Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Anyone tried RVU on a Samsung 'world' TV?

RVU Samsung

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   htroberts

htroberts

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2009

Posted 17 September 2013 - 06:22 PM

Has anyone tried using a Samsung world (or multi-system) TV as an RVU client?

I'm considering a UA40F7500, which is listed as a 'smart' TV, but I'm new to the Samsung ecosystem, so not sure what, if any, the implications of that are.

Yes, I know I can get a C41, but why would I want the extra hardware?

Thanks,
Heath

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,183 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 17 September 2013 - 06:32 PM

Because it works and is less hassle.  Same price and D* will probably give you the client.

 

If not, you probably spent more than $1000 for the Samsung. . . what's another $50?

 

If you don't get the client, order a RC71 remote.  You'll need it.

 

(Mute / Select after two blinks, enter 54000)



Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#3 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,030 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 17 September 2013 - 06:44 PM

Has anyone tried using a Samsung world (or multi-system) TV as an RVU client?

I'm considering a UA40F7500, which is listed as a 'smart' TV, but I'm new to the Samsung ecosystem, so not sure what, if any, the implications of that are.

Yes, I know I can get a C41, but why would I want the extra hardware?

Thanks,
Heath

 

If it does not say it has RVU capability (and is not on the list at the rvualliance web site) then it won't work as an RVU client.



#4 OFFLINE   Stevies3

Stevies3

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jul 22, 2004

Posted 17 September 2013 - 06:58 PM

You have a link for approved Samsung sets?


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

-------------------------

DirecTV since 1996

1 x HR44
1 x H24
2 x HR24

3 x RVU
SWM16

AU9-SL3


#5 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,030 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 17 September 2013 - 09:15 PM

You have a link for approved Samsung sets?


Sent from my iPhone using DBSTalk mobile app

 

http://www.rvualliance.org/products







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: RVU, Samsung

spam firewall