton:

 

I'll update this thread with my results.



#6 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,520 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 15 September 2013 - 11:00 PM

If he replaces his single DVR with the Genie, so that he has only the one unit (the Genie) and no other receivers or clients, will he have to pay the whole-home fee?



#7 OFFLINE   JosephB

JosephB

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,163 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, AL
Joined: Nov 14, 2005

Posted 15 September 2013 - 11:37 PM

If he replaces his single DVR with the Genie, so that he has only the one unit (the Genie) and no other receivers or clients, will he have to pay the whole-home fee?

 

Yes. There's another thread discussing this, whether it is "outrageous" or not, but the whole home fee applies to all genies, regardless of whether or not they have any clients connected.



#8 OFFLINE   FenixTX

FenixTX

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 476 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 17 September 2013 - 08:07 AM

I currently have a HR-20 and HR-21.  I want to upgrade the HR-20 to a genie.  I want to keep the HR-21.  I currently have a SWM setup.  The receiver I want to replace with a gene is connected directly to my router while the receiver in the bedroom I'm keeping has a wireless connection.

 

Can I just call and have them send me a genie and I send back the HR-20?  If so, will the wireless connection work for whole home service?  If not, what should I ask for to get the proper setup. I would prefer to do it myself instead of having to take off work and have an installer come.

 

Thanks for the help.


Go Big Red!!!

#9 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 17 September 2013 - 09:30 AM

Unless your 20 has a problem, keep the 20, its a better model than the 21, 21, or, 23....



#10 ONLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,457 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 17 September 2013 - 10:22 AM

I agree, the HR20 was the best model offered until the HR24  Using wireless for Whole Home is marginal at best, I would get a DECA module for the HR20/21 and the Genie will act as the Ethernet / DECA bridge.  In other words, plug the cable from the router into the Genie, add the DECA module to the other DVR and disconnect the wireless.  A couple notes regarding the self install, you will need to buy the DECA yourself as they will not ship you one, and you may have a problem getting the Genie shipped as they don't show you set up fro Whole Home. 


My Setup

#11 OFFLINE   FenixTX

FenixTX

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 476 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 17 September 2013 - 11:21 AM

I agree, the HR20 was the best model offered until the HR24 Using wireless for Whole Home is marginal at best, I would get a DECA module for the HR20/21 and the Genie will act as the Ethernet / DECA bridge. In other words, plug the cable from the router into the Genie, add the DECA module to the other DVR and disconnect the wireless. A couple notes regarding the self install, you will need to buy the DECA yourself as they will not ship you one, and you may have a problem getting the Genie shipped as they don't show you set up fro Whole Home.


Where do I order a DECA module?
Go Big Red!!!

#12 ONLINE   longrider

longrider

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,457 posts
  • LocationElizabeth, CO
Joined: Apr 21, 2007

Posted 17 September 2013 - 11:39 AM

My preferred source is Solid Signal  http://www.solidsign...eca2--(dca2sr0)  However you can find them usually a lot cheaper on eBay but to me anything from eBay is a gamble


My Setup

#13 OFFLINE   FenixTX

FenixTX

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 476 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 17 September 2013 - 12:23 PM

My preferred source is Solid Signal http://www.solidsign...eca2--(dca2sr0) However you can find them usually a lot cheaper on eBay but to me anything from eBay is a gamble


Thanks for the link. So we are for sure DirecTV won't send me one if I'm able to get them to ship me the genie receiver for self install?
Go Big Red!!!

#14 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,620 posts
  • LocationColbert, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 17 September 2013 - 12:53 PM

Thanks for the link. So we are for sure DirecTV won't send me one if I'm able to get them to ship me the genie receiver for self install?

Not "for sure", but I don't believe anyone who has asked for one has received one.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#15 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,047 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 September 2013 - 02:26 PM

Why are you keeping either of those active? Do you need more recording space or series links?


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

#16 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,536 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 17 September 2013 - 03:18 PM

Can I just call and have them send me a genie and I send back the HR-20?

 

Depends on who you talk too. I could not get them to send me a Genie.  It was going to be a direct swap, but they insisted (no additional equipment required; I already had SWM16 with only 11 tuners in use. Final config was 13 tuners. I guess they thought I might exceed 8 tuners on one of the legs).  They also said it was going to be $49 install, but when I said 'cancel the upgrade', they gave me a $50 credit. 

 

But others here have reported they got a Genie shipped to them. 



#17 OFFLINE   FenixTX

FenixTX

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 476 posts
Joined: Nov 11, 2005

Posted 18 September 2013 - 02:07 PM

Update.  I called this afternoon and was able to get a genie DVR shipped to me, along with the cinema connection kit.  Also received $20 off a month for a year.  


Go Big Red!!!

#18 OFFLINE   silkysings

silkysings

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
  • LocationPittsburgh, PA
Joined: Sep 25, 2013

Posted 25 September 2013 - 12:07 PM

How to know if I have SWM...I have HR23-700, HR22-100, H23-600, and D12-100 with whole home DVR service working on the 3 H boxes and internet connectivity (pretty cool that I can play music from my computer on my tv).  A few questions..I was considering adding a Genie because even with the 2 HD DVR's we end up with a conflict on one TV or the other, always when my husband is in the middle of watching a sporting event or has paused a show to go do something. It's also a big pain to try putting some shows on one and some on the other, hence the conflicts that crop up. Having a DVR that has 5 tuners onboard would be great.  Won't dump the existing DVR's as they are loaded with shows to catch up on (most for my 9 year old but I digress). My questions are, the one TV that is still SD will eventually be replaced with an HDTV.  Do the HD boxes have a capability to run on a SD tv at all only showing SD programming?  If not, I can't upgrade until that TV is switched as I don't want to upgrade twice.  If it can, I would dump the SD box, move the HD box to that tv, one HD DVR to former HD spot, and replace that with Genie.  Even if I have SWM now it would probably be SWM 8 and need to be replaced with SWM 16 right since that would make 10 tuners?  Don't mind install anyway since then the installer could maybe bring me a new remote to replace the one that works very poorly (numbers stick) and has been relegated to the playroom SD tv that is not currently watched very often.  Actually I'll bet the Genie gets a new remote anyway so I could give back the dead one.  Ultimately I would like to get HDTV in the playroom so my 9 year old can watch her DVR shows up there instead of taking up our den tv.  I am 3rd in line in my house behind hubby and child :>)



