Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

SAT Problems Today 9/17


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   khearrean

khearrean

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 517 posts
  • LocationS.E. Texas
Joined: Mar 24, 2004

Posted 17 September 2013 - 11:15 AM

Is anyone else having issues with a majority of the SAT channels gone? My wife tried to go up to her LIfetime channels & discovered they, along with a whole lot more channels had disappeared. I tried calling Dish, but all I can get is a constant busy signal.

 

Ken


The optimist claims the glass is half full; the pessimist claims it is half empty. An engineer observes that the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 626 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 17 September 2013 - 11:17 AM

I lost a ton of channels from My Channels including ESPN and my locals.  I'm also activated for Superstations and some premium channels (HBO/Showtime) that I don't subscribe to.  I'm guessing it's a snafu with their order system, and the constant busy signal would mean that they're aware of the problem.  Fixing it....?



#3 OFFLINE   rjruby

rjruby

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2002

Posted 17 September 2013 - 11:18 AM

I lost all my locals and news channel too.



#4 OFFLINE   Steve H

Steve H

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 625 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 17 September 2013 - 11:18 AM

I lost most of my channels a few minutes ago.  Tried to call DISH but can't get through.


Samsung 55" LED
Yamaha RX-V565
Bose Acoustimass 6
Hopper & 1 Joey

Location - Mt. WhereinthehellamI? So. Utah

#5 OFFLINE   smackman

smackman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 17 September 2013 - 11:20 AM

Same here; Seems it is HD Channels


Smackman THE KING OF SMACK: Dish Customer since 2000
VIP 722

#6 OFFLINE   parlyle

parlyle

    AllStar/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 80 posts
Joined: Dec 19, 2003

Posted 17 September 2013 - 11:24 AM

I lost all of my HD Stations. No luck calling Dish. Who jammed the satellites?



#7 OFFLINE   Steve H

Steve H

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 625 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 17 September 2013 - 11:24 AM

It would be nice if someone from DISH would jump in and let us know what is going on.


Samsung 55" LED
Yamaha RX-V565
Bose Acoustimass 6
Hopper & 1 Joey

Location - Mt. WhereinthehellamI? So. Utah

#8 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,279 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 17 September 2013 - 11:25 AM

Ditto.


VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#9 OFFLINE   khearrean

khearrean

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 517 posts
  • LocationS.E. Texas
Joined: Mar 24, 2004

Posted 17 September 2013 - 11:37 AM

Any "DIRT" folks out there who can shed some light on this issue for us?

 

Ken


The optimist claims the glass is half full; the pessimist claims it is half empty. An engineer observes that the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

#10 OFFLINE   Ramer84015

Ramer84015

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2006

Posted 17 September 2013 - 12:02 PM

I also lost most of my channels a few hours ago and can't get through to Dish. While it would be nice to get a response in the forums, they really should post the outage on the main Dish.com website.



#11 OFFLINE   Steve H

Steve H

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 625 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 17 September 2013 - 12:03 PM

It's fixed


Samsung 55" LED
Yamaha RX-V565
Bose Acoustimass 6
Hopper & 1 Joey

Location - Mt. WhereinthehellamI? So. Utah

#12 OFFLINE   TheGrove

TheGrove

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 17 September 2013 - 12:03 PM

Yep, from the dish support forum:

 

From a tweet from @Dish_Answers:

"We're currently experiencing a system issue that's causing problems with authorization for channels."


2 Hoppers w/ Sling (2 - 2TB EHD)
1 Joey


#13 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 626 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 17 September 2013 - 12:09 PM

Looks better now, though I didn't go through the whole list.  ESPN was back.



#14 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,298 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 17 September 2013 - 01:32 PM

I guess I missed all of the fun.  Everything was ok when I turned my receiver on ~3pm... so I guess all the trouble was resolved before that.


-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#15 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,648 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 17 September 2013 - 02:04 PM

It's interesting that of the posters here, only a moderator and one other person gives their location. That means we cannot even tell if the problem was limited to the Eastern or Western Arc, much less be able to start to determine what might be the issue.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#16 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,279 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 17 September 2013 - 04:07 PM

I just made an interesting discovery.  I was checking my Timers after this morning's outage and found that, although they were all listed, the timers corresponding to the channels that were out this morning were empty  - no scheduled programs within the Timers. Rebooting didn't solve the issue; even a cold boot (disconnect power - wait - reconnect power) didn't solve it.