#19 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,620 posts
  • LocationColbert, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 25 September 2013 - 12:17 PM

Press the - (Dash) button on your remote.  You can also go to menu => settings=> Info=> select and scroll through to see your equipment setup.

 

I have an HR23 hooked up to an ancient, JVC tube style SD tv.  It works fine.

 

You get a new remote with the Genie.  Some people hate it!  Some love it.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#20 OFFLINE   silkysings

silkysings

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
  • LocationPittsburgh, PA
Joined: Sep 25, 2013

Posted 25 September 2013 - 12:48 PM

Thanks!

 

Come to think of it I believe I do remember seeing a message about SWM on my screen before when my husband pressed something on the remote in error.  Good news about being able to connect HD box to SD tv so it makes it possible to switch to Genie now before we replace the old tv.  Of course, I have to get them to agree to give it to me without the giant 300$ price tag. I have never been able to negotiate a deal, I've upgraded boxes twice and had to pay full price each time for the privilege of leasing equipment and agreeing to 2 more years.  Maybe I should get hubby to work them, he is in sales.



#21 OFFLINE   synpse

synpse

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2012

Posted 27 September 2013 - 05:56 PM

This is for a Genie HR34 and an HR 24 HD-DVR.

 

Advanced Receiver-DVR - Charge $10.00 $0.00 
CHOICE XTRA CLASSIC - Charge $71.99 $4.32 
Advanced Receiver-HD - Charge $10.00 $0.60 
DIRECTV Protection Plan - Charge $7.99 $0.48 
DIRECTV Whole-Home DVR Service - Charge $3.00 $0.18 
Regional Sports Fee - Charge $2.00 $0.12 
Additional TV - Charge $6.00 $0.36 
 
$110.98 + TAX $6.06  =   TOTAL $117.04
 
EDIT:  apparently the SPACE BAR is a "post now" shortcut/hotkey. I didn't have the totals in there.
 
The HR34 can record 5 shows, and the HR24 records 2.   With the DirecTV 2 PC program.. I can stream HD to any computer/laptop in the house. 
 
The HR34 is "Downstairs" and the HR24 is "Upstairs".    i use the website waltzremote.com for computer channel changing of the live stuff..  with the right home network setup, awesome things are possible.
 
 

Edited by synpse, 27 September 2013 - 06:02 PM.


#22 OFFLINE   PhoneGeek

PhoneGeek

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2010

Posted 28 September 2013 - 08:31 AM

So I will begin by admitting the obvious that I am complete noob on this as I've really not focused on it but am a gadget geek of sorts and can usually work through most anything with info from great forums like this one...

 

So that said I have (2) HR21-700s and two other non dvr receivers. I am past my two years and recently when we called DirecTv to change a couple things around on the channel lineup they offered to upgrade all the receivers and my wife told them we'd think about it so now I am trying to decide if I want to or not.

 

So my big issues are storage capacity and second I have most of my movie collection saved as MP4s that I'd really like to find a way to easily play through any of the units in the house.  I figure the storage issue would be better with the new dvrs but is the second item even remotely possible and does it matter what dvr I get to do it?

 

Thanks!



#23 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,620 posts
  • LocationColbert, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 28 September 2013 - 11:42 AM

Phone Geek:

 

 

If you get a Genie, the storage capacity is much greater.  You also get 100 series links instead of 50.  You get PIP and some other fun things.  If you put your genie near a router, then it can function as the bridge to your whole home network and you don't need Cinema Connection Kits, or Decas, etc.  Then your other units access whole home via the coax connection.  It makes for less cables, wires, etc.

 

What are your movies stored on?  External hard drives is something I have 0 experience with.  But if you have recordings on your old DVRs, you can usually watch them for up to a month after you deactivate them.

 

Welcome to DBSTalk!!


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup


#24 OFFLINE   PhoneGeek

PhoneGeek

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2010

Posted 28 September 2013 - 03:26 PM

Movies are stored on Seagate NAS 4GB that is connected to my network.  Wifi isn't really an issue as I have netgear GBe five port switch right by the unit.  The 2nd DVR is in the bedroom and I have cat5e connection there as well to my network.  The current DVRs are setup on a whole home system and the boxes all talk to each other fine but I don't have it connected to my regular network in any way.  The recordings on my old DVRs aren't as critical to me.

 

Not sure if that answered your question but thanks for your assistance!



#25 OFFLINE   Supramom2000

Supramom2000

    In Loving Memory of Onyx-2/23/09

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,620 posts
  • LocationColbert, WA
Joined: Jun 20, 2007

Posted 28 September 2013 - 04:37 PM

I have read many posts about Seagate external storage devices only playing content on the receiver it was connected to when making the recordings.  But as I said, I don't have one, so I could be "mis"remembering!

 

I wasn't actually referring to wireless for the bridge effect, you can plug ethernet directly into a Genie and not use a Cinema Connection Kit.  Then the rest of your receivers access internet and MRV through the coax network.


"But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, is their monument today, and for aye." "This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave."

My Setup





Protected By... spam firewall...And...