 

In the end, I had to do a Check Switch test to force an EPG download, wait a few minutes, and then check my Timers ... everything was restored as it was before the outage, and I didn't have to recreate them all.

 

If you haven't downloaded a new copy of the EPG, you might want to take a look at the contents of your Timers.  If it's all gone, perhaps what I did will help.

 

Good luck!


  • tsmacro likes this
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#17 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,112 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 17 September 2013 - 04:53 PM

It was everywhere ...

 

DISH made a change affecting nearly all of their channels at 12:46pm ET and reversed it at 1:51pm ET.

It showed up in my uplink monitoring ... which isn't designed to handle 8792 changes. :)


Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#18 OFFLINE   allen98311

allen98311

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2006

Posted 17 September 2013 - 05:08 PM

On my hopper I lost almost all channels from my custom list, I switched to all channels and it listed the channels that I don't subscribe to and not very many that I do. When i switched to them it was just a black screen.



#19 OFFLINE   Mike.H_DISHNetwork

Mike.H_DISHNetwork

    Godfather

  • DISH Representative
  • 302 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2011

Posted 18 September 2013 - 08:11 AM

Is anyone else having issues with a majority of the SAT channels gone? My wife tried to go up to her LIfetime channels & discovered they, along with a whole lot more channels had disappeared. I tried calling Dish, but all I can get is a constant busy signal.

 

Ken

Khearrean,

Technical issues preventing customers from viewing certain channels and using certain functions on their program guides have been resolved. This event may have impacted scheduled DVR recordings. We appreciate our customers’ patience.

Thanks



#20 OFFLINE   Paul Secic

Paul Secic

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,207 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 18 September 2013 - 10:06 AM

Is anyone else having issues with a majority of the SAT channels gone? My wife tried to go up to her LIfetime channels & discovered they, along with a whole lot more channels had disappeared. I tried calling Dish, but all I can get is a constant busy signal.

 

Ken

It could be due to the fires in Colorado.


Enjoying AT 250 HBO, 

 

Equipment: VIP 722 reciever


#21 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,279 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 18 September 2013 - 11:30 AM

It could be due to the fires in Colorado.

 

... or the floods.


VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#22 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,112 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 18 September 2013 - 03:40 PM

It could be due to the fires in Colorado.

... or the floods.


Only if the fires or the floods led to an employee putting some bad data into the service description table (the one that I and others read to provide the Uplink Activity report) and sent it to receivers.

For those who follow the inner workings: There is a descriptor on every channel that helps the receiver know whether or not that channel should be delivered to the customer (descriptor x8C, first seen June 29th, 2010 - not x86 which has been used for many years). That descriptor was changed on 8792 channels. That change confused the receivers to the point where channels that should not have been in the guide appeared and channels that should have been there disappeared. (That apparently happens when the number of channels in the guide explodes.)

For those who don't follow the inner workings: Someone at DISH messed up and sent bad data to receivers (12:46pm ET). It was corrected about an hour later (1:51pm ET). Oops.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.

#23 OFFLINE   SayWhat?

SayWhat?

    Know Nothing

  • Registered
  • 5,926 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2009

Posted 18 September 2013 - 03:53 PM

Didn't notice a thing, but I can't remember if I was in front of the Idiot Box at that time or not.


Help stamp out Twits and Twitterers!

HD, SchmacHD!! Just be glad you've got a picture at all.

#24 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,279 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 18 September 2013 - 04:17 PM

[...]

For those who don't follow the inner workings: Someone at DISH messed up and sent bad data to receivers (12:46pm ET). It was corrected about an hour later (1:51pm ET). Oops.

 

I like your last one ... the first one, not so much. :dozey:


VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#25 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,112 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 19 September 2013 - 08:32 PM

The "known issue" was resolved on Tuesday. Your dad's lack of HD is a problem with his system. Mentioning an unrelated resolved issue would just confuse the matter. Personal attention will need to be paid to your dad's system to make it work again.
Welcome to DBS Talk - Let's talk about DBS! (The Digital Bit Stream)
DISH Network vs DirecTV: HD Channel List - DISH Network HD Capacity, HD Conversion and more.
DISH Network complete channel lists and lists by satellite location are in The Uplink Activity Center.
Unless otherwise noted, I speak for myself. Content is not controlled by DISH Network, DirecTV or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